We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Platinum Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Platinum Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platinum Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 273 hotels in Las Vegas
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights in early December in a Strip View Solitaire Suite. As mentioned by many other reviewers the suite was huge and very comfortable. Lots of space, amazing bathroom, and wonderful to have the kitchen, even though we mostly used only the refrigerator.

We arrived at the hotel around noon, and went to the desk to see if, by any chance, our room was ready. We were "helped," and I use that term loosely, first by a clerk who was pretty sure, before she even checked, that nothing would be ready. We asked her to check anyway; she humored us and said something might be ready in fifteen minutes. We proceeded to check in; she proceeded to drop our credit card down into a very small opening between the computer monitor and the desk. My husband (not the clerk, who made very little effort to extricate the card) finally managed to retrieve it after several minutes. The clerk then asked for photo ID and tried to insist the driver's license be taken out of the wallet and handed to her. We declined, not wanting a repeat of her dropping it down into the small space. She somewhat sulkily managed, but it was clear that she was annoyed with us. After the paperwork was completed, this clerk told another young lady, Melody, who was working at the next desk, that Housekeeping would call when the room was ready, and then the first clerk left the lobby without another word to us.

It turns out that Melody was originally from our area, so we had a nice conversation about home town things. While Melody then dealt with a few other duties, we checked out the lobby and had a seat to wait for the room to be ready. When Housekeeping had not called after a bit, Melody followed up and found us a room that was ready and assured us that the view was a good one. We were concerned that the view from room 702 wouldn't be of the Strip since it wasn't on one of the higher floors, but we were near the end of the hotel building and could see pretty much from one end of the Strip to the other. I can't say enough good things about Melody's customer service.

We had lunch that day and two breakfasts at the hotel dining room on the 5th floor. The food and prices were both good; prices especially considering where we were.

The walk from the Platinum to the strip is a longish one but if you cut through Bally's it seems to save some steps. The only off-putting thing about the location is that we passed, on both sides of the street, a couple of groups of people who were either homeless or very down on their luck. One group of men had over-served themselves and were "conversing" with passing pedestrians. Nothing that was said was threatening but it was uncomfortable. This certainly is not under the control of the hotel; if you do walk down the side of the street that the hotel is on and then cut through the casino employees parking lot and Bally's you can avoid the two areas that seem to be gathering places.

All in all, we were pleased with our stay at the Platinum.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,730
    558
    133
    41
    31
See reviews for
566
1007
108
355
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

No casino for us is a huge plus. We aren’t gamblers, and hate cigarette smoke. If you want to gamble it will require a walk or a drive from here but it's entirely do able.

Restaurants: We didn't try the hotel ones as we brought some food, and met friends for dinner in Henderson. You can walk to Sam Selzers steak house, and perhaps Bahama breeze. The view from our room on the 15th floor was pretty cool. We saw the approach of a lot of planes into Vegas.

The regular sized suite is still pretty darn generous in size. I am sure it’s larger than any suite hotel I’ve been in. Full kitchen let us bring food from home (we are 5-6 hours away) and have breakfast in the room at our leisure. Home coffee.

The massive bath tub I just want to bring home. I got some bath salts and was in it every night. There’s room for two!

Families would love this place as it makes Vegas almost family friendly. (I say almost, because let’s face it, when you think Las Vegas, do you think, “ooh! Let’s take our five year old twins!”

Maid service impressed me greatly. The first day they added a cushy bath rug and noticed what shampoos, etc we used and replaced those. Little things like this matter.
FREE valet parking. Seriously. Great, great staff. Cookies at night. VERY quiet.

This was our second time here and we will be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a floor above 12 for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review and for being one of our loyal repeat guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here the weekend before christmas to celebrate my bday and had an amazing experience. The room was everything and more. Great fantastic view...non gambling like I wanted but still walking distance to The Strip.

When we checked in, Alexa greeted us with a huge smile and when we let her know that the tub was not clean once we got into our room...she sent housekeeping right up to take care of it. For the inconvience later on they sent up complimentary dessert and champagne since we were celebrating my bday. Overall....I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are glad you had a great birthday stay at our hotel. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Platinum is a non-gaming suite hotel, 2 blocks off the strip on Flamingo. Very spacious suite, with full kitchen and nice living room. Staff was incredibly friendly, and the place was quiet. Only complaint is that the kitchen was not furnished well so it made it a bit challenging with family of 4. But perfect place to stay if you want a "condo" near the strip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel. Next time you stay with us please ask the front desk if you need more kitchen items to help with your meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this part condo/ part hotel property in a princess suite in a group of five ladies. The rooms were quiet, clean, huge and easily accommodated the various requirements we had to be comfortable and get ready for our outings, including a great kitchen to store our food and stand around to snack and chat. The bathroom had tons of floor area with double sinks, and plenty of counter space. There is a huge closet in the bathroom as well. Housekeeping was more than helpful in providing us with the extra items requested, with a smile and very quickly - thanks Juan! (extra towels, extra pillows, more blankets, additional luggage racks, more kleenex, dishes, and many more towels etc). The Grocery service was fantastic since there really isn't a grocery store easily accessible to this location. We had our supplies for breakfast and snacks in our room upon arrival. It was only a short walk from the strip (to the main corner of Bally's/Flamingo/Ceasar's Palace/Bellagio) and an easy ride on the route 202 bus for night time transportation, which stops directly in front of the hotel. (runs 24 hours a day) The indoor/outdoor pool is a bit oddly organized, in that you have to go outside, to get to the indoor pool (we went in January, so not ideal), however, the pool had great loungers and was clean. The one thing that really makes this hotel stand out above the others, is the staff. They were relaxed, positive, helpful and genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs and the people they worked with. This goes from the housekeeping staff, to the front door crew, to the front desk. I enjoyed hearing them laugh and greeting the customers like long lost friends. It made the hotel very welcoming and such a great place to arrive to after the intense energy of the city. Specifically, my friend Kevin (also known as part of the Front Door Crew, previously mentioned) who went out of his way, to drive my friend and I to another hotel a few short minutes away when there were no cabs in sight (she had an extra night and had some points to use). When the other hotel turned out to be WAY less than desirable, he returned to the undesirable hotel to rescue us and my friend was able to get another night at the Platinum. After what I can only describe as a horrific and upsetting experience at the other hotel, Kevin then turned around and drove me to the airport. Needless to say, this above and beyond was very welcome, completely unexpected, and capped off an excellent stay at the Platinum. I would recommend this hotel to families, friends, conference attendees and anyone who wants to feel at home while travelling to Las Vegas. Excellent work, Platinum employees! Keep on smiling!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased you had such a great time and felt so comfortable while you were here. That is truly what we strive to give our guests, a home away from home feeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for the marathon, and it was perfect for our needs. The suite was huge, and had a fully stocked kitchen so we could prepare our own meals. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the strip, but we were more than happy to be somewhere a bit quieter. This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting an apartment-style room without all the noise of the strip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We appreciate your very nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in a princess suite strip view on the 11th for five days leading to New Years eve. We had a tremendous stay, and highly recommend this hotel for families looking for an off strip location. The princess suite had a large king size bedroom, with dual access to the large bathroom from both the bedroom and the kitchen. The bathroom had a separate large bath, toilet, shower, dual basin, hairdryer and a convenient large wardrobe.

The main room has a large and equipped kitchen, you can request additional pots and pans, it has a fridge and freezer with water dispenser. There are four bar stools for eating at the bench, which we did with a self cater breakfast each morning. We had a pull out sofa opposite a fireplace and TV and a desk. There are sliding doors to a small balcony, we had a strip view overlooking the pool as well. The beds were very comfortable, the best feature of these rooms is the space, they really are small apartments. The was a washer and dryer in a cupboard, and powder was supplied daily.

The hotel staff were so helpful and pleasant, everyone we encountered gave exceptional service. A big thanks to Gita at concierge who was so knowledgeable and organized babysitting, car hire and other advice on shows, where to eat etc.

The location was great for us, a 10 min walk to ballys and the corner of Bellagio to watch the fountains, but in general the outlook is a bit grungy with car parks and convenience stores and power substation across the road. Our kids aged 8 and 11 managed the walk to the strip just fine, but we tuck to daylight hours only. There is a 7-11 convenience stored nearby, basic supplies only but you can buy alcohol in these stores, but may struggle with healthy food options. If you want groceries, it's a cab ride to Albertsons or even better find a Whole Foods Market and stock up on prepared and healthy food. Las Vegas is not pedestrian friendly at all, it is obviously set up as a car city, so footpaths are narrow against four lane roads.

The pool is good not fantastic, but great for families. It is indoor and outdoor connected by a channel as well as a spa. We were swimming in late December, and it was pleasant, not hot in the water. There is a nice balcony and deck area with comfortable day sofas.

Breakfast options include the restaurant on level 5 and also room service. A great option is to order family platters to feed 4-6 people for both breakfast and dinner. This was our most affordable dining option, $40 for a chicken burrito platter and 2 adults and 4 children couldn't finish it. Great dining option nearby, 5 min walk, include Lawrys Prime Rib, not cheap but a lovely classic American experience where the meat is served in a trolley at your table and cut to your liking.

Room Tip: Princess suite strip view, on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant and thorough review of our hotel, staff and surrounding areas. We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Platinum Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Hotel and Spa

Address: 211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#10 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Platinum Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Hotel and Spa is non-smoking with no slots or tables; a sanctuary located near the action (just a block from the Las Vegas strip) with the look and feel of a trendy boutique hotel. Specializing in personalized service and offering an intimate spa, it's own restaurant and lounge, with an indoor/outdoor pool and spacious lounging deck, the Platinum offers only spacious suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TIG Global, TravelClick, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Platinum Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platinum Hotel Las Vegas
Platinum Hotel Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platinum Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.