We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel to your Saves list
The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Yukon, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We only stayed at The D Las Vegas one night, but we found it very comfortable. The room was clean with nice cold air and shower had a new shower head on it with an elbow extension so you didn’t have to stoop to get under it (a taller person would but not quite as low as normal). The only complained I would have had is the elevators were slow crowded and one of the 4 was not working and this is a common problem with older hotels everywhere I go. I was on the third floor so I took the stairs to avoid the elevators.

Room Tip: If you are willing to take the stairs try to stay floors 3, 4 or 5. It is an easy walk and the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
You are correct, the elevators can be slow at times, and it has become a priority to get them into better working order. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    321
    151
    85
    59
See reviews for
86
324
72
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last June, on a random trip to Vegas. Located in the downtown/freemont area, its away from the hustle and bustle of the strip.

Positives:

- Cheap!!!

Negatives:

- Casino is pretty much ratchet-ville full of sketch bags
- Hotel might be nice, but the rooms need upgrade and proper maintenance
- The bathroom was absolutely disgusting
- Sink did not drain properly and would overflow
- Some type of gross sewer gunk kept shooting up from the sink
- Pretty obvious room had not been cleaned in a while

I would most definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Despite its cheap price, its just not worth it. If you want to stay downtown, you should stay at the Plaza instead, which actually has nice rooms and bathrooms, and not full of sketchy people throughout their hotel. #JustSaying!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It's unfortunate to hear that you had such an unpleasant time during your stay with us, but thank you for the feedback. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beldenville, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first time since it was Fitzgeralds. We were pleasantly surprised with the modern updates throughout and overall our stay was enjoyable. Our room was very clean, had up-to-date amenities including a flat-screen TV, Keuring coffee maker, a super comfy king-size bed with crisp white linens and plenty of pillows, and Bath and Body Works toiletries. The only downfall was that I don't think they installed a new A/C system and it sounded like a diesel truck. It could have to do with us being on the 26th floor, but it was so loud you couldn't even watch TV. But, we weren't in the room much anyways because we love to gamble and found the machines and especially table games to be very entertaining and loose!! For the first time ever leaving Vegas we came home with more cash than what we started. We were glad to see they still had live keno upstairs. The bartenders all practice flair (the best I've seen on Fremont Street) and the music is fun and keeps you in the party spirit. If you like it more quiet the bar upstairs offers that. We ate at the D Grill twice—once for breakfast and once for late-night dinner. Both were very good and reasonably priced. I had a caesar salad with seared salmon and my husband and his parents all had prime rib—our bill was $65 total. We never made it to the pool, but maybe next time! Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Congratulations on the winnings, and we're looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'll start by repeating a few points I made in my July 2012 review of The D ...
Don't stay here if you're on your honeymoon. Don't stay here if you need to be pampered. Don't stay here if you're a high-maintenance traveler who is more interested in critiquing a hotel than looking for a solid choice in downtown Las Vegas. The Strip has plenty to offer for people who fall into any of the aforementioned scenarios.

If you're set on staying downtown, you couldn't do better than The D. My low-maintenance buddy and I spent the nights of July 3-6 (2013) at The D and agreed that for the price and what you get, you probably aren't going to find a better value. We're both in our late 40s, we're both downtown kind of guys and we didn't feel the need to pay for a place with bells and whistles. Again, The D was the right choice.

The real bonus was bumping into the owner, Derek Stevens, at the bar during our stay. He's about as down-to-earth as you'll find amongst any casino/hotel owner in Las Vegas. At some point, I'll try to include the photo taken of my buddy, me and Mr. Stevens.

Oh, our bathroom sink was slow to drain. Considering that was the biggest concern about our hotel room, no question The D was the right choice. Our AC unit worked fine ... we heard from a few staff members that not all were at 100 percent operation during the 115-degree days they had the week before our stay. At a few points on Saturday night, there was a wait for the elevators.

Other random thoughts ... the D Café had a great breakfast for around $30 (not including coupons we were given upon check-in). The dancers on the first-floor casino area added a nice, throwback atmosphere. You can't beat being a few steps from Walgreens.

Looking forward to our next visit to Vegas and no question we'll stay at The D. Nicely done, Mr. Stevens.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1836 ... a room any higher will result in a longer ride on the elevator for all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the positive review, and we're looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the weekend after the 4th of July. We try and stay at a different hotel each time we go to experience all of them. Although when it comes to staying downtown Las Vegas, we've really only considered the Golden Nugget (which is fabulous by the way.) The Golden Nugget happened to be sold out this weekend, so we decided to give the D a try as the rates were pretty reasonable.

First off, the location is excellent if you're one of those that prefers Fremont Street to the strip. For location I give it a 5 star. The reason I'm giving this place 3 stars is because the rooms were actually kind of gross. This place boasts a recent remodel, but unless it was only the bed dressings, I didn't see it. We checked in and even though I had booked a king size bed online, they only had had rooms with two queens available. We waited at what was a very slow elevator to take us up to the 16th floor, and in the midst of the elevator travel, others in the elevator were discussing how their family member had gotten stuck in the elevator earlier. Lovely!

We got to our room and it was disgusting! There were beer caps in the radiator event, a film of dirty so thick on the window that I couldn't see outside in daylight. The bathrooms, well that's a treat altogether. The bathtub was chipped and scratched on the tub floor, the shower curtain old looking, and the floor hadn't been mopped. In one corner there were pubic hairs on the floor and other various hairs from whichever person or people happened to be there before us. I never do this, but I decided to call the front desk and see if we could change rooms. The phone, was covered in a thick layer of dust (did they clean this room at all?) The front desk never picked up so I had to go all the way downstairs in the extremely slow elevator again. They moved us to another room. The second room had an equally run down bathroom, but without the pubic hairs, so I guess that'll suffice.

I think next time I'll stay at the Golden Nuggest. So much for venturing out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We deeply apologize for the state of the room you had, which is unacceptable. We appreciate the review, and will use your experience to ensure this type of incident does not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

the room was very clean and appealing for the price but the east wall with its large glass windows had its drawback since much heat entered into the room and the ceiling to floor drapes had to be kept closed all the time. The bathroom sink drained extremely slow and the toilet tank would not flush properly. I had to call the desk for repairs for these 2 things. Since these 2 issues were very inconvenient I would have expected the hotel to cancel the $10 fee they charged me for mailing my daughters car keys back to Phoenix since she forgot them in the dresser drawer.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the review. With the trouble you encountered with your room, it was our mistake for not waiving the charge. We appreciate the feedback, and hope you'll choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The D Hotel is conceptually really a big improvement and a huge plus to a newly reinvigorated downtown Vegas. Seems like they spared little expense on the redesigned Casino and signage. The classic coin slots are really fun. But if you are staying here, the renovation really was done on the cheap when it came to rooms. Our AC was old and very inadequate to cool the room. The hallways, bathrooms and fixtures were unchanged from the previous hotel. Popcorn ceilings give away the age of the property and demonstrate that they didn't complete the remodel.

I suggest updating the HVAC (which can be done over time as it is hugely expensive), and recarpeting the halls / re painting or wallpapering the hallways and swapping out doorknobs and other unimproved fixtures (which can be done inexpensively).

I like the direction the D is heading and would give them another shot in the future. But if you're looking for luxury downtown, The Golden Nugget remains the gold standard...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel

Address: 301 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 638
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is located on the iconic Fremont Street in downtown Las Vegas, owned and operated by Derek and Greg Stevens. The D delivers a fresh, energeticattitude and fun atmosphere that has become synonymous with the Neapolitan area. The D Las Vegas Hotel provides a haven of rest and relaxation just a few steps away from the city's popular attractions like the Fremont Street Experience, Neon Museum, and Zip-lining. The property has recently completed extensive renovations with 638 remodeled contemporary rooms, showroom with daily entertainment, multiple dining restaurants, Vegas' only two-level casino, and numerous high-energy bars. Whatever the reason for your visit, The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is an excellent choice for your stay in Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Casino And Hotel
Fitzgeralds Hotel Las Vegas
Ramada Las Vegas
Fitzgeralds Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.