We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heli USA Airways

Heli USA Airways
155 East Reno Avenue, Suite E6, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (Paradise)
+1 702-736-8787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #414 of 610 Activities in Las Vegas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heli USA Airways offers helicopter tours over the Las Vegas Strip, Hoover Dam, the Grand Canyon and transportation to the Grand Canyon Ranch Resort; for western-style entertainment and activities, tours to see the American bison and overnight experiences in authentic accommodation.
Plano, Texas
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I went with a group of girls to celebrate a bachelorette party and it was so much fun! Everyone should try this at least once. Las Vegas is so beautiful at night in the air. They even served us champagne before the ride!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpowerheliusa, Manager at Heli USA Airways, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
The Las Vegas Apollo Night Flight is a fantastic experience, it was a pleasure to be part of your Vegas experience! We look forward to welcoming you to Heli USA once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    57
    33
    46
    119
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DVD CON,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Dont fall for the DVD offer of your grand canyon tour with HELI USA.
Ours was a total mess , so, i now understand, were other peoples... i leaned this from tripadvisor.
When i complained, they agreed to view it ,and they also agreed it was rubbish,..and not acceptable, and i was assured i would recieve a full refund.
IT DIDNT HAPPEN... big deal, you stole 70 bucks from us..
I now dont want a refund,, , the whole day was a joke, and i intend to let everyone know at least once a week ,what a poor experience we suffered. The Helicopter was like being in a Furness !!!,,, NO AIRCON, and smelly.
DONT BOOK WITH THIS SHOWER...
Other companies will be better.
I await the usual smoooth excuses, from the top gun..

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
“A unique and rewarding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We went with a group of friends to celebrate a special occasion and all the staff of Heli USA and the Grand Canyon Ranch made it an unforgettable trip. From arriving at the heliport , viewing Hoover Dam, Lake Mead and then entering the Grand Canyon and arriving at the ranch we were treated royally by all the staff. We enjoyed a wonderful meal and entertainment that included singing by the campfire, all after a rodeo show and a tranquil sunset horseride. The accomodation, they have cabins and teepees, are well equipped and comfortable. This is a must for anyone going to Las Vegas.
Tony M - Los Angeles

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpowerheliusa, Manager at Heli USA Airways, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to register your satisfaction with our product. The Grand Canyon Flight is often the highlight of a Las Vegas stay. Heli USA Has been operating these successfully for many years. Grand canyon ranch is a rewarding experience with activities, accommodation, entertainment, great food, history, buffalo safaris, horseback riding and fantastic people. It’s an exceptional experience and visited by people from around the globe 365 days a year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service, unorganised & very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My sister in law had booked us this trip as our wedding present. She booked this through Trailfinders travel agent and asked for the tour over the Hoover Dam and Grand Canyon with a return flight over the strip at sunset to which this was confirmed to us before we left for Las Vegas.
The day before our trip Heli USA phoned our hotel room to say we were being offered a free upgrade to land and have lunch at a ranch but we would have to leave early in the morning and return in the afternoon. We declined this offer as we were only in Las Vegas for a few days and wanted to spend only a few hours on this tour and also we wanted to see the strip at sunset.
We were supposed to be picked up from our hotel at 15:10 but when no-one arrived by 15:45 we called them to ask where our pick up was to be told that there had been a problem with the van and a driver would be with us shortly. A van arrived at 16:00 but the driver made no apology for keeping us waiting.
When we arrived at Heli USA we were kept waiting again while two other couples were complaining that the tour they had originally booked had been changed and they weren't happy so wanted a refund. Then a Heli USA manager approached us to say our original tour had been changed and we wouldn't be able to land in the Grand Canyon, we explained that our tour wasn't suppose to land in the Grand Canyon anyway. He then said our original flight departure had been changed from 16:30 to 17:45 and waffled on that this was because the weather had been exceptionally hot and it was to do with health and safety regulations and they'd been having problems all day. We explained to them that we were annoyed as they could've called us at our hotel beforehand and arranged a later pick up as now we would have to sit around until 17:45. They said sorry and took us to a coffee shop and bought us a soft drink but we were still annoyed at them for wasting our time but as we really wanted to see the Grand Canyon we just went along with the later tour. When we returned to the office to be taken to our helicopter another couple were in there complaining about their tour.
We were then shown into a room for a safety talk which was shown on a projector and also mentioned that we would be filmed on take off which would then be edited with views of the Grand Canyon for our very own personal DVD to keep free of charge.
We were eventually taken to our helicopter which wasn't running when we got in it and when the pilot tried to start the motor the helicopter wouldn't start and told us that he just needed to get a spare battery brought out to jump start it. This then put the fear of god into me as who wants to be told this before you fly into the Grand Canyon! I expressed my concerns to the pilot who explained that this happens sometimes and the motor will be good once started. This still didn't stop me being petrified throughout the whole flight and ruined was was supposed to be a once in a lifetime trip even though we didn't have any problems once in the air.
I had been on a helicopter trip with another company in Australia and so was expecting the same fantastic service from Heli USA but was so disappointed with their very bad customer service, their disorganisation and the way they tried to bluff their way through. We were also never filmed so never received the DVD they mentioned.
I would never use this company again and wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpowerheliusa, General Manager at Heli USA Airways, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
We regret that your experience was not what you had expected. Like all Helicopter sightseeing companies we operate to the highest safety standards and Air temperature plays an integral part of our operation. Often we make decisions close to the time of departure on operating a tour to ensure customer safety. Helicopters are delicate pieces of equipment and we always ensure they are in perfect working order for every passenger to enjoy. We apologise for the confusion in the terminal which was unfortunate, we would also ask that you contact us at our Las Vegas terminal and we will be happy to either send your DVD or offer a full refund. We hope your experience with Heli USA has not diminished your expectations of Trailfinders, an exceptionally reputable company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service, family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Everything was fantastic, stayed at the Grand Canyon Ranch with this company and could not fault anything from start to finish. Collected from our hotel and taken to the checkin area just by the airport, we were taken to the ranch by bus but the option to travel by helicopter is available. We had a great driver who really knew what he was talking about and gave us some great photo opportunities en route. Staff at the ranch were great and no complicated check in just took us to our cabin and gave us the option of booking a sunset wagon or horseback ride, we took the wagon and it was amazing. Had dinner which was included in the price and I must say was one of the best steaks I had during our stay. Sitting around the camfire in the evening with cowboy entertainment while toasting marshmallows and under a canopy of stars is fantastic and as there is no light pollution it does go really dark. After breakfast the following morning and a short time at the ranch to pack our overnight bags our helicopter flight back to Vegas included a 30 minute flight through the Grand Canyon and all I can say is WOW. This was the best thing we did during our stay in the States and everybody should do it IMHO

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpowerheliusa, General Manager at Heli USA Airways, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed Grand Canyon Ranch, a historic location enjoyed by thousands of guests each year. Sitting under the starts with a blazing campfire is often an experience many treasure for a lifetime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heli USA Airways also viewed

 

Been to Heli USA Airways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heli USA Airways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.