We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The D is a must-do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel to your Saves list
The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The D is a must-do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Formerly Fitzgeralds, The D is a hip and trendy new hotel and casino....if you not only want to have fun, but want to see employees who enjoy their jobs, come here! I was introduced to casino host Kevin Rega, who went out of his way to ensure us a great time, and we weren't even staying there! Everyone from the dealers to cocktail servers to slot attendants were accommodating and friendly, the flair bartenders at the Long Bar were a thrill to watch and hang with...I can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We're glad to hear you guys had such a great time, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    324
    152
    85
    59
See reviews for
86
325
74
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buena Park
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The only trace left of the old Fitzgeralds is the blarney stone on the second floor of the casino. They have remodeled it to a more upscale younger hipper whatever image.

The rooms were pretty well done, similar to what the Plaza did the remodel of the rooms is only surface deep. The elevators and much of the infrastructure is old and outdated.

The Casino is pretty nice but the dancing girls on the tables is a little over the top. The food options are not the best but ok.

But for the price you really can not go wrong and let's face you are getting an updated room with a decent flat screen TV for $50.00 a night.

The parking is free but the parking garage is old and the spaces are tight.

There are plenty of electrical outlets in the room.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor if you think the noise from the street concerts would bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback! Hopefully, we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Who the hell voted this dump "Best Hotel in Downtown Vegas"? I'm literally traumatized by my recent stay at the "D'. I have pretty low standards, and I've stayed in some horrible, 1-star hellhole hotels in my time, and this ranks down there with the worst of them. I switched rooms not once, not twice, but THREE TIMES within the first 24 hours of my 2 day weekday stay here. In the first room there was a large, wet spot under the cheap looking AC floor unit by the window. My room had an adjoining door, which meant I could hear the neighbor's TV and conversation. I requested a room change after one night there, and they put me in an extremely loud room, supposedly away from Fremont, on the 10th floor. The noise in this room was all from Fremont, not other guests. The safe wouldn't open in this room. I requested another room change at around midnight, and they sent me up to the 25th floor, which was a handicapped room. It was slightly larger than the other rooms, and included a fold-out sofa, mini-fridge and an Ihome machine. However, this time it seemed the people in the room above me were having a little party. They were playing music on and off, and kept banging something on the floor. It also sounded like they were chopping or cutting something on a wooden surface. (Coke party?) I have sensitive hearing, but the walls were also paper thin and I had my earplugs on the whole time. At around 2 am I requested to be put back in the previous room on the 10th floor, because by that time the whole Fremont Experience was over anyway. To add insult to injury, I didn't receive any comps or even so much as an apology from any of the staff. The Jacuzzi had no hot water for the duration of my stay. The "pool" there is tiny, and barely anyone uses it. They charge a $20 a night resort fee, but all the hotels in Vegas do that now, so I can't really knock them for that, even though this is far from a resort. Now for the upsides: the bed was pretty comfortable and the hotel does look slightly better and more modern than when it was Fitzgerald's. There are much better hotels for the same or less money than the "D", even on Fremont, even the 1 and 2 star hotels. The "D" gets an "F" in my book.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Our deepest apologies for the multiple inconveniences you encountered during your stay, and there should have been more done to correct the negative situations. We appreciate the feedback, it helps us to understand the areas that we need to improve so we can avoid similar situations occurring in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just got back from an extended stay at The D. Horrible place! Over an 8 night stay, we had to move rooms 3 times due to lack of hot water, clogged drains, and a leak in the bathroom pipes above us. Even after they supposedly fixed the hot water issue, we still only had lukewarm showers. You have to run the sink hot water at the same time as the shower in order for the water to be hot. They claim the hotel has been renovated, but the only thing it seems they've done is cosmetic. I will admit the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were clean. But overall, this hotel is one of the worst I have ever stayed in. To their credit, they did comp us one night's stay and provided us a $75 credit for the D Grille. That helped, but we will never, ever return to The D.

Room Tip: VERY loud and unable to sleep. The odd numbered rooms are quietest, but still horribly loud. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us and w apologize for the continued plumbing issues you encountered in your room(s). It’s unfortunate to hear we could not improve your visit with us, but we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our group flew in and was delivered to the casino without issue. There was a mixup on our scheduled limo but the D went above and beyond to make good. In total the trip was great. Great deal for the price and the D offered provided a great location, value, and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're glad to hear you had a great time, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The D was quite impressive for the money. It is not a 5 star hotel but rather a 3.5 star hotel with 7 start service, yes 7 star service for our group.

The casino was great and the Sigma Derby in the old Vegas casino on the second floor was a blast to play. We spent hours feeding it quarters and had a great time. Too bad it did not have a D Club reader as our points would have been a lot higher ;).

Avery (Slot Floor Host) was a great pleasure to work with. He made sure that our group had a great time and was able to help us out throughout the trip. Best of all he helped us find a soccer game that we were looking for. If you have a chance to work with him treat him well, he is a great guy and our group really appreciated all of his assistance. Because of Avery I will be returning to the D.

All in all I would say the D is a great place. The rooms are okay (by the standard of all hotel rooms but really really good for the price) but everything makes up for it and the over all price is a real bargain. The only thing that I found myself wanting was more elevators. Those things are really busy.

If I had to recommend a room location I would say get one on the side of the D opposite that of the music stage below. The music goes until 2:30am and you feel every note.

Location, price and hospitality makes this a solid recommendation. If you see Avery say "hi".

Room Tip: If I had to recommend a room location I would say get one on the side of the D opposite that of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and will definitely pass your appreciation on to Avery. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went to Vegas for a Bachelor party and chose The D for location and price but were blown away by the hospitality of everyone especially Avery Atadero. He went above and beyond on multiple occasions to make us feel like high rollers. The D is VERY nice and offered a lot for the kind of trip we were on. Sigma Derby is a must play although it doesn't count to points on your players card. I could of had many more points on my card due to my hours of play on this game. We also would have enjoyed a video craps table like some of the near by casinos have. Overall The D is great and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice place on Fremont with lots to do that won't break the bank.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side. Less noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel

Address: 301 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 638
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is located on the iconic Fremont Street in downtown Las Vegas, owned and operated by Derek and Greg Stevens. The D delivers a fresh, energeticattitude and fun atmosphere that has become synonymous with the Neapolitan area. The D Las Vegas Hotel provides a haven of rest and relaxation just a few steps away from the city's popular attractions like the Fremont Street Experience, Neon Museum, and Zip-lining. The property has recently completed extensive renovations with 638 remodeled contemporary rooms, showroom with daily entertainment, multiple dining restaurants, Vegas' only two-level casino, and numerous high-energy bars. Whatever the reason for your visit, The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is an excellent choice for your stay in Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Casino And Hotel
Fitzgeralds Hotel Las Vegas
Ramada Las Vegas
Fitzgeralds Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.