We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall to your Saves list
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Don't Get Stripped!
Ranked #59 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chino Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Out of the Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I would characterize our stay as enjoyable and well worth the small price we paid for the night. If you want a nice, reasonably priced place that has the feeling of luxury and class that is away from the Strip area, then Sam's is the place to go.

We had a one night stay - this was our first time to stay here.

Clean room and bathroom - standard size. It has a wonderful parklike/forested courtyard area in the center of the complex which is flanked on four sides by the hotel rooms. This gives it a pleasant "New York tenement building block" feel. The courtyard is topped by an enclosed glass ceiling and air conditioned to "brr" cold. Which is OK since outside is 100 degrees plus but it was still too indecently cold for me.

We parked in the parking structure adjacent to the hotel. Be sure to take the proper parking structure - there was a huge one to the south which was not the primary one for the hotel.

The check-in was on one side of the courtyard area. Not entirely self-evident - we had to ask a worker where it was. Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient.

We ate at the Fireside buffet. I would rate it comparable in quality to the larger Las Vegas buffets but with limited choices. The dessert bar was pretty decent in size and quality of items.

At night there is a laserlight show with music and animated critters in the courtyard. It was pretty spectacular given that it was free. You need to jockey for good viewing spots. I opted to view from one of the windows that looks out onto the courtyard from an upper floor in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    404
    138
    54
    23
See reviews for
264
382
105
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beatty, Saskatchewan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

You just can't beat the price for a room $25 a night. Rooms are very clean. We had family staying at the campground next door and was a short walk to go there. We got a players card just so we could have a cheap buffet can't go wrong with a $7 buffet for breakfast. Didn't hear anyone come home at 3am and loud. It was very quiet. We had a car so that was good to get around because it is 15 min from the strip. The beds are not the most comfortable, very hard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Can't think of a better value or a friendlier place to stay in Las Vegas! Just walking through any part of the hotel or casino, employees will ask you how you're doing and if you're having fun. The restaurants and buffet are reasonable and the sports book deli is terrific. Plenty of action for all types of gambling. If you want to go to the strip or Freemont St., Sam's has a free shuttle. As I said, what more could you ask?

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators (none of which are close enough to be noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

First time to Las Vegas and Sam’s town was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the casino area is large and there are plenty of games to play. They also have a movie theater and bowling alley if you get tired of gambling. It is a 15 min drive to the strip but it’s not a big deal, in fact it nice to get off the strip when you want to relax. We ate at TGI Fridays and Billy Bob’s steak house and both were very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I love this place and once said I would never stay on the strip again. My wife and I come to Vegas once a year in September for our Anniversary. My mom also lives in Vegas about 1/4 mile from Sams at Stallion Mountain Country Club. This year Sams Town slots were very tight and no food coupons or comps. We did get a few dollars on our B-connect card but nothing like the years before. We are about a $2000.00 per stay gamblers and usually play alot during our stay. Not this time, the pay outs were far and few between. We had better luck at the Skyline resturant & Casino down the road.

Im not looking to win I just want to be able to play for a while.

From what I can tell visitors to Vegas are up but gambling is down and it will stay down if they keep this up. People will just come for the attractions and skip the casinos.

Any way Sams Town is still my favo place to stay but I my be looking for the free room deals and flight deals we see all the time. That may make up for the loss of coupons or comps and take the edge of of the tight slots.

Room Tip: We stay in the small suite looking at the indoor park. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights, Wed., Thursday and Friday. Loved it. Great rooms, comfy beds, nice staff. The crowd there is older and more polite. I've stayed at a famous hotel/casino on the strip and people were loud, obnoxious and didn't care if they ran into you while walking down the isle. Sam's town crowd is nice and enjoyable.

Really liked Sam's town. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Have been to vegas 9 times and have stayed at sam's twice, it's nice on the strip but for us now we like to be able to go back to somewhere a little quieter less hassle, the hotel has everything you need bars, casino, shops, restaurant's, and it's in a good location to get to other place's such as the hoover dam & grand canyon. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. You can go to other casino/hotel's during the day/night and park at any of them for free, we will be going back to vegas soon and will be stopping at Sam's Town.

Room Tip: we liked the rooms overlooking the eastside cannery hotel, it changes colour all the time,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 5111 Boulder Highway, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.