We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SW Steakhouse

SW Steakhouse
3131 Las Vegas Boulevard South, at the Wynn Las Vegas, Las Vegas, NV 89109
888-352-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 3,841 restaurants in Las Vegas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Honiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best steak ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We ate here while staying in the Encore and the steak was out of this world!
The wine list seems never ending so everyone will find something to their taste and the deserts (if you can manage one!) are unreal!
We sat by the lake and enjoyed the shows that happen by the waterfall.
Definitely worth a visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    500
    143
    66
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expectations not met...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

For all the hype of a Wynn restaurant, this was actually a disappointment for me. I was a guest for dinner with a business associate and his wife. We were seated "lakeside" which was actually very pleasant. The tree lined "lake" definitely made you forget that you were in the middle of Las Vegas. The entertainment however, I found intrusive. It was loud and of the four numbers, three didn't fit with the rest of the ambiance. In reality, that was only my opinion. I am sure many people like it. I had the iceberg salad with a blue cheese ranch. It was very good. Crisp iceberg, fresh tomatoes. The steaks arrived. My associate had the petite filet, medium well and I had the bone-in ribeye medium rare. Both had to be returned to the kitchen. His for being blood red and mine for being gray. They were both re-served relatively quickly and were good the second time around. The three of us shared two sides as the waiter suggested. The quantity was fine. The au gratin potatoes were adequate as was the asparagus. The asparagus was chopped and I would have prefered whole, grilled asparagus. They did send out a complementary desert for the problem with the steaks which was good of them. In the final analysis though, I probably won't return on my own nickel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had an awesome experience at SW. Seated at the edge of the dining room by patio with an awesome view of the show. Steaks were outstanding, especially the bone-in ribeye. All sides were outstanding. Always eat at SW when in Vegas

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
569 reviews 569 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Limited Menu With Inattentive Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice atmosphere, if you are seated near the lake and waterfall; sort of plain if you are seated so far from the lake that you cannot see the video show. Don't expect to be moved to a better table, even for desert, in order to see the video show; not that sort of caring service.

Ridiculously overpriced wine selections on two dozen page wine menu with three and four digit priced wines; only about 6 wines under $100; a walk around the restaurant of maybe 60 to 80 tables revealed only 7 tables with a bottle of wine. Obviously customers are voting with their wallet.

Limited menu. Very expensive. No T-bone steak available. No baked potato available. Beef tender prime, but my bone-in ribeye had been soaked in a overly salty au jus; another person at our table had her veal chop covered with a strange tasing sauce that wasn't mentioned on the menu. Avoid the black truffle corn: ours had some black slip one half inch in diameter (truffle? black olive?) and the corn filled with truffle oil; unedible; turned back to waiter immediately, but still appeared on bill; the waiter said that he "meant" to take it off. No interesting deserts.

Service mechanical, not intuitive. Large restaurant with lots of business. Don't bother.

As Yogi Berra once said: "Nobody goes there anymore. It's too crowded."

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This steakhouse has a great view, right by the fountain in the Wynn hotel. The steaks are perfect, great flavor exactly cooked. The only downside is the price, it is extremely pricy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SW Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to SW Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SW Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.