We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sanctuary from Hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Platinum Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Platinum Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Platinum Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
las vegas, nv
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Sanctuary from Hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Platinum to celebrate our anniversary. While we were very impressed with the reviews we had seen and the descriptions on their website, this hotel fell far short of all our expectations. We booked the together forever package which was to include our suite, a couples massage, chocolate covered strawberries and wine, and breakfast in the morning.

Upon arriving to the hotel to check in after requesting a king sized bed we were told by the woman at the front desk that rooms type are not a guaranteed and are just a request. If we wanted we could upgrade to a higher floor for additional money and she could get us a king sized bed, otherwise we would have to take the two queens. We went ahead and paid the additional $20 for the upgraded room on the higher floor which ended up having a view of the power plant across the street.

After requesting at check-in that the strawberries and wine be sent up to the room, and being told they would arrive shortly, they finally arrived a mere one hour later. We then attempted to book our couples massage in the spa for that evening only to find out that 1) they cannot accommodate two massages at the same time (no staff), we had to book one after the other and 2) the spa was already closed for the night (6pm) and we would have to wait until the next day if we wanted to get our massages.

We decided to try and salvage our already losing battle to celebrate our anniversary by heading over to the strip and have a romantic dinner and take in a few sights. We had an exceptional dinner at Three Olives inside Bellagio (A+++) and greatly enjoyed the fountains and our trip up the Eiffel Tower. This was without a doubt the best part of our stay, being outside of the hotel!

However, upon returning to the hotel we were amazed by the number of kids in the lobby and inquired as to who else was in the hotel. We were told a bunch of sports teams were in for the weekend. Throughout the night we continually heard kids up and down the hallway bouncing balls, making lots of noise and making it absolutely unbearable to sleep. We called the front desk several times to report the noise and were told that they would send someone up, however it never ended and it was a horrible night.

The next morning tired and hungry we headed to the restaurant to have breakfast. The service in the restaurant is an absolute joke. We ordered and saw our server once to drop off the juice, after that we waited for almost 30 minutes before I finally got up to ask were our food was. The restaurant wasn't even that busy maybe 10 to 15 others in there as well. I was told it would be right out, however, it still took another 10 minutes before we were served. The food was only luke warm and I was just ready to go home.

My wife suggested that we just pack up and head home as who only knew what would happen if we went for our massages and since we couldn't have our "couples massage" together it really wasn't worth all the hassle.

We went to the front desk to check out and had been told by the woman at check-in to charge everything to the room and all would be taken care of. But to our surprise when we looked over the bill our credit card and already been charged for the strawberries, wine and breakfast. The woman at the desk quickly removed the charges from our card and told us the systems had posted them in error.

We just received our credit card statement in the mail and the charge which was supposedly removed for the services has now reappeared on our card. I called the hotel several times last week and tried to speak with someone in accounting as the front desk manager said she could not remove the charges from our card and I still have yet to hear back after leaving three messages for some woman that never seems to be available.

In all for the amount of money we spent to have an enjoyable anniversary in a nice off strip hotel we are now wishing we had just booked at a lower rate at one of the mega resorts and called it even. We would absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone as the service level is well below where it should be for the price paid and all the extra hassles are just not worth it. I don’t know who’s in charge of this place but it would do them good to take in a good dose of their own customer service and learn from it. Needless to say we will not be returning to the Platinum any time soon and who knows when well hear about the credit card issue!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,935
    640
    151
    45
    34
See reviews for
638
1,121
119
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

My wife and I decided to stay at the Platinum due to its' high ratings on TA. I was a little skeptical at first because it is a non-gaming hotel. I was pleasantly surprised and it definitely lived up to the high ratings. This hotel is exceptional, and I guarantee you will not be disappointed staying here. It is about a 5 minute walk to the Bally's 4 corners, so you still feel as if you're staying on the strip, but far enough to get a break from the crowds. By far the cleanest hotel that we have ever stayed at, and the rooms are huge! I think the suites at Platinum could qualify as apartments in Las Vegas. Each suite has a full kitchen, dining area, living room, separate bedroom, and the bathroom is humongous. The service at Platinum is outstanding. We arrived before check-in time and our room was not ready. We decided to wait in the lounge until it was ready. Unfortunately the bar was not open yet, but the bartender who was preparing to open made an exception and served us while we waited. My wife and I were treated as VIP clients as we waited for our room. I love the loud, smokey, action packed casinos as much as anyone. But it was very nice to stay at the Platinum to get a nice break from the casino environment when it was time to get some sleep. Very quiet and relaxing place to stay. My wife and I have been to Las Vegas about a dozen times, and staying at the Platinum was the best choice that we ever made.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed at the Platinum for the third time in June and had another great trip. The spacious rooms and full kitchens are a huge bonus when staying at the Platinum. You just can't get a room that spacious on the Strip. We loved having the fridge to store drinks and leftovers. The location of the hotel is right off the center of the Strip. The first time we stayed at the Platinum we were worried about the walk to the Strip, but the key is to walk into Bally's sports book section and from there you can walk through Bally's to the Strip and everything Vegas has to offer.

LOVED the pool at the Platinum. We never had a problem getting a great spot at the pool, and it offered a very relaxing environment. The food that was available at the pool was also fabulous, great spot to enjoy lunch. The pool at the Platinum was a wonderful break from the hustle and bustle of the Strip.

Another great feature of the Platinum is that it's located next to a wonderful hidden gem of Vegas: Ellis Island. This restaurant/casino looked a little skechy from the outside, but after many trips, we have decided it is one of the best food values in Vegas. They have a bbq deal where you can get full slab of ribs for under $15 and then they have $1.50 beers all the time! We also discovered the pizzeria takeout portion of Ellis and was able to bring back a great dinner (great value) to enjoy at the hotel.

Overall, great service, convenient location, relaxed atmosphere, and fun times at the Platinum once again!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I stayed here recently, and all I can say is wow. This place was definitely a great escape. It's the perfect balance of traditional Las Vegas and your everyday vacation. During the day, we were able to walk to the Strip (take advantage of going through Ballys on hot days), and if we wanted to, we were far enough away that the commotion wasn't even heard. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a mix of all the Las Vegas has to offer. Clean rooms, friendliest staff, and a pool with an amazing view.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cali
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Platinum Hotel was once again a great stay! This was our second visit to this property and it was just as great as the first time. We are officially calling this our home away from home. We spent the entire time on the property. Service was excellent from entry to Kilowat restaurant to security. Valet and bell hops aim to please. We love The Platinum! Looking forward to our visit in October...this time we'll be checking out the Spa Facilities. Thank you to Eva, Matt, Jessica, Stir Staff, Chris @ security, Alex (whom promptly fixed our AC) and countless others for providing such wonderful service each and everytime we visit!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

It is the best place to stay in vegas without noisy slot machine and lound music when you are traveling with young kids. The room is super clean and big than regular hotel room. You can also cook in fully equiped kichen when you do not want eat out. It is a perfect place for your family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I searched for two weeks for a room for one night in Vegas. I am very picky. I had it narrowed down. I decided upon the Platinum. Got a great AAA rate. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted, had the door opened, and checked in with ease. We were assigned a room on the 14th floor. NO words to describe what a wonderful room we had. Not really a room..size of a 1 bedroom apartment. Beautiful kitchen. A WOW bathroom..huge jacuzzi tub and double sinks. The bed is wonderful. I did search under the sheets and try and find who made it. The restaurant on the 5th floor had a wonderful and inexpensive breakfast. But overall the hotel is quiet. I liked the Platinum so much came back and booked again for the near future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Platinum Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Hotel and Spa

Address: 211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#11 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Platinum Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Hotel and Spa is non-smoking with no slots or tables; a sanctuary located near the action (just a block from the Las Vegas strip) with the look and feel of a trendy boutique hotel. Specializing in personalized service and offering an intimate spa, it's own restaurant and lounge, with an indoor/outdoor pool and spacious lounging deck, the Platinum offers only spacious suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Platinum Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platinum Hotel Las Vegas
Platinum Hotel Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platinum Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.