We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa to your Saves list
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183 (Enterprise)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Trip Advisor Promotion
Ranked #64 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I came to Vegas for a three day holiday weekend. Because it was a holiday weekend, we expected to pay higher than the typical premium weekend rates. South point was a nice alternative to the extremely high prices on the Strip.

We arrived around 9pm on a Friday and check-in took less than 10 minutes. The Deluxe King room was large and clean with typical hotel furnishings.

The casino had a nice range of tables and slots. Poker room doesn't get much action though. The casino itself wasn't any more smoky nor any less smoky that other casinos I've visited.

The Fun Book gives some nice discounts if you are planning to take your meals in the hotel, but the eateries here are not overpriced even without the discount.

Overall we had an excellent experience. But excellent doesn't mean perfect. What really makes a property stand out for me are the staff. And this is where South Point doesn't make the grade. Checkin was speedy, but very mechanical. No smile to be seen. No conversation, just scripted sign here, hit this button. Not even an "Enjoy Your Stay."

Dealers were on the whole very dour and some never cracked a smile no matter how much fun the table wanted to create. The entertaining dealer was the exception, but this is the dealer that got me tips.

This property would have gotten an easy five had the staff been even the slightest bit warm and welcoming, but this was the exception rather than the rule.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest and for considering us to be quiet, clean and affordable. Your feedback is very important and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience. We want to assure you that this is not the type of guest service we train our staff for. Our mission here at the South Point is to provide the best possible service to our guests, and anything short of that is unacceptable. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconveniences you experienced. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    1,410
    382
    144
    106
See reviews for
760
1,316
255
466
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends at the end of January. We all liked the simplicity of the hotel. No complications finding restaurants or locating your party in the hotel. Easy self- parking and valet. Good access to the highway, the airport and the strip. The room was clean and spacious. Nothing fancy and over the top but quite clean and comfortable. The beds were extremely comfortable. We were on the 22nd floor with a mountain view room...really nice. The $8/day shuttle was reasonable, considering you could go back and forth to the strip for the whole day. One thing to note is that the shuttle drop off points are at the beginning (Excalibur) the middle (Aria) and the end (Treasure island) strip. So it helps to plan your day so you would be at the closest pick up destination when you want to return to the hotel. The shuttles were very punctual and the drivers are courteous and friendly. The shuttle to and from the airport has to be reserved since they do not run on a continuous schedule all day. We found that the price of the food was reasonable at the Garden Buffet (lots of great choices), Shakes and Steak (fabulous burgers) as well as the El Coronado- when compared to other restaurants on the strip. There is smoke in the casino but then which casino in Vegas does not have smoke! Some of the slots are older games but the point is to win on a slot! I liked the fact that the casino is not freezing like some others. Unfortunately, I never made it to the cinema or bowling but it was nice knowing that these activities were available if the weather is not nice to walk around on the strip. Good weather is imperative to walking around on the strip. I rented a car for one day and it turned out that getting back to the car rental was one of the simplest I have ever encountered. Just a straight drive back. This hotel is on the same street as the big name hotels on the strip and it is a straight drive there if you don't take the highway. I would suggest staying on Las Vegas Blvd. especially if you go at night. You get a great intro to the strip( you pass the 'Welcome to Las Vegas' sign-great for pictures). We did this when going from the hotel down to Fremont Street. The Premium outlet mall for shopping is about a five minutes drive. All in all I would say that if you don't mind not being in the heart of the action this hotel offers a lot for the price. We had a great time and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest and for the 4 star rating! Your feedback is very important to us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your total experience. We appreciate all the compliments and we want you to know that we sent it to those areas mentioned. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the South Point for 7 nights from 29th December 2012. Arrived to find a very large car park with very little distance to walk. Check in was a breeze, first impressions were excellent, everything was well signposted, First time we have stayed so far off strip but can now appreciate the term a 'local casino'. Slots seemed to be looser than on the strip, food was well priced and excellent. We stayed in a standard king room and the place was huge, had a nice comfy sofa also. Tried the bowling and the movie theatre whilst we were there, both were great fun. Would definately return here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Wow, thanks for the awesome review of our property and the 5 star rating! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we sent it to our management team. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here courtesy of British Airways.
Avoid unless you get it for about fifty bucks or less. Slow check in. Rank damp smoky smell in casino and rooms. Rooms old and need work. Nothing really to recommend it

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are sorry your flight was cancelled and your first stay with us was not an enjoyable experience. We do change our HVAC filters on a regular basis to keep the air continuously circulated and we want you to know that this was sent to our management team. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and hope you would reconsider a future visit with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

this was a wonderful place to stay while visiting for one night. fair priced and very clean, the service was wonderful and if you wish they offer places to lose your money. you will feel safe here if traveling alone as I was. lots to do as they offer many activities

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest. We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear you had an excellent say. We want you to know that we forwarded your compliments to our management team. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I travel to Vegas 5-6 times a year and for the first time this trip decided to stay off the strip. I reserved a suite at South Point. The "suite" that I was given is on the 2nd floor with a view of the yellow parking garage wall and the hotel air conditioning unit just outside my window (Think low humm all the 24 hours a day). I paid a premium for this?? Sparse dated decor and a certain equestrian odor is the theme of the hotel. I could have stayed in a beautiful suite on the strip for the same price. If you are going to stay here, bring your horses and do NOT pay for the suites.

Room Tip: Dont pay for the suite. You will be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are sorry to hear your first visit with us was not an enjoyable experience. Your feedback is very important to us and we have forwarded this to our management team. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences you experienced. We hope you would reconsider a future stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a softball tournament. Rooms were very good - very large, clean, and comfortable. Lots of things to do for the kids-bowling alley, arcade, movie theater, etc. Cheaper gambling like nickel slots and $5 blackjack tables. Expensive food but did find very good cheap and quick food at the Del Mar Deli near the sports book. Overall good place

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest and for the feedback you provided. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience. We appreciate the compliments on our guest rooms and will forward this to our management team. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#27 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Vegas.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.