We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slow - but very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Japonais at the Mirage

Japonais at the Mirage
3400 Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)
+1 866-339-4566
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Japonais at the Mirage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #220 of 3,969 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Strip
Cross street: Spring Mountain
Description: The balance of the East. The exuberance of the West. Our version of the NYC and Chicago favorite is fresh, hip and a collector of rave reviews. Condé Nast Traveler – "Top 66 Restaurants in The World" New York Times – "Culinary Experience with Immense Enjoyment" Bon Appétit – "Everything about this Space Is Good Taste" Robata Japanese Grill Skewered and grilled over Japanese Charcoal 7 Days a Week from 5:00pm to kitchen close Late Night Menu Served Friday and Saturday from 10:00 p.m. to 12:00 a.m. in the lounge.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A little slow - but very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We wanted Odana next door to this, but there online menu was not current - so we canceled the reservation and went here instead - a good option.
Sushi was fresh and tasty. Hot rock was good. Friends had the ribs and they liked them. Wife had steak and she was happy. Overall - a great option.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    107
    31
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I love you?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were promptly seated, and were brought water. Then we waited 20 minutes before our waitress came over, probably after noticing our agitation, and bowed to each of us and said..."I love you!" I replied.."well not enough to wait on us I suppose.." Then when we ordered salmon, and she said they were out..we left. Salmon is a pretty common item, and should never run out of that..

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Myself and my wife ended up eating at this fantastic restaurant by chance after our booking at the Barrymore was cancelled for a private party and had one of the best meals we've both had. My wife tried several dishes from the Robata section (Japanese barbeque) and found them all to be fantastic (as well as the cocktails she tried!). Brilliant service and when they found out it was our honeymoon we got a free dessert, which was a very nice and kind touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“One of the top 66 Restaurants in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Altough I like their Chicago location way more, because of the decor and ambiance, the food is as fantastic as ever. If you love Sushi, you must eat here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ripped Off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As a Las Vegas local, we do not go to Strip hotel restaurants very often but we went with out of town friends who were going to see "Love" after dinner and suggested Japonais. It is a great looking place but that is about the only good thing I can say about it. The wine and Sake prices are high even for Strip hotel restaurants. I had a $7 Japanese bottled beer. The Chilean Sea Bass was excellent, very moist with a good sauce. The Yellow Tail Roll ($10 for 6 pieces) and Unagi ($10) were just plain horrible. We had better at our local Smith's grocery store. The Skirt steak was OK but nothing special. The Ginger Mousse ($12) was lackluster. We had been there years ago and it was great. What happened? You could take a cab to much better local restaurant off the strip and still come out ahead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japonais at the Mirage also viewed

 

Been to Japonais at the Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japonais at the Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.