We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good for the Lungs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa to your Saves list
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183 (Enterprise)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Trip Advisor Promotion
Ranked #60 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Flagstaff, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Good for the Lungs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent one night in this place on our way back from clean mountain air and the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. We just wanted a quick stop with amenities and it did provide that. The room was spacious and nice and the place has its own movie theaters and bowling alley. The price was right but remember that they can add a fee for "amenities" such as wi-fi, health club and other stuff you may not use. However, I would not stay here again because of the smell - very smoky and places that didn't smell like smoke smelled like air freshener in their attempt to cover the smoke. I have now heard from others that they will not go there for the same reason. We wanted to stay off of "the strip" but there are other (hopefully healthier) options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest and for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate the 4 star rating and the compliments on our guest room. We want you to know that we will forward this on to our management team and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We hope this will not deter you from a future visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    1,516
    412
    156
    116
See reviews for
818
1,404
270
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This year is the 2nd time I have stayed at South Point Hotel and Casino. This hotel is beautiful inside and out. It's a very clean hotel. The room price are very good compared to the prices on the strip. The food is great and fresh and is a good price also. This hotel is only 10 minutes south by car from the famous strip. They offer a pass for $8.00 a day to use there shuttle that stops at 3 different hotels on the strip. The pool is great because only the guests staying at that hotel can go in it, unlike the strip anyone can go in any pool just pay $25.00 except Mandalay Bay. I find the food and drinks are very reasonable compared to the strip. My husband I went to the strip a few times, and did notice the high prices there for food and drinks. I would recommend everybody stay at this hotel. They also have security there. Which also means at night when people decide to go to bed they check to see if you have a hotel card. Because people who are not guests are not to be upstairs. I feel very safe in that hotel knowing there is security and police. I never seen that on the strip. They also have a office and post office box in the hotel so you can send letters etc. if you need to. I had a great time and relaxing time. They also have special offers if you sign up for emails. Also, when you check in at the south point you also get a fun book which includes coupons and free drinks. I have never seen that at the strip. The rooms are very clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. This is a children friendly hotel also. I will go again to Las Vegas and I will stay again in the Excellent and beautiful Hotel South Point Las Vegas.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Wow, thanks for the really awesome review of our property and staff!! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your second stay and we appreciate all the feedback. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotels are free but the fees are 28 bucks.Room are nice and cheap.So much children in the pool at night and daytime.I didn't like the rooms but my family did.The elevators were Otis.Old rooms but okay.Its better if u stay in a hotel on a Strip like Bellagio and Aria and more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of the South Point. We appreciate you taking the time to rate us and we are sorry to hear we didn’t meet your overall expectations. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We go to Las Vegas each November in connection with the West Coast Pipe Show, a convention of tobacco pipe collectors. In 2010 and 2011, we stayed at the host hotel, the Palace Station on Sahara at Interstate 15. Although the Palace Station had the advantage of allowing us to walk to the meeting room where the show is conducted, we felt we weren't getting commensurate value for our room rate. So, we decided to look elsewhere and finally selected the South Point last November. My wife and her girl friends had stayed there previously and enjoyed their stay there, so it was a known commodity to my wife at least. Best of all, it was less expensive than the Palace Station and, in any event, offered more value even if the rate had been identical to the Palace Station. To say the hotel is VAST would be an understatement! It was a loooong walk from the parking lot to the lobby and hotel elevators. But there was a plethora of restaurants to choose from (we ate there each night) and there was a movie theater that we attended as well. The staff was friendly and helpful, which was needed given our unfamiliarity with the layout of the hotel. We are now confirmed fans of the hotel and have already booked our room for this coming November's pipe show, utilizing a special rate which didn't even require prepayment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest and for the compliments on our property and staff. Your feedback is very important to us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for making the South Point your place to stay and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way back from California. Knew it was on Las Vegas Blvd, but not by other hotels which suited our plans fine. Nice rooms, comfortable beds, great service, nice variety of restaurants. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for the great review of our property and the 4 star rating. We really do appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your first stay. We hope to be your hotel of choice and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First stay at a Vegas hotel. Interesting experience. This hotel is HUGE but it seems small by Vegas standards. It's a looooooong walk through the smokey casino to get to the elevator. The room itself was massive and very clean. The sign at registration warns of an additional $14 "resort fee" for Wifi, etc, so add that to your room cost (it doesn't matter if you don't use Wifi, etc).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property as your hotel of choice when visiting Las Vegas. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the compliments on our guest room. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Not extravagant like other Vegas hotels but clean. Casino was as good as others. Not close to the other hotels so cab fares should be part of your budget. The pool is beautiful. Overall it was a fun casino.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operaitons at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for being a valued guest and for the 4 star rating. Your feedback is very important to us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#16 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Vegas.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.