We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa to your Saves list
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183 (Enterprise)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Trip Advisor Promotion
Ranked #60 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elkhart, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at South Point in the last several years. Rooms are very clean, lots of amenities and very friendly staff. You are off the strip, but we had a rental car and were able to get to where we needed to go easily. Very reasonable price also. We also enjoyed the buffet. Half price with club card and there was also a coupon in the book they gave us on check-in for half off of that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    1,517
    412
    156
    116
See reviews for
819
1,404
270
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed there 3 times during my visits in Las Vegas. Hotel offers exceptional value for a reasonable price. Rooms are huge and very comfortable. The hotel is located a bit off the street so you will need a car or a shuttle to get there. There is a huge parking area in fornt of the hotel but it gets crowded sometimes. Pool area was nice, food was OK too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

A perfect location, on the strip, near everything, but no parking or overcrowding problems. The valets at the entrance went out their way to be helpful. Check in may be the smoothest ever. The room was great with plenty of room with a king size bed, sitting area and table. Bathroom had a separate area for tub and toilet. The mattress was almost as good as home, much better than the upper end hotels we have stayed in. The only complaint and it's more of a suggestion, install better shower heads, add a mini frig and supply more than 2 pillows. Housekeeping was very prompt when we requested extra pillows. Best of all the room was "quiet". The buffet was one of the best in Vegas. Plenty of fresh and tasty choices. This was our 4th stay at South Pointe, we will not consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our second stay at South Point. The last one was a several years ago. The room rates have gone up since then, but this is still a bargain in Las Vegas, but not quite the deal it was then. It was a lot busier this time with a crazy long line at the registration/valet parking area, so we parked in self-parking which was also really crowded and a long walk with our luggage. The room was fine, but I think after the ordeal of parking & checking in, we were a little less enthusiastic. But it is a decent hotel room that is clean and fairly comfortable and away from the strip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Always look forward to our stays at South Point just with the slightest hesitation. The rooms are well maintained. Its a self supporting oasis with things to do including the movie theater.

Check in was fast and I had the same agent as my last 2 visits. I used my UPGRADE method: reserving the absolutely cheapest room, handing my ID, credit card with a twenty dollar bill folded between them but showing. When asked about room type or opportunity arises, I mention the floor, area and bed type saying "I know your busy but do you happen to have a room..... and state what i want.

If your in a hotel and they push the money back leave it where they push it. Still ask for a certain room type, ( if u dont know ask for "something nice" ) Then when given the room key packet push it back toward them "thats for you thanks SO much")

My only complain is that the food here is just average. nothing remarkable. I hear Michaels Gourmet room is great at 250.00 a head but Id rather go to Guy Savoy. Coffee shop had special with old vegas pricing from Midnight to 6am. The "specials" are ok. The Italian I found to be not good, The Prime Rib was good but I was also with a fun group.

They do aggressive promotions if you sign up with the players club so be sure to do that even if you dont gamble. The property has a (paid) shuttle service that takes you to and from the strip. They have now added FREE internet! a real plus for me since hot spots are weak in this area


* * If you find this helpful please click helpful so I know if im being coherent :-) Thanks! *

Room Tip: non view rooms on low floors are just a few inches from a cement wall. read upgrade technique in rev...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the South Point twice last month during our business trips. We were enticed by the rates and the reviews. Our room was ample, clean, quiet, and bed was comfortable. Loved that it's out of the busy strip, specially if you come during the weekend, easy in and out parking, easy access to freeway. Had their buffet one of the nights and with the coupon book it was 1/2 price, good for the value. They have a bowling alley, arcade, and movie theater, making it great for families traveling with children. Casino was clean and waitresses were nice. Loved their after hours specials, specially the burgers with fries $3.50'sh at the Coronado Cafe. Great stay, will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, usually available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at the South Point over Thanksgiving 2012 (unexpectedly) and my wife and I were quite pleased with this hotel. Easy access to and from the interstate. Check in and upgrading was as easy as could be thanks to an obviously well trained staff. The room was very clean and had a great view. I was amazed at the size of this property and the number of entertainment venues available which included movie theaters and bowling. I lost count of how many different restaurants were in the hotel, but there was definitely something for everyone. And the restaurants we ate in were excellent. Once again, I must give credit to the staff. Every employee I spoke to was polite and helpful. All of this at a very competitive room rate.

I believe the only quibble I had was the sheer size of the place. As a result, it takes a bit to walk from the garage parking to your hotel room. You have to walk all the way through the casino to the hotel elevators. So if you stay here and park, remember to try to take everything you need from the car in one trip.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to tip the desk clerk for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#16 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Vegas.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.