We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa to your Saves list
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183 (Enterprise)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Trip Advisor Promotion
Ranked #64 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Wirral
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights last year, before catching the flight home, Fantastic rooms, spacious and clean, good choice of places to eat. A regular shuttle bus takes you into the strip, with a shuttle bus to the airport too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Wow, thanks for such a great review of our property. We are glad to hear you say we are a fantastic hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the compliments and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    1,409
    382
    144
    106
See reviews for
760
1,315
255
466
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Check-in was quick; staff were reasonably friendly & professional. The room was spacious, with a very comfortable bed and was reasonably cleaned. Free wi-fi was provided. Housekeeping lady was quite nice; she provided us with more extra coffee. We stayed for two nights for the price of one night stay. Excellent stay & price was right! They provided us with a late check-out time which was awesome. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for the great review and the 4 star rating. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your first experience. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the compliments on our property and staff. We want you to know that we will forward them on to the departments you mentioned. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Iowa
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Check in was slow. They give out a coupon book at check in and tell you that you need a players card to use the coupons. Got a players card and had no trouble using some of them but then a bartender advises me that they cannot accept coupons without the whole coupon book?
The racebook looks nice but it's a "locals" place. Many spots are reserved and nobody ever shows to sit there. Poorly run. By locals, I guess "inhabitant" would be more accurate.
They could use new felts on the tables in the casino. Getting tatty.
The rooms are nice but without a decent casino it's really not worth it to stay here when there are so many nice casinos in Vegas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We want you to know that this was sent to our management team to be addressed and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We hope this will not deter you from a future visiting with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at the South Point the last three years during the NFR. I would just to say that we have been very pleased with everything about the hotel. I think the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I will say the view leaves a lot to be desired. We were looking at the top of the casino. We are not big gamblers but there seemed to be an extraordiany amount of people at the tables. Something must be working.
The Silverton Steak House, the Cafe, the Buffet, the Mexican Resturant and Steak and Shake were all very good. My only disappointment was the Cafe quit serving the coffee cake. I think that was a mistake. Everyone always enjoyed that extra treat.
Beds were great, very clean. I can't say anything bad about it.
Since we are horse people I really enjoyed being able to go to the arena and watch whatever event was going on at the time. The equistrian facility is top notch. I hope my husband is there roping in 2013. It is very easy to get to the airport and the rental car return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Wow, thanks for the awesome review of our property and the 5 star rating. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your loyalty to our property. We want you to know that we forwarded your feedback to those areas mentioned and we do hope you and your husband are here for the 2013 roping coming up. Thanks for making the South Point your place to stay and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My friend and her two young-adult daughters visited from California Christmas day and stayed two nghts at South Point. I also stayed with them. Accomodations were very comfortable and clean. My friend had a handicapped room and the bathroom was huge. There was so much to do, nobody got bored. The girls saw movies, played Bingo, went bowling and visited the Equestrian Center and we all loved the delicious food choices at the buffet. My friend received half-off coupons for the buffet, which turned out to be extremely reasonable, considering it was Christmas and all the buffets are sky high. The line moved quickly. Casino employees do their utmost to be friendly and helpful. We even had a supervisor bring us drinks when a cocktail server wasn't around. My friend played a video poker machine that kept on giving, in the spirit of the holiday season. She left South Point over $700 ahead! I'm a local and go there a lot. I especially like the Thursday senior slot tournaments. During the holidays, the hotel serves free donuts and coffee to players. I love this place!

Room Tip: Ours had a beautiful view of the pool and cabana area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your last visit with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experiences. We want you to know that we forwarded your feedback to those areas mentioned and we appreciate the compliments. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is definitely not a luxury property. The first thing I noticed was how smoky it was. Naturally, in Las Vegas you expect casinos to have a level of smoke, but this was intense. The overall quality of the hotel was just average. If you are on a tight budget and want a large property with all the usual bells and whistles, this might be the place for you. However, for a few dollars more (wekday rate) I chose to move to the Mandalay Bay and my overall mood and sinuses improved dramatically.
In terms of gambling, we felt the machines were tight in comparison to our usual choice The Golden Nugget.
A long line for the bufft and just average food at the seafood counter left me unimpressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for being a guest and for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is very important to us and we want you to know that our HVAC filters are changed out on a regular basis. We do take all comments very seriously and have forwarded this to our management team. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and hope this will not deter you from a future visit with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fair Poker room .. plenty of local players ... good comps per hr ... located in a good area ... good sports coverage ... friendly regulars and staff ... lots of free parking ... hotel seems very clean ...

Room Tip: mid day play is fair
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of the South Point. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience and we appreciate the compliments. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#27 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vegas.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.