We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa to your Saves list
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183 (Enterprise)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Trip Advisor Promotion
Ranked #60 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
fort mohave, az
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

we stayed at hotel 4/25/2013 for business for the first time. Only didnt have time to explore whole hotel. room was very good mattress was comfy i actually slept. I thought room was very clean! Has free garage parking they advertise a free shuttle to airport
And the TI resort, and a few others. hotel has several restaurants different ethnic backgrounds. We ate at the deli and did the buffet the deli was very good! Buffet good also. Your given a discount booklet for food if you join there card club.we are seniors, but saw several younger people and business conventions

Room Tip: Non smoking near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback and for the 4 star rating. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit and were pleased with the service you received. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    1,516
    412
    156
    116
See reviews for
818
1,403
270
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Now the South Point is not Caesars Palace (nor does it aim to be), it is a great hotel for gambling, eating, drinking and hanging out with the guys. I would not recommend it for the romantic getaway with your wife. However if you are looking for a place to stay and blow off some steam where they still have $5 tables, then this is the place. The rooms are very inexpensive and clean. The pool area is nice and there is a bar and snack area. Inside there is plenty of gaming space, a theatre, a bowling alley, arcade, several restaurants (and even a Steak And Shake). Parking is easy and accessible. Overall you can’t beat it and it is only 10 minutes from the strip. Have stayed there many times and will do so again.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room on a higher floor to avoid the view of the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for the great review of our property and the 4 star rating. We appreciate your continued patronage and appreciate the great feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed another visit with us. We LOVE you too and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

It is MILES from the strip. $20-25 cab ride from the strip and you definitely need a car. It is very much a 70s looking hotel. It is clean, but it is not beautiful in any regard, SPECIALLY for Vegas!! Staff was courteous but not particularly friendly. Lots of retirees. Not a place for a young couple (30s). Room was clean but again, not anything to it. The view was horrendous - roof top - and I tried 2 different rooms before I gave up completely and went to Luxor, where I was MUCH happier - it's close to everything, staff was AWESOME and a MUCH better value for the money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest and for taking the time to rate our property. Your feedback is very important to us and we want you to know that the comments we receive are taken very seriously and will be addressed with our management team. We are sorry your stay was not an enjoyable experience and we do hope you will reconsider a future visit with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My brother and myself stay at South Point from Apr.12 to and 19 and had a great time.Check in was fast and easy.Ammeneties were great as well as the restaurants were very good.Alot of people complained about cigarette odor,there wasn't any.It's a great place and a good alternative to the strip properties.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for choosing our property as your hotel of choice and for the 5 star rating. We are happy to hear you both enjoyed your stay. We want you to know that your feedback is very important to us. It really is our please to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We've stayed at South Point on two separate occasions, both times choosing entertainment/ room packages which proved to be good deals both times.

South Point is a little out of the way but not too far. The location shouldn't keep you from booking here because, with a little removal from a central location, a guest gets good deals on food and drink that we didn't find when we last stayed on The Strip.

Rooms are pleasant, spacious, comfortable, and decently equipped. including large bathrooms. Our first room this time faced a concrete wall, but a call to the desk resulted in a room with a better view at no extra charge. I think that the hotel should put guests in our first room only if the place is filled to capacity, or they really dislike someone, or the guest has serious vision impairment.

One thing I appreciated was that the path from the front entrance to the elevators was a simple straight line. Those who have stayed in some other hotel casinos know that this is an exception.

The pool area was clean and comfortable and the pool was usable even in early spring. Lots of loungers, and choices of sun or shade too.

We'll likely book here again as we liked the services, rooms, and prices across the board.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for the really great rating on our property. We appreciate all the feedback you provided and will address this with our Management Team. We are happy to hear you would book a third visit with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the South Point for the last handful of trips to Vegas, and we are NEVER disappointed. With hotels on "The Strip" anywhere between $125 - $200 and up, staying at a high-quality hotel like South Point for anywhere from $49 - $89 per night is a supreme bargain. The hotel is 10 miles down Las Vegas Blvd from the Strip, but if you have a rental car, it's truly no big deal to go that distance, and in exchange, your $ is not tied up on your accommodations, but rather, it's freed up to spend on all the OTHER things that Vegas has to offer.

Rooms are clean, attractively decorated, spacious, with flat-screen tv and many also have great views. As an actual resort hotel, it is huge and offers many onsite amenities that make it very family-friendly. Besides on-premises gambling, there are also several restaurants worth eating in, including a nice steakhouse, as well as a nice gift shop, a movie theater, bowling lanes, and venues for shows. Besides celebrity shows, they also have many equestrian events there.

One always thinks of "The Strip" when going to Vegas, and staying at the Venetian or Bellagio is a great thing to do ONCE for the experience, but staying on the strip comes at a steep price, so unless it's a honeymoon trip, stick with the South Point. Your wallet will be VERY happy you did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks being a valued guest and for all the feedback you provided. We are happy to hear you enjoyed another visit with us and we will forward this on to our Management Team. Thanks again for the 4 star rating and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed at the South Point 5 times, each time is wonderful. There are a few blunders here and there, but nothing to dock points away. I think the rooms are very spacious and clean. There are no refrigerators or microwaves, but since you're in a 24 hour casino, food is available any time of day. The atmosphere is a little different from the strip, meaning the locals come here, so there is no need to dress up, it has a more relaxed feel to it.
Many restaurants to choose from with an overall friendly and helpful staff. I deducted 1 star for not including a microwave or fridge in the room and having inconsistent customer service at the front desk and valet. I would highly recommend this place for anyone visiting in need of a spacious room and a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Wow, thanks for the great review of our property and for your continued patronage. We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your experienced. It really is our please to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#16 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Vegas.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.