We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's decent at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hooters Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hooters Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Hooters Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 East Tropicana Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Offer
Ranked #157 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's decent at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here last August for a week.

This place is very low key, quite plain but will do for a cheap, inexpensive nights sleep. I had a room that was not connected to the hotel but is close to the pool. Room is just average, nothing more than say a motel you'd find on the highway somewhere. Not the cleanest overall however. .
Food is greasy but delicious. There is a special late night on a steak that was pretty good.

Casino is small but the have a very active $3 Blackjack table that gets attention and was always packed. People actually come here from other casinos looking for it!

I would stay here if you're looking for super cheap accommodations a little off the strip. Location isn't the best, you're at least a half-block off the strip across from MGM Grand. Service is awesome though, the girls are very helpful and very pretty.

Room Tip: Tower room that is connected to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    635
    554
    304
    353
See reviews for
197
705
286
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When you think of Hooters, you think of scantily clothed Hooters girls and chicken wings and this is no exception. If you like Hooters in your hometown, you will love this Hooters! This is an old Howard Johnson's hotel from the 70's, but over the years it has been owned and remodeled by several different owners with the latest being Hooters. You may want to get there quickly if you want to visit because the hotel is up for sale, which is unfortunate because it is really cute, fun and inexpensive for a hotel just off the Las Vegas strip. It is decorated in a "Florida-tropical" theme with the two hotel towers and a large outdoor pool area with three pools and three hot tubs, as well as a bar. The hotel and rooms are very clean and adequate. There is a tv, but no mini-frig or microwave. I would have given this resort and casino 5 stars had the rooms had a refigerator, microwave and newer flat screen tv's. Being that they filed and emerged from bankruptcy in 2012, I can see why they are being careful and frugal with their hotel. That being said, the location is great. It's right next door to the Tropicana and right across the street from the MGM Grand. A traffic light allows easy crossing to the MGM Grand casino and access to the monorail, so you can get anywhere on the strip from this hotel. There is also city bus service at the Tropicana next door if you want to take buses, which are way cheaper than taxis ot the monorail. They are on-time and come by frequently. A taxi will cost you $10 plus tip to go around the corner to the airport, while the bus in $2. The Hooters restaurant inside the casino has a special (not on the menu) of 3 chicken tacos for $3 and they are really great. They come mild, medium or hot. The only way you know about this special is a sign at the front door of the casino, so you have to ask for it once inside the restaurant.. The rooms are inexpensive compared to other hotels on or near the strip, so it is a great value for a basic, clean room in a great location. There is a Prince review there called Purple Reign, which we did not see, but people we talked to in the casino loved it. It was not showing the nights we were there or we would have gone to see it. I suggest you give this hotel and casino a try if you like a budget, no frill but clean room. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean side towers overlooking the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I got such a great deal on this hotel. It is right across the street from MGM Grand. Which was walking distance to the strip. I liked the fact that there were two restaurants right downstairs near the casino. You could valet park for free, just tip the valet folks. The resort fee is about $10.00 a day additional.

The only downside is that there is no FREE WIFI. You have to connect computer to the Ethernet cord. Also, there is no real lounge because they WANT you gambling you money away in the casino.

There is a outdoor pool and a tatoo parlor named Sticks and Stones. I got a tattoo there and they Eddie was awesome and super fast which made it less painful.

I enjoyed the hotel overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived at Hooters and were greeted by nice friendly clerks, helped us get our free slot play and made suggestions on thing to do while we were there..

the rooms were bright and clean, beds were very very comfy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, VA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend trip to go to the NASCAR race. Good location just off the strip, easy walk to most of the other casinos.

Obviously an older hotel/casino that they remodeled to a Hooters atmosphere. Rooms were clean with no smokey smell, big difference from the casino floor. No frills, felt like a step back in time; small soaps, tube TV, small/thin towels.

Wouldn't bring my wife here for a trip but it was great for a bunch of guys going to the race. Based on all the NASCAR wear I saw on everyone in the hotel we weren't alone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I've stayed at Hooters before. The first times were ok. Nothing really to complain about, nothing to brag about either. This time around I'm noticing a slow slide.
Booked for four nights to attend a conference being held across the street at the MGM convention center. I booked it thru Hotels.com for about $33/night average which is comperable to someplace like the Super 8 on Koval. I wasn't expecting MGM quality. Heck, I've stayed at the Gold Spike off Freemont street back in the day. Certainly not a hotel snob at this price.
First off is the $9.95/day "resort" fee that isn't disclosed on Hotels.com or anywhere else. This covers the use of the pool/ gym and wired internet. This should be disclosed up front. after all, it's their standard charge. I get to my room and noticed the broken glass on the mirrored door for the closet. The room looks serviceable as long as you don't take more than a glancing look. If you do you notice the cracked tile in the bathroom. The toilet seat that has this strange reddish/orange stain worn into it. What appears to be cigarette burn holes in the carpet. A lamp that is so loose at the base it leans toward the bed. The drain plug in the bathroom tub appears to be from a different tub and just kinda sits in there. The chair that I'm currently sitting in is missing one of the braces at the legs so it acts as an almost rocking chair. I anticipate that it will break at the point where the legs meet the seat soon from the constant flexing. The TV decides to go to a red screen akin to a blue screen of death at random odd times leaving you with only the sound. The repair guy they sent up gave me the advice that I had already figured out. "Hit it on the side and it will go away...for a while." The one thing that I need to use from their "resort fee" is the internet. It's wired internet. I had to climb under the desk and fish out the cable from behind the TV. Plug it in and off you go. Except that you notice that it barely works. You have to keep trying pages until you finally get the Hooters login page. In a few hours when it doesn't work again you have to try to find a way to force that page again and relog in again. Even when you're logged in the speed is so stupendously horrible it can't load an entire facebook page. Change browsers, restart your computer, do whatever, it's a no go. Pick up your computer, go to the window and turn on your wifi. Select the free wifi from the Tropicana a block away to get better internet access.
In the end, it's a $33 hotel room. The people here have been nice. But it just feels like whoever owns the property isn't investing anything in maintaining these rooms. Maybe they will in the future but having stayed a few times I notice from the point you get off the elevator things look like they need a little more care. Each time I've been here it's been in the ocean tower. Maybe these are the rooms for hotels.com and others are nicer. These are just kinda pedestrian and I guess I expect a little more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

A group of us stayed here and the casino and pool are are great, but the rooms...don't expect nice. They need to be updated and the beds are really uncomfortable. The pool area is great during the day, but at night it never quits. Trust me, we are young and went out plenty and usually don't mind loud music, but we had been out in Vegas for 3 days before we moved to Hooter's and it was rough to have the pool blaring music so loud on a Sunday night so late. The food wasn't that good at the restaurant and my sister found hair in her salad. My advice: if you don't care about staying at a nice place and are looking to save $, this is just fine. We were ok with it because we are not in the room that much anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hooters Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooters Casino Hotel

Address: 115 East Tropicana Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hooters Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
696 Floridian style rooms with a great atmosphere. Amenities include premium cable, High Speed Internet (surcharge), 24 hour-room service, in-room safe, comfortable beds, duvet comforters, in-rooms movies (surcharge), iron & ironing board, coffeemaker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hooters Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hooters Las Vegas
Hooters Hotel Las Vegas
Hooters Hotel Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooters Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.