We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam's Town Casino may be worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall to your Saves list
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sam's Town Casino may be worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

To break up six days on the Vegas Strip we decided to visit Sam's Town for an afternoon based on a suggestion from one of our friends. We were told that they go there often when in Vegas so we thought why not give it a try. We took a free shuttle bus from Bally's to Sam's town which I believe runs every hour or so, be sure to check the schedule. It was at most a 10-15 minute ride to Sam's Town. We were quite suprised that is a faily large casino. It has a beautiful covered area in the center of the hotel with a water falls and various vegitation. Since we did not spend the night we cannot comment on the hotel rooms but we did over hear people say they were quite happy with their rooms. The casino is good size, has two levels and offer a wide variety of slot machines, many penny and nickel slots. The service was great, all the employees we met were helpful and polite. We did eat at their buffet and the price was reasonable ant the food was good, we would do it again. It may not have all the options like the buffets at Paris and Planet Hollywood but the price for lunch was only about $8 per person and well worth it. There are many other options at Sam's Town which include bowling, bingo, movie theaters and a selection of various food options from fast food to steaks. Over all the trip to Sam's Town from the strip was worth it. Chance are on our next visit will will go back again to spend more time and explore more items that they have to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    390
    135
    50
    20
See reviews for
252
371
104
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stay here fot three nights and were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. The rooms were large, bright and modern. The bathroom spotless and large. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It is like a very small town with lots of options for eating. It has a very large movie complex with all the new movies playing. Great drinks!

Room Tip: We had a room on the seventh floor. We had no problem with noise or waiting for elevators. We wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui,hi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you like the hustle of the strip,this place is not for you,10 minute. Drive from the strip but easy to find and easy to get in and out.also this place was quite slow and quiet.tables were not too busy but not many too choose from,alot of slots and alot of room to roam.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've just got back from our stay at Sam's Town, and I've never written a review before in my life but I feel compelled to share how much we loved it!!
We stayed in the mini jacuzzi suite which was amazing, plenty of space, gorgeous bathroom and of course the ever-so-relaxing jacuzzi. But I don't imagine you need one of the suites to enjoy the room, as even without the extra space, the bed itself was really comfy and large and I imagine the bathrooms are of the same standard, gorgeous! We had an inside-facing room so could look out onto the Mystic Falls park which is impressive, and I would recommend, but if you'd rather save on the extra cost I wouldn't consider it a necessity.
We loved the casino hall too, it's huge, has hundreds of machines and good friendly and helpful dealers on the tables (we weren't sure how to play a few of the games and they were all happy to help us along once we asked!). We also enjoyed the fact the majority of people there seemed like Vegas natives, i.e. these were locals out enjoying themselves, not masses of drunken, noisy hen/stag dos (which is the aspect of Vegas we weren't looking forward to).
If you do want to venture into the 'livelier' (I've put that into inverted commas as its not that Sam's Town wasn't lively, it just didn't involve the clubbing, noisy, jam-packed crowds you may be hoping for) part of town, then there's a shuttle bus that'll take you there for free which only takes about 15 minutes. These do stop relatively early (8.30pm or so is the last) so if you're planning a late night you'll need a taxi back but this only cost us about $30 incl. tip from Treasure Island on the strip so not too bad! We came back from the strip quite early though as we'd enjoyed Sam's Town so much more!
Choice of food is great as well, we only ate in TGIs so can't recommend everywhere, but the meals we had (including TGI room service) were delicious!
All in all, I can't recommend Sam's Town highly enough, I'm sure I've forgotten to mention lots but hopefully you get the jist, it's great!!
(I've only given location 4 out of 5 as I think most people visiting Vegas enjoy being right on the strip, but in reality I'd like to give it 5 out of 5 as we loved its location being off the strip)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Normally the smoke in a casino is really over powering. At Sam's Town, the smell of older people over powers all. This is all true to the rooms as well. The smell was so overwhelming. The beds were old and extremely uncomfortable. You definitely get what you pay for with this hotel. .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've been here before but this time took our family with two grandchildren ages 11 and 4. Although this is a casino it is much more such as a 40 lane bowling alley, 18 screen movie theater, live show theater, outdoor swimming pool with hot tub, two arcades (one in the casino and one in the bowling alley) but the best of all is Mystic Falls Park with a waterfall, water shows, animetronic animals, trees, trails streams and a laser show. We also hit all the restaurants except the fast food places and they were all good and although we are not big buffet folks, their dinner buffet is very good. Unfortunately the smell of smoke permeates the whole place with the exception of Mystic Falls Park and the restaurants. They have a great shuttle bus for free that will go to the strip or downtown. The hotel is convenient to Walmart and away from the strip and downtown on Boulder Highway. One big drawback was the transportation from the airport to the hotel. We had called ahead and were told to take a cab. When we arrived at the cab area we were told that since we had six people we would have to take two cabs, there is a 5 person limit. We also needed a carseat for the 4 year old which we didn't have. Shuttles also require this we were told. So, we ended up taking a limo which we all fit in but it costs $66 minimum. When we arrived at the hotel we gave the driver $70 and he insisted on $20 more and we mean he "insisted" but we said no but did give him $10 more. Never again will we take a limo from the airport, what a ripoff. Other than that we had a great time at Sam's Town.

Room Tip: Make sure to sign up for a B Connected card which gives you discounts on the buffet, free gifts and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Sams Town has ample parking for Big Rigs. The staff are friendly and accomadating. The food is a step above Orleans. First time in here gambling I did rather well off the Megabucks $1 slots. I came in with $100 and left out with a $540 win on the Stars game. This time with a hotel stay, she broke me for $330. My advice. Don't gamble but do take advantage of all the food offerings and the bowling alley. Jack

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 5111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.