We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete turn around!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel to your Saves list
The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Upland, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Complete turn around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just a year ago the D was a dumpy, struggling shamrock themed Casino. Now it's beyond recognition!

Derek has really taken this place and made it a hip, modern; yet inviting hang out in Vegas. The rooms are very well appointed, the beds are comfortable and well stocked. The rooms are sleek with a vintage flair, however not at all pretentious. The services staff at the front desk and the room staff have been accommodating and polite. I love how they kept the prices on par with Boyd and other downtown properties.

The casino on the first floor has a great new look and feel. The music is a bit too loud for FSE in my opinion. What I really loved about the Casino, was the second floor. The vintage horse racing coin machine is fun to play with friends. I also like how they have all denominations of coin slots, not just quarters.

Overall I had a good experience, and I would recommend you at least try it once. I liked it, but it wasn't enough to steal my business away from MSS.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    321
    151
    85
    59
See reviews for
86
324
72
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yarmouth, N.S.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Well, another review of our favourite hotel in Las Vegas. Just wanted to update on the recent upgrades to the hotel in the last six months since our last visit. New steakhouse on the second floor called Andiamo's which has the best filet mignon we've ever eaten. New 24 hour restaurant called the Grille with excellent food and service. Coney Island hot dogs on the first floor outside with excellent hot dogs and stuff. Long outside bar on Fremont street with fancy drinks and dancers.
All in all this hotel is really stepping up to the plate as far as being modernized: the staff continues to be outstanding and a small complaint involving our in room safe was dealt with within minutes! All the rooms have now been completely refurbished with a very comfortable bed.
Keep it up D!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Have stayed here when it was still the Fitz, but didn't stay here this trip. Love the renovations in the casino and the grill. My only complaint about the casino is the loud music when trying to play a table game. Had to have the dealer repeat himself every time he said something. Heard lots of people at the table complain about the noise. The dealer said "you and about 10,000 other people". Drink service at the tables was excellent.

Ate breakfast at the grill one morning, and it wasn't the best. They don't offer hashbrowns, only D potatoes, which are small potatoe chunks, seasoned with onions/peppers. I asked the waitress if the breakfast sausage was spicy, and was told no. It was too spicy for me...I couldn't eat it. She just apologized, but didn't offer anything to replace it. We saw one worker setting a table drop a plate on the floor. She picked it up, looked to make sure it didn't have any chips in it, and set it back on the table.

I would like to stay here and check out the room renovations, but I would not eat at the grill again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice Casino for the old downtown feel. Very good breakfast incl in the room rate. The room was very small and only double beds, not queens. Not the best for a tall person.

The decor was OK, the hallways being nicer than the actual rooms. McDonalds is in the Casino as well as Krispy Kreme donuts which is nice for those on a budget.

Price and value in consideration, I would recommend staying here. IT has since changes to "The D" which makes it sound like a gay swingers pad, but I am sure it is just as nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had 5 comped nites at the Flamingo but saw the Spazmatics were playing uptown on Tuesday Nite so booked a nite at the "D" on expedia and off I went. The strip is really starting to lose it's classic Vegas roots and all the recent changes seem to only keep the move towards catering to the Rich and the wannabe's. Fremont St I think is going to garner some of us purists if it keeps improving itself. The "D" is one of the more recent great improvements. I had stayed here before when it was the Fitz but this was my first time back since the new owners had completed all the changes. Gotta love what they had done! The room was really nicely redone. Brand new Paint/Carpet/Bed/Furniture/redone bathroom area and High Def TV with tons of channels. The casino area had many improvements and even added a "Sigma Derby" machine that has been redone very nicely. The casino staff sports nice new outfits and they have continued with the trend of a few "young female" dealers/dancers.
If you get a chance to see the Spazmatics settle in, have a few beers and enjoy. What a fun nite this was really appreciated the ability of these guys.
I'm really looking forward to the opening of the Downtown Grand it's only going to help Fremont St. The Golden Nugget poker room was busy as usual. My only complaint is the same as last time.....that stupid Zipline right up Fremont. Could they not have found a spot close and not intrusive like it is? Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Up high for a quiet nites sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The D was Fitzgeralds, but has been nicely renovated. The lobby needs to be bigger and more noticeable, and the pool should be made more private with higher fencing as the view from there isn' t pleasant. More greenery would help there too.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, there was an issue with the a/c in our room, a maintenance man was sent up inside 15 minutes and then our room was changed immediately (this was due partly to the noise from Fremont Street - if you want to sleep, request the side away from the street.) At no time was any staff member less than pleasant and friendly. There is a $50 dollar charge to your credit card for amenities at check it that I didn't feel was necessary since they have your credit card number and that is usually settled up at check out.
The room was nicely decorated, the bathroom sizeable, with a flat screen TV. There were blackout curtains as well. The only thing lacking in the room was a comfortable chair, there is more than enough room for it.
The D Grill is new, has good food with reasonable prices.
All in all the D was a great place to stay, I would certainly stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I've been to Vegas many times and I thought I would give downtown a try. I looked around and found The D which apparently had just gone through a major renovation. The casino is small but nice with perhaps the best drink service I've seen at any Vegas casino. The room, a corner King, was less impressive. The bed was fine and there was a flat screen TV but it didn't appear that the rest of the room had been renovated. The bathroom felt very "Motel 6"'ish and the shower/tub could only be described as disgusting. Not only was it filthy, the tub had a noticeable hump in the middle which made footing during a shower somewhat precarious. I won't say that I'll never stay at The D again but it's not high on my list for places to stay in Vegas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel

Address: 301 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 638
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is located on the iconic Fremont Street in downtown Las Vegas, owned and operated by Derek and Greg Stevens. The D delivers a fresh, energeticattitude and fun atmosphere that has become synonymous with the Neapolitan area. The D Las Vegas Hotel provides a haven of rest and relaxation just a few steps away from the city's popular attractions like the Fremont Street Experience, Neon Museum, and Zip-lining. The property has recently completed extensive renovations with 638 remodeled contemporary rooms, showroom with daily entertainment, multiple dining restaurants, Vegas' only two-level casino, and numerous high-energy bars. Whatever the reason for your visit, The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is an excellent choice for your stay in Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Casino And Hotel
Fitzgeralds Hotel Las Vegas
Ramada Las Vegas
Fitzgeralds Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.