We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegas Smoke-free Zone !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Platinum Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Platinum Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Platinum Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Covenham, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vegas Smoke-free Zone !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

As a frequent, non-smoking visitor to Vegas, I am pleased to say that I have at last found a hotel that is "smoke free". Although many have no-smoking rooms, the smell usually finds its way up the stairwells, along the corridors and under the doors. Not so with the Platinum.... not a tab end in sight (they charge you $500 for room cleaning if they find one !). I was slightly concerned about the compulsory car parking valet service (you know, whether to tip - what to tip - am I going to have four doors left if I dont ? ) but no need. The drivers were courtious and I didn't have to wait long for the car to arrive, all doors intact ( I did tip $2 a time - might seem mean but when you're in and out like a yoyo then it soon mounts up - and they seemed to appreciate it). The pool on the 5th floor was excellant and well warm, which it needed to be as the temperature was 105 degrees and getting into a cold pool would not have been easy and the view from the pool over the strip at night was amazing. The suite itself was everything that the web site suggested (I had a ninth floor view over Flamingo Road which was entertaining at times but amazingly quiet considering the amount of traffic). But my one gripe is that, although they provided a couple of small bottles of mineral water, they were going to charge me over $9 dollars if I drank it !

Other than that, it was a great place to stay and will become my Vegas residence for the immediate future.

  • Liked — The space, comfort and kitchen area in a smoke-free environment (and the pool, of course)
  • Disliked — The charge for the mineral water !
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,853
    611
    145
    42
    33
See reviews for
601
1,083
115
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

This is a really nice place with just a few drawbacks.

The positives:
- Just a few blocks off the Strip. An easy 5 to 10 minute walk.
- Reasonable prices by Vegas terms. We paid about $180 per night, all-in. Maybe could have gotten it cheaper through Priceline but we booked direct on their website.
- Very large suites with separate bedroom
- No casino games
- Helpful and knowledgeable concierge
- The room did not smell like smoke, like so many Vegas hotels
- Very comfortable beds (except for the sofa bed). Large kitchen with refrigerator and dishwasher.
- Quiet (that's a biggie !)

The negatives:
- 100% valet parking - can be a hassle if you need to get something out of your car. Also, you can wait a long time if others are wanting their cars at the same time.
- No automatic doors and no doorman. This was a problem as we had a lot of bags and nobody offered to even hold a door open.
- The room was not exactly clean. There were some long black hairs in the sink when we arrived. Also, we used the pull-out sofa bed, and when we moved it away from the wall, there was a lot of dirt and other stuff hiding back there. The cleaning appeared to be superficial and not particularly thorough.
- Expensive spa service (we thought about using it, but saw the prices and changed our minds)
- No shuttle service, which would be a great selling point for this place if they had one
- Not a great neighborhood (is there one 3 blocks from the Strip?)

Overall, there is a very high likelihood that I will stay here the next time I come to Vegas.

  • Liked — Huge comfortable suite
  • Disliked — No doorman or automatic doors in the lobby
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We recently stayed one night at the Platinum Hotel and Spa in Las Vegas, and wish we had a few more to enjoy it. We had asked for an early check in, and got it while upgraded to a larger suite, without asking for it. The service from check in, to check out, and everything in between was excellent. If you want a smoke free hotel without the anergy of an onsite casino, this is agreat place to stay. You are still very close to the casinos, shows, and nearby restaurants, but you can escape to this quiet refuge. The pool area was very nice, and perfect for our small family of three. It was a nice atmosphere, with attentive, but not intrusive, service. Look forward to another chance to stay at this hotel, it will be my first choice when returning to Las vegas.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable with great amenities.
  • Disliked — No self parking, but valet servie was very good.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

We booked after reading Trip Advisor reviews -- the suites are great, it is definitely true, and the breakfast in the restaurant was simply excellent. The reasons for my 'average' review was because we had to request a change of suite because of the awful smell on the 12th floor, apparently due to carpet cleaning (just terrible, and we were not the first ones to complain) -- however, the front desk manager helped us very professionally and swapped suites. Beautiful accommodations with view on the strip. Also, we HATED, HATED, the valet parking system - they took our car even though we were checking in and we had to wait a long time to retrieve our vehicle; most people complain about this. Trendy property, very pleasant, will definitely stay there again. They could use a shuttle to the strip. With young children, we specifically enjoyed the absence of casino.

  • Liked — Large trendy suites
  • Disliked — Valet parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

We stayed in the Platinum for four nights whilst on our travels around the US and I have to say for the price we paid it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The rooms were large and the spacious bathroom and kitchen were a welcomed surprise. Hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the strip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Las Vegas.

  • Liked — Price and Room Size
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

This was an absolutely fabulous place to spend our 4 days in Las Vegas. We have an 8 year old with us so did not want a place with smoking or casinos. The staff was very friendly and gave us a free upgrade because it was my husband's 50th birthday and our 10 year anniversary. The Well Spa took time to answer all my questions about their products. I've never bothered to write a review before but this place really warranted it!

  • Liked — Hotel and Staff
  • Disliked — Valet could have been a bit faster.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

The Platinum was highly recommended by Trip Advisor members, and we booked on that basis for three nights. The hotel is on E Flamingo Road, and a 15 minute walk brings you to the main strip crossroads where on the four corners sit the Bellagio, Cesars Palace, Flamingo and Ballys/Paris Paris, so the location is excellent if you want a hotel where there is no casino to navigate on the way to your room. The Platinum is very clean, the accommodation is all suites, and even the smallest is huge, comprising a lounge area, kitchen area with an enormous cooker, separate microwave, a fridge you could walk in etc. large bedroom dressing area enormous whirlpool tub, and separate shower with 2 basin wash area. If you have a room with a view of the strip you will not be disappointed especially at night. We did not use the spa - the rates are horrendously expensive. The pool is on 5th floor and looks clean and adequate. We had breakfast on only one day in the restaurant which was also adequate. The only thing that marred our stay was at checking in. We arrived after a ten hour flight, very tired, at 4.30 pm and were told that our room was not ready, and we would have to wait 40 minutes. In the meantime the bellboy took our bags from us without being invited including our hand luggage containing some very expensive optical equipment and promptly dropped them. When we refused the offer of a room upgrade at extra cost, our original room miraculously became available. Draw your own conclusions.

  • Liked — Size of rooms / cleanliness
  • Disliked — Check-in
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Platinum Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Hotel and Spa

Address: 211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#10 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#10 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Platinum Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Hotel and Spa is non-smoking with no slots or tables; a sanctuary located near the action (just a block from the Las Vegas strip) with the look and feel of a trendy boutique hotel. Specializing in personalized service and offering an intimate spa, it's own restaurant and lounge, with an indoor/outdoor pool and spacious lounging deck, the Platinum offers only spacious suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TIG Global, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Platinum Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platinum Hotel Las Vegas
Platinum Hotel Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platinum Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.