We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Paradise Road, Las Vegas, NV 89109-3611 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
ciney (belgium)
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheap and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

If you are looking for a budget motel with (super) large (and clean) rooms, this is the place. No breakfast but a nice pool and lots of space for parking your car...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    236
    192
    114
    110
See reviews for
119
225
64
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcasle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

we stayed here in june for two weeks and enjoyed every minute of our stay. the reviews we read were not great so we decided to see for ourselves. The staff were really willing to help where they could. The meals we thought were very nice, we ate breakfast nearly every day for the fortnight and could not complain at the food. Our room was cleaned every day. We used the shuttle bus all the time and found this a really useful option to have as the strip is a 30 miute walk.The pool was a good size for quick swim,and was cleaned all the time. The only thing i did't like was the spa was too hot...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

With a good shuttle service to the strip on the hour and the Monorail station near by, this inexpensive hotel is the right choice to enjoy Las Vegas. The room was excellent, a spacious one with a king size bed, a kitchen area and also free wi-fi access, which was great.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast expensive and unattractive but you can eat it on the bar ... much better and cheeper. The Mardis Gras worth all the money and of course that I highly recommend it. We'll be back again !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed at the Mardi Gras for business for a week. I would say it's more of a motel rather than a hotel from the look of it. But it does have a pool, small restaurant, small bar and small casino area.

As the rooms are mainly external (ie. it's all open air rather than indoor rooms with corridors) the room was very cold and noisy. I had to have the heating on every night, not only to keep warm but also to try and drown out external noise.

The second night I was kept up until 3am by loud drilling outside the hotel. I called reception at 2am to complain and they said I would have to check if there was another room in the morning. Luckily I managed to move to another room at the back of the hotel which was nice and quiet. According to my colleagues who have stayed here for several years there always seems to be construction going on outside the hotel.

Another reason why I would consider this more of a motel is due to the lack of basic amenities. The bath/shower gel dispenser in both rooms was empty (even after several calls and notes to housekeeping it was still never filled). Some days all I had was soap in my room, which isn't helpful if you need shampoo to wash your hair! Plus the water was never hot hot, just lukewarm.

I was in Vegas for a convention and although the location is walking distance to the convention centre it was just too basic and noisy for me.

I'd only recommend the Mardi Gras if you're on a tight budget and don't mind a very basic and possibly noisy stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Not the best of the Best Westerns we have stayed in in the USA. The room was nice and big with a partition seperating the bed area from the lounge it made it feel a bit more like a small studio flat. It obviously was a self catering apartment originaly due to the kitchenette area that was there which made an idea place to put my daughter's travel cot so she was out of the way. Room felt a bit dark though so you had to keep the lights on if you were in.

Even though we were told there was room service there wasn't. You could order food at the bar and collect it to take back to your room but I felt it was a little bit too pricey for what you got. In general the staff were very functional (the only way I can describe them!). They did their job but that was it, the only person who seemed to be a bit more friendly was one of the bar staff however i felt that he invaded my personal space a bit too much. They shut the pool down for a day to do repairs and gave ample notice beforehand which I was impressed with as other places I've been too haven't even informed me. The staff were also great in informing us when we enquired about staying an extra night that the hotel was actually booked out by a nudist group but we were more than welcome to stay. We didn't, but I was greatful that they gave us the choice rather than just take our money.

Overall, it's not a bad place to stay. It's aobut a 10-15min walk to the monorail or aboout an 1hr walking to The Strip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

we enjoyed this hotel its off the strip but you can be on the strip in 20 min:we found you are not a number as u r on the strip with hundreds of rooms, you can meet people in the bar , and talk to the staff and you are reconised day after day its like home they r nice staff and the prices food and drink is good. we are back there in october

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

.as a family stayed her for 8 nights in april .had to move rooms as i asked for non-smoking and got one which was and one which was not.we were moved no problem but to other side of hotel but ok.rooms were large enough and clean with beds made and towels changed every day.tv and coffee making facilities in each room.had a noise problem one night when about 12 spanish young dancers made a lot of noise at 2.00am so had to get security guard to tell them to be quiet .also one night the water was turned off as working on roads outside of the hotel so luckily we had a large bottle of water to make coffee and clean our teeth and also no water to flush the loo.went to see the hotel reception who had no bottled water at all which was a disgrace and they did not want to know..never used hotel for breakfast as choice was limit. happy hour in bar was good value .pool was cold but hot tub next to pool very hot.all hotels have foyers full of gaming machines.you get used to that in vegas.close to strip but you will need a taxi or mono-rail which runs ouside hotel.no supermarkets near by and nearest star bucks was a 15 to 20minute walk to the left of the hotel which was ok.hotel runs a shuttle to the strip or close by on the hour but male driver was rude and more interested in people going to the airport . we had breakfast and dinner on the strip at different restaurants each day.for a cheap clean place to stay this was good value but if you can the hotels on the strip are superb but what you pay extra .come to las vegas a wonderful experience not to be missed but as isaid you get what you pay for so check twice what you can afford

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino

Address: 3500 Paradise Road, Las Vegas, NV 89109-3611 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino is your great choice for an affordable full-service hotel just off the Strip. The hotel features 314 spacious over-sized guest rooms each with a refrigerator and bar area; a friendly and affordable restaurant and 24-hour casino lounge; a large pool and sunning terrace; FREE Strip and Airport Shuttle that runs every hour on the hour from 7am to 10pm; and is a short walk to the Las Vegas Monorail and the Las Vegas Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel Las Vegas
Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel And Casino
Best Western Las Vegas
Las Vegas Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.