We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, priced right, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall to your Saves list
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience Vegas Special
Ranked #54 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice room, priced right, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went for a bowling tournament, but spent most of my time gambling. We got there at 10:00 am and they let us check in 5 hours early.. . so very accommodating. The rooms are clean, large, very nice and cheap (if not free from points on your card). The slots are old and outdated, but I managed to find some favorites. It is a good, local hangout with lots of retired folks. I played a lot of blackjack and found that the dealers are much more easy going and good with beginners. There are several small shops there and many food choices - fast foods, buffet, and restaurants. My only complaint is that it is very smokey in the casino, especially at night. If you need a cab from the airport, be sure to insist that they take you via Tropicana (not the highway) so your fare is $25 instead of $60. I gave it 4 stars because the slots are old and the casino is smokey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    371
    126
    49
    20
See reviews for
242
355
101
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napoleonville, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were lucky to get a great room w/o reservation. Comfy, clean and good rate...we were on drive from NV to Louisiana and rested well here after all-day driving from Reno. I would definitely want to return here on a future trip to Vegas. This time we were only stopping over on our drive, but it is a nice, fun resort. Easy check-in and helpful staff!

Room Tip: Get a reservation...we didn't, but were lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We could not have been happier with our 5 night stay at Sam's Town!! We arrived very late after our evening flight from Toronto.....check-in was a breeze! Front Desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful!! Gave us all the info we inquired about and we even lucked out with free breakfasts booking our room through Travelocity.

Our room was very spacious and clean!! Two very comfortable queen size beds and still had tons of space!! Not a bad view from this place regardless of the room - you are either going to face their beautiful indoor park setting or you will have the outside rooms where you wake up to the sights of the beautiful desert mountains!

At first - we werent sure what to expect from our "free" breakfasts but to our surprise it was an amazing breakfast buffet - complete with everything you would need pastries, pancakes, french toast, made to order eggs, honey baked ham being carved, sausages, bacon, hashbrowns, diced potatoes, etc....the list could go on and on......and soooo fresh!!!!

This hotel has everything you need - casino, pool, full size movie theatre, bowling alley, great buffet, a water show 3-4 times a day in their park, not to mention numerous dining options: Willy & Jose's mexican food, Billy Bob's Steakhouse, A Sports lounge, TGI Fridays, Mcdonalds, Panda Express and Dunkin Donuts.

The only downside to this place was the Casino -- I like old style 3 reel slot machines --- and they had tons of the new 1 cent video kind or tons of video poker -- so i did my gambling elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just returned from another great stay at Sams Town. That is the only place we stay when we're in Vegas, which is usually 5-6 times a year. We always upgrade to either the smaller or larger suite, and they are a great value. So much cheaper than you would pay on the strip. They are very clean and well maintained. The daily maid service is top notch.
The casino has every possible game you would ever want to play, and the pay outs are much better than the strip.
The restuarants are very good and the buffet with the prime rib is a great value. Billy Bob's steak house is wonderful. Try getting a 12 ounce perfectly grilled fillet, with salad and choice of potatoe for $32 anywhere else. Impossible.
If your main objective in Vegas is too pay way too much money, get very little in return and maybe party like a rock star, please don't stay here. If you do want to get a lot for a little, and be able to always count on the quality of where you'll be staying, Sams Town is the place for you.
Keep up the good work Sams Town.

Room Tip: The suites are really a great value. Stretch out, relax and never, never hear a sound at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Sam's. You can get great deals here. It is more like a hotel and casino for locals. The rooms are very nice, many places to eat and a great movie theater. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Neches, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I received an offer to participate in a Bingo tournament and to stay at Sam's Town. Overall , it was a WONDERFUL experience. This was my first time to stay there, but it will not be my last. There were many food options and we used the FREE shuttle to tour downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sam's Town is away from the Strip "Rat Race" where you can enjoy your visit to Las Vegas!Everything you want is at Sam's Town, Games, Movies, Bowling, Entertainment, and good food!
The rooms are comfortable and close to everthing you want to do. Come and enjoy Sam's Town!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 5111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.