We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Oasis near the actual Strip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Save Saved
You added South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183 (Enterprise)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 272 hotels in Las Vegas
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Oasis near the actual Strip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Yes, the South Point is on the southernmost part of Las Vegas Blvd, but it's not "on the strip." Depending on what type of visit you are planning in Las Vegas, this may be a plus rather than a minus. First of all, you get larger rooms than at most strip or downtown casinos. In addition, the amenities at South Point are equal to those at most of the fancy guys further north on the Blvd. So, really, if location is the only thing standing in your way, I suggest you forget about being "on the strip." South Point has a strip shuttle that will take you up to the craziness. You can also take a city bus further north to downtown.

The pool here is really nice. The hot tub is huge, yet intimate, with a donut shape and little private niches. Adults can unwind in peace and quiet, because not only is there a sign posting an age requirement, the lifeguard actually comes over periodically to make sure it is enforced. No children in the hot tub! They have free reign of the main pool AND a darling kiddie pool. The casino also has a movie theater and bowling alley as well as a food court with Seattle's Best, and ice cream parlor and Steak N' Shake!!! Families will love this place, but so will couples and groups of friends. Sign up for a Club Card for Buffet and drink specials during your visit.

South Point is a locals' favorite, and we should know, after all.

Room Tip: They have smoking and non-smoking rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest and for considering us to be a family Oasis. We want you to know that your feedback is very important to us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience. Our Jacuzzi area was designed to be a relaxing place for the adults since we didn’t have an area at our pool that adults could go to and just take it easy and unwind. We are glad you enjoyed the Jacuzzi and we appreciate the comments. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,365
    1,268
    326
    144
    93
See reviews for
642
1165
231
410
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a one night stop over in Las Vegas and booked South Point for a very reasonable $50 through Priceline. The room was so spacious, I've never seen a hotel room that big before in my life! We had a room with 2 queen sized beds and there was easily 5 feet between the beds and another 10 feet between the bed and the window. The room was impeccably clean (and I'm fussy!) The bathroom setup was convenient with the toilet and bathtub separate from a long, mirrored makeup and hair area just outside with 2 electrical outlets.

The cafe in the casino was quick and reasonable for breakfast before our flight in the morning.

Valet and front desk check in were both very fast and friendly. There was a business office open 24 hours to print our boarding passes.

I wish we had longer to explore the rest of the hotel because it looks like there were lots of amenities that we would have loved.

The location is convenient for those traveling by air, but it's also only minutes from the strip. We drove and parked in the valet parking at Cesar's Palace while we explored the strip.

Room Tip: Near an elevator so you don't have to walk a long way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for choosing our property as your hotel of choice when visiting Las Vegas. We are happy to hear you think we are a great value. We appreciate your feedback and the 5 star rating. Your comments will be forwarded to those areas you mentioned. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Passed by this hotel for last few years along the 15 fwy heading to the strip and often wondered what it's like. Finally stayed there in August this year and have to say it was worth it. For comparison, we typically stay at hotels such as MGM and Mandalay Bay.

The hotel has an upscale feel to it, similar to its exterior, especially the 600 sq ft rooms (standard). The bathroom is well separated from the sleeping area so someone taking a shower does not wake up others sleeping. Room decor and furnishings was more than I expected.

We ate at the primarily prime rib restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the dinner. Prime rib was one of the best I've had compared to other vegas hotel restaurants, and also very reasonably priced. The restaurant is styled like a steakhouse, big booths and low lighting for ambience. Coupon book given at check-in had two free dessert coupons which we used. Dessert was better than your typical one as was the hand tossed salad done in front of the table.

We also tried the oyster bar in the casino and found the seafood to be fresh and tasty and very reasonably priced. (The bar advertised half price entrees during the afternoon.)

Big difference between this hotel and a typical strip hotel was the crowds. The casino was not congested like most strip casinos are (good and bad), so if you crave the excitement of a strip hotel, you might find this hotel lacking. The pool on a monday and tuesday was surprisingly quiet.

Wife and i didn't use the bowling alley or movie theater, but at least it's an option.

If you want to get away from the hotel, Maryland parkway is a short 5 minute drive where shopping and restaurants are plentiful.

Would stay here again without a second thought. Now I'm wondering why it took so long to try it out. This is more than just a value hotel. Excellent accommodations, wide availability of restaurants in the hotel, without the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Wow, thanks for the awesome review and the 5 star rating. We are so happy to hear your first visit us was an enjoyable experience. We appreciate the feedback and will forward your comments to those areas mentioned. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Utah
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Made the reservation on the Internet and was happy to get a room for a night on Labor Day weekend. Price was what I thought it would be.
Our room was nice. Starting to show slight wear on carpet
Check-in was good for the line that was in front of me.
Have stayed here before and will again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for choosing our property as your hotel of choice when visiting Las Vegas. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience and we appreciate the 5 star rating. We want you to know that we will forward your feedback to our management team. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. We were in town visiting family and aren't big gamblers. It's a large hotel with many decent food choices (breakfast, lunch and dinner). Being from the east coast, we (and our girls) enjoyed the bowling alley each morning. We found it fun to be bowling at 7:00 AM (10 AM eastern time) each day. The rooms are nice and ours had a great view of the strip. Would definitely recommend this hotel to families. It was a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review and the 4 star rating. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit and we appreciate the feedback. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We heard about the Hotel/Casino and thought we would check it out and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and a nice size room. The help was great and accommodating. The casino is nice and layed out nicely. There is a lot of food places to choose from. We at at the Buffet which was good and the Mexican restaurant is excellent.
We didn't need to leave the casino and go elsewhere as there was plenty to do here. Movies, bowling and lots of slots. We would go here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property as your hotel of choice when visiting Las Vegas. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your first experience and we appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear you will plan a future trip and we look forward to serving you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times, and enjoyed it! The casino is large, and they have a great area for a large venue as well as a smaller one for Comedy Shows and such. A bowling alley, movie theaters, shops, pool, great eateries, and we loved the coffee shop! The rooms are spacious and clean, parking easy, and easy to get in and out, close to the freeway. It is too far to walk to the strip, but a very quick cab ride.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for being a valued guest and for your patronage. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience and we appreciate the feedback. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Las Vegas
#60 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Venere, Vegas.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.