We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Save Saved
You added Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Vegas Fun Special
Ranked #46 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

US Airways had their Christmas party here this year, so we booked a room for $36.00, even though we only lived a few miles away. We parked in the rear parking garage, on the 3rd level, which had a bridge that led us to the 2nd level of the casino. From there we took an elevator down one level and was immediately at the Front Desk. Check in was fast and welcoming. I recommend getting a B-Connect Card (Slot Card) beforehand, due to the fact it gets you a better rate on the room.
We proceeded to the 8th floor where a housekeeper in the hallway greeted us. We entered our room and was pleasantly surpirsed at the cleanliness. For a $36.00 room we weren't expecting much. The only gripes I had about the room was the drainage of both the sink & tub was extremely slow. Also the mattress wasn't in the best of shape because I could actually feel a spring or two. All things consdiered it was diffently worth the price we paid.
For a $15.00 upgrade, you could have a room with a view of the Mystic Falls. It's a laser type show with a water feature and robotic animals. The show is free and runs every two hours from 2pm to 10pm. Definitely a must see, espicially now around Christmas where it is decorated so nicely.
We have enjoyed Willy & Jose's Mexican Restaurant as well as Billy Bob's Steakhouse in the past. I recommend them both. For breakfast we opted to drive down the street to the Longhorn Casino for their breakfast specials as Sam's Town didn't have any advertised.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $15.00 to get a room overlooking the Mystic Falls,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    349
    112
    47
    18
See reviews for
212
315
95
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Normally I stay at the Hilton, but the last trip to Vegas was personal. Mrs Sam G had always suggested we stop at Sam's Town, but it was too far from town. We had a coupon in the mail, so we decided to try it for two nights and ended up staying three. We were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed a little time off the strip for a change. I feel the service here is much better than the restaurants and casinos on the Strip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Sams Town. As usual, nothing disappointed us. Check in is a breeze, adn the room was very clean. We always stay in the smaller suite, which in reality is quite large and very quiet. They recently changed their TV carrier from cable to Cox, and now there are more channels and all in hi-def.
The atrium is decorated to the max for the holiday season and the laser show is a holiday theme. It is just great. As usual, we ate at Billy Bob's and sat in their outside atrium table under the lights. What a treat and the steaks are wonderful and very reasonably priced. The same meal on the strip would be at least twice as much if not more. The buffet is not great but very good and the addition of prime rib sliced as you like it, makes it a great vaue and good food experience.
If you are under the age of 30, this is not the place for you, but for all others, I cannot think of a better way to enjoy your Vegas experience. Also, get a B conncted card for great deals and very good comps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

To break up six days on the Vegas Strip we decided to visit Sam's Town for an afternoon based on a suggestion from one of our friends. We were told that they go there often when in Vegas so we thought why not give it a try. We took a free shuttle bus from Bally's to Sam's town which I believe runs every hour or so, be sure to check the schedule. It was at most a 10-15 minute ride to Sam's Town. We were quite suprised that is a faily large casino. It has a beautiful covered area in the center of the hotel with a water falls and various vegitation. Since we did not spend the night we cannot comment on the hotel rooms but we did over hear people say they were quite happy with their rooms. The casino is good size, has two levels and offer a wide variety of slot machines, many penny and nickel slots. The service was great, all the employees we met were helpful and polite. We did eat at their buffet and the price was reasonable ant the food was good, we would do it again. It may not have all the options like the buffets at Paris and Planet Hollywood but the price for lunch was only about $8 per person and well worth it. There are many other options at Sam's Town which include bowling, bingo, movie theaters and a selection of various food options from fast food to steaks. Over all the trip to Sam's Town from the strip was worth it. Chance are on our next visit will will go back again to spend more time and explore more items that they have to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stay here fot three nights and were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. The rooms were large, bright and modern. The bathroom spotless and large. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It is like a very small town with lots of options for eating. It has a very large movie complex with all the new movies playing. Great drinks!

Room Tip: We had a room on the seventh floor. We had no problem with noise or waiting for elevators. We wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui,hi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

If you like the hustle of the strip,this place is not for you,10 minute. Drive from the strip but easy to find and easy to get in and out.also this place was quite slow and quiet.tables were not too busy but not many too choose from,alot of slots and alot of room to roam.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've just got back from our stay at Sam's Town, and I've never written a review before in my life but I feel compelled to share how much we loved it!!
We stayed in the mini jacuzzi suite which was amazing, plenty of space, gorgeous bathroom and of course the ever-so-relaxing jacuzzi. But I don't imagine you need one of the suites to enjoy the room, as even without the extra space, the bed itself was really comfy and large and I imagine the bathrooms are of the same standard, gorgeous! We had an inside-facing room so could look out onto the Mystic Falls park which is impressive, and I would recommend, but if you'd rather save on the extra cost I wouldn't consider it a necessity.
We loved the casino hall too, it's huge, has hundreds of machines and good friendly and helpful dealers on the tables (we weren't sure how to play a few of the games and they were all happy to help us along once we asked!). We also enjoyed the fact the majority of people there seemed like Vegas natives, i.e. these were locals out enjoying themselves, not masses of drunken, noisy hen/stag dos (which is the aspect of Vegas we weren't looking forward to).
If you do want to venture into the 'livelier' (I've put that into inverted commas as its not that Sam's Town wasn't lively, it just didn't involve the clubbing, noisy, jam-packed crowds you may be hoping for) part of town, then there's a shuttle bus that'll take you there for free which only takes about 15 minutes. These do stop relatively early (8.30pm or so is the last) so if you're planning a late night you'll need a taxi back but this only cost us about $30 incl. tip from Treasure Island on the strip so not too bad! We came back from the strip quite early though as we'd enjoyed Sam's Town so much more!
Choice of food is great as well, we only ate in TGIs so can't recommend everywhere, but the meals we had (including TGI room service) were delicious!
All in all, I can't recommend Sam's Town highly enough, I'm sure I've forgotten to mention lots but hopefully you get the jist, it's great!!
(I've only given location 4 out of 5 as I think most people visiting Vegas enjoy being right on the strip, but in reality I'd like to give it 5 out of 5 as we loved its location being off the strip)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 5111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.