We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall to your Saves list
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Don't Get Stripped!
Ranked #63 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our vacation. It seemed like we got a free upgrade or something upon check in because we were on the top floor and our room was amazing for the price that we paid! We have a friend who stays at Sam's every time he visits Vegas, so he recommended this hotel to us and we loved it. The room was very spacious and it is cool how the view from the room looks like it is outside, but it is really inside. Vegas is very good at those type of illusions! The room was very clean and the bathroom was nice with a huge shower and a jacuzzi tub (again I'm not sure if this is typical of all rooms). We got in pretty late around midnight, but we didn't want to miss a minute of the fun, so we checked in and went right down to the bowling alley. We bowled a few strings and the place was packed. It is a 24 hour bowling alley and I couldn't believe how many people were there so late at night, it was a blast! After that we made our way to the slots and gambled a little until bed.

The only thing I could suggest is that the air in the room wouldn't go any lower than 72 degrees. I like to sleep in the cold and I would have set the air for 65 if it would have let me. I found it a little difficult to sleep because I was hot in the room, but 72 is probably great for most people!

We had a lot of fun here and would recommend it to anyone looking to save a little money on a Vegas vacation. It is off the strip, but they do offer transportation there. We had a vehicle, which made it a lot easier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    438
    152
    56
    25
See reviews for
286
412
112
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed at Sam's Town many times. This time we reserved a jacuzzi suite. The room was very clean, well maintained and had a great view of the park. Very nice decor. If you are booking just for the jacuzzi tub, it's nothing special. The room had large TV dividing the room with a large sectional sofa and table and chairs on one side and on the other side was another large TV and a king size bed. The tub was next to the bed with a large area for grooming. The bathroom had a nice shower and another area for grooming. The room also had a bar with a mini frig. The air worked very well. We have stayed in other rooms at this casino and they have been very nice also. We ususally get a king bed room. This motel is not on the strip it is not even that close. It does however have a shuttle that will take you to Fremont, which is a plus. The movie theatre is very nice and the bowling is fun. There are several places to eat at this casino also. I would definetly stay again. Very reasonabley priced.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The beds are hard, decor is ehhh. But having a movie theater, food eateries, pool, bowling alley, and cool courtyard are nice. We did check out earlier than planned because we had some business at home that needed immediate attention and i got charged for another nights stay. After a couple phone calls that was cleared up and the charges were removed. But still if I didn't catch it, that would have sucked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Friends and I have been coming to this casino for many years now. We come because of the low cost and the fun we have gambling. The employees are friendly and the drinks are plentiful. Never a dull moment. The rooms are clean and fresh and the food is also good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Okay, so I needed a place to stay for my first night on a road trip through America. This place was cheap - very cheap. $30 a night.

Okay granted, there were some bizarre people there. It was a chore walking through a big casino every time I needed something out of the car (it's like this at any casino to be honest).

But the beds did the trick. The rooms were simple, but clean. Also, on the odd chance you can't sleep, they have bowling alley and cinema which is good to for a night cap ($1 games at the alley). I didn't gamble and to be fair, I didn't see anyone winning......

But for me it was perfect. Wallmart across the road to stock up on supplies for my trip, and it was very well priced. Location was far from the strip, but this worked well for me as I didn't have to battle through traffic etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've enjoyed Sam's Town for the nearly three decades of its existence. Their atrium water show and the atmosphere in the atrium is like an oasis in the desert. We recently stayed for four days and we made it a point to revisit and enjoy the show, and we noticed that its content has be upgraded and reworked. It's worth a special trip with friends and guests, or just to get away to see it again.
Thanks Bill Boyd, your father would be proud with how well you have sustained and expanded the "family business". We're proud to feel like we've been a part. Steven Buck (Bullhead City, AZ)

Room Tip: Corner suites offer excellent, comfortable, affordable, accommodating conditions to make your "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It's not the Bellagio. And it's not on the Strip. But dollar for dollar, this may be the best value in Las Vegas.

It's easy to get to, via the 515 freeway. The valet is free, and you'd better tip him when you're not paying anything to valet park. Check in was a breeze, and the indoor forest and waterfall are kind of a hoot.

Had no expectations of what the room would be like. All I can say is that I was blown away. Maybe I got lucky and got bumped up, but ended up on the eighth floor in a suite that was beyond dazzling. Very comfortable bed. Would have been nice to have had a fourth pillow and one more blanket. That says something about the power of the air conditioning.

Breakfast buffet the next morning notable for its copiosity (that's not a word, but it should be)...what was lost in quality was made up for in plate size. The coffee was good and the pineapple outstanding. Really. At the price for room and breakfast, who is going to complain about the turkey sausage being on the rubbery side?

Movie 18-plex accessible from the lobby. I understand there's bowling too.

Can't comment on the casino. In the words of Adam Sandler in The Waterboy: "Casinos? Momma says that casinos are the DEVIL."

Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#45 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 4,658 reviews
Paradise
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#91 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#44 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 5111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.