We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40's Retro meets Contemporary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vintner Grill

Vintner Grill
10100 W Charleston Blvd Ste 150, Las Vegas, NV 89135 (Summerlin)
(702) 214-5590
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vintner Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #220 of 3,967 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Summerlin
Cross street: Hualapai
Description: Vintner Grill is firmly rooted as one of Las Vegas' finest off-Strip restaurants (yes there is more to Las Vegas than the Strip). The menu, created by Executive Chef Matthew Silverman, features American dishes with Mediterranean influences from Spain, France, and Italy. While the menu changes daily, signature dishes include Bouillabaisse, white bean hummus, halibut with cous cous, and taglietelli pasta with wild boar Bolognese. Per its name, Vintner Grill boasts an extensive wine list with more than 250 wines representing 10 distinct countries from across the globe. The “50 under $50” and “Vegas Vintners” wine lists are particularly popular. A selection of 30 artisan beers from around the world is also available along with a full line of signature cocktails. Whether you're here for dinner, drinks, dessert (or all of the above) Vintner Grill is a must for anyone in the culinary set. Oh, and by the way, it's an event venue to die for.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“40's Retro meets Contemporary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Located in a business office park in Summerlin area, the Vintner Grill is a delightful dining experience. The decor is sleek and clean with video screens airing clips from vintage Bogart classics. We opted to skip wine based on the selection and the fact that our comfort zone is with California wines that were not well represented. They do offer a fabulous selection of different types of breads that range from sweet to savory and serve their butter and dipping oils in a very creative way. The menu appears to change based on season and chef choice. Besides an array of cheese paring plates, there is a well thoughout selection of appetizers that are creative and diverse to taste and flavors. We chose the pumpkin gnochi that was fabulous. The crab raviolis were amazing, chilean sea bass melted in the mouth and lamb boulibaise all wonderful. Prices are not moderate...nor are they over the top. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    37
    16
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A find in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Living in Las Vegas and liking wonderful restaurants where the food excels and where you do not leave your last dollar is, well, nigh impossible. And then we found Vintner Grill. The outdoor dining area beckoned but it is August, so we will have to return. Walking in the splendid doors, a "wow" just popped out echoed by two guests who followed us in. I won't tell, just go and see it for yourself. Start out cranky and tired? Over. Drink menu short, sweet and the cucumber gimlet and the kiwi-whatever were perfect! Bread selection was too wonderful, but save yourself for the food! The crab ravioli had subdued husband gushing and the Italian influenced bouillabaisse had me swooning. We skipped dessert and regretted being too full to have a cheese plate and some red wine for dessert, since the cheese and meat selection on that menu was divine. What a find away from the strip. Might have to move to Summerlin to be close.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Interesting but dated and very limited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Vintner grill, las Vegas

we have been here about four times the past three years with various levels of success. This review will be on our most recent trip. There were four of us, one underage for drinking.
 This restaurant is truly a gift to the summerlin part of Vegas, only wish they could more consistently pull it off.
Atmosphere: the appearance of the grill may be one of its greatest strengths. It's located in an office park but offers valet parking. Once you leave the parking lot ou enter what appears to be a green and black oasis with outside seating in three sided tents that make even 90 degree days possible outside. Inside, is the appearance of a lounge with sofa like booths and pillows scattered among them. The reality is that sitting in those booths is uncomfortable, pick a chair.  There is a large bar and bar table seating area when you enter.
Service: We were greeted and seated quickly and our waiter quickly introduced himself. Immediately he was very familiar, wanting to call us by our first names and acting like we were buddies. This is not a style of service we desired, so this was an irritating factor that got increasingly irritating. When the waiter said to our underage diner, "go ahead and order a drink, I won't tell." we were less than happy, but he thought it was funny.
Food:  we started with a combination cheese charcuterie platter and some cocktails. You select as many cheeses as you desire from a long and very interesting list divided by type of milk. This list is truly a strength. Then there is a selection of charcuterie including boar and elk. We tried both and they were good. The cheeses were all good. They are served with some dried fruit, crackers and honey.  The mains were all fine but way too much going on.  It was hard to decipher any particular flavor. I had the ravioli, which is a very small serving of several raviolis that are a bit hard in the edges. One of us had a dish with apricots where the apricots were clearly not ripe and had no flavor. In fact, we didn't believe they were apricots except that is what the menu said. They have several distinct cocktails but some good old fashioned cocktails would have been appreciated.
 When we left the waiter said, "can I call you bob" when he saw the credit card. Just too much familiarity. This is a restaurant with hits and misses. Stick to the simpler things for better chance of getting the hits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Inconsistent with lots of potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Vintner grill, las Vegas

we have been here about four times the past three years with various levels of success. This review will be on our most recent trip. There were four of us, one underage for drinking.
 This restaurant is truly a gift to the summerlin part of Vegas, only wish they could more consistently pull it off.
Atmosphere: the appearance of the grill may be one of its greatest strengths. It's located in an office park but offers valet parking. Once you leave the parking lot ou enter what appears to be a green and black oasis with outside seating in three sided tents that make even 90 degree days possible outside. Inside, is the appearance of a lounge with sofa like booths and pillows scattered among them. The reality is that sitting in those booths is uncomfortable, pick a chair.  There is a large bar and bar table seating area when you enter.
Service: We were greeted and seated quickly and our waiter quickly introduced himself. Immediately he was very familiar, wanting to call us by our first names and acting like we were buddies. This is not a style of service we desired, so this was an irritating factor that got increasingly irritating. When the waiter said to our underage diner, "go ahead and order a drink, I won't tell." we were less than happy, but he thought it was funny.
Food:  we started with a combination cheese charcuterie platter and some cocktails. You select as many cheeses as you desire from a long and very interesting list divided by type of milk. This list is truly a strength. Then there is a selection of charcuterie including boar and elk. We tried both and they were good. The cheeses were all good. They are served with some dried fruit, crackers and honey.  The mains were all fine but way too much going on.  It was hard to decipher any particular flavor. I had the ravioli, which is a very small serving of several raviolis that are a bit hard in the edges. One of us had a dish with apricots where the apricots were clearly not ripe and had no flavor. In fact, we didn't believe they were apricots except that is what the menu said. They have several distinct cocktails but some good old fashioned cocktails would have been appreciated.
 When we left the waiter said, "can I call you bob" when he saw the credit card. Just too much familiarity. This is a restaurant with hits and misses. Stick to the simpler things for better chance of getting the hits.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Vintner Dance Bar and Grill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

A year ago when I was in Las Vegas, I came to the Vinter Grill for dinner because I had read so many good things about the place. This year, I was back in Vegas again to celebrate a birthday, and brought along with me 4 friends.

Unlike last year, when I walked into a relatively quiet, civilized, upscale restaurant with fantastic service, and great food and drink, this year, we walked into a dancebar complete with a DJ booth. There were many people hovering around the bar and at tables nearby, and it was so loud when the DJ started playing, that it was impossible to carry on any type of reasonable conversation without shouting. Indeed, everyone in the room was shouting above the volume of the music, so the ambient noise level was very high.

While the food and wine and cocktails are still fantastic, the Vintner Grill has turned into some trashy dancebar with drunken, big-breasted women falling off of bar stools... This is not a place where civilized people who are interested in good food and drink go to anymore. I was so disappointed and upset that I couldn't wait to get out. Oh, and just to put this review into perspective and just in case you think I am some aging prude... We are 5 successful, professional gay men in our 30s and 40s. We go to dancebars. We drink and go dancing. We have no problem with loud music or crazy drunken women (who are mostly faghags) when we go out. But when I go to a high-end restaurant, I expect fantastic food and drink, and service, in a civilized, gentile setting. Indeed, I was so disappointed by this evening that it is likely I will never again return. The Vintner Grill has become some trashy nightclub for trashy drunks.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintner Grill also viewed

 

Been to Vintner Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintner Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.