We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Save Saved
You added South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183 (Enterprise)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 271 hotels in Las Vegas
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Value Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the South Point twice last month during our business trips. We were enticed by the rates and the reviews. Our room was ample, clean, quiet, and bed was comfortable. Loved that it's out of the busy strip, specially if you come during the weekend, easy in and out parking, easy access to freeway. Had their buffet one of the nights and with the coupon book it was 1/2 price, good for the value. They have a bowling alley, arcade, and movie theater, making it great for families traveling with children. Casino was clean and waitresses were nice. Loved their after hours specials, specially the burgers with fries $3.50'sh at the Coronado Cafe. Great stay, will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, usually available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,428
    1,353
    359
    147
    102
See reviews for
695
1228
241
430
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at the South Point over Thanksgiving 2012 (unexpectedly) and my wife and I were quite pleased with this hotel. Easy access to and from the interstate. Check in and upgrading was as easy as could be thanks to an obviously well trained staff. The room was very clean and had a great view. I was amazed at the size of this property and the number of entertainment venues available which included movie theaters and bowling. I lost count of how many different restaurants were in the hotel, but there was definitely something for everyone. And the restaurants we ate in were excellent. Once again, I must give credit to the staff. Every employee I spoke to was polite and helpful. All of this at a very competitive room rate.

I believe the only quibble I had was the sheer size of the place. As a result, it takes a bit to walk from the garage parking to your hotel room. You have to walk all the way through the casino to the hotel elevators. So if you stay here and park, remember to try to take everything you need from the car in one trip.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to tip the desk clerk for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasilla
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights when arriving in Las Vegas, and will probably stay again for our last night. We travel to Vegas several times a year to visit relatives and don't really want the hustle, bustle, and expense of the strip. This is a nice, clean casino/hotel at a great price. If you have your own transportation, it makes it even better. It's especially nice on your last night before a flight out, as you don't have to worry about traffic when trying to get to the airport. The breakfast buffet is a great value. Bed is firm. Safe in the room with no fee, which you don't always find in Las Vegas hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at South Point for 2 nights during the Thanksgiving 2012 holiday and really enjoyed my stay! The hotel is huge! The room was nice & clean. I think the water in the pool could have been warmer, but my kids love it. The chose to stay in the pool over going bowling. The garden buffet has a good selection. We have to go back and spend more time. I went to the casino and pool, but didnt get a chance to bowl, go to the movies, or see the arena.

South Point is great for any type of group (families, couples, friends, travel groups). I have found my new "go to" hotel in Vegas. This will definitely be the place my family stays for our next trip to Vegas.

Room Tip: I think we will try to get a room that overlooks the pool next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at the South Point at the beginning and the end of my journey of the western National parks.

The hotel is located about a 10 minute drive to the Strip. The hotel offers a shuttle service for about $8/day to the Strip. There is also a local city bus (#117) that stops directly in front of the hotel (near valet) and can also get you to the Strip (transfer at Callaway golf to the Deuce or SDX for an even faster trip). Allow about an hour for the bus ride. The cost for the city bus is $6 for one trip, $8 for 24 hours, and $20 for a three day pass. ( The three day pass is only available at certain bus stop machines). The hotel also offers a free shuttle to the airport, just schedule with the front desk at least 24 hours in advance.

The Premium Outlets south is only 5 minutes from the hotel.

The check-in was very efficient and each registered guest is given a coupon book with several useful coupons inside from free drinks in the lobby bars to 50% off their buffets. Wi-fi is free in the lobby and $12.99/day for in-room access. Also, sign up for their player card 'The Card' for $3-$4 off the Garden buffet.

Rooms: Very large, firm comfortable beds, and well insulated rooms. Flat screen satelite TV's, two deks, in-room safe, hair dryers, radio/alarm clock. Housekeeping services were very good, consistent & friendly.

Restaurants: One Buffet area, other too numerous to mention cafes, restaurants and bars in the main lobby/casino area. $1 Bloody Marys' & mimosas' daily until 12noon at all their bars. Tequila drinks $2 from 5p-7p Wednesday through Sunday @ Miguel's Tequila bar. The Friday night happy hour, $2 for all drinks in all casino bars, was canceled during my stay. (See my other separate reviews of the Garden buffet and Coronado Cafe).

Entertainment/Facilities: The South Point offers a very expansive list of amenities. Free parking lot, an Arena/Equestrian Center, a massive 16 Theatre movie complex, an amazing 64 lane bowling alley, a large Bingo auditorium, a store/gift shop, a very relaxing pool/Jacuzzi with plenty of lawn chairs and towels. There is also a very nice Fitness center (daily use fee $15) and Spa ($30 fee), which fees may have increased since my stay as improvements were made to the facilities. The Business center has computers (billed per 15 minutes -$4.99- or per hour -$10.99) and expect to pay for any and all other requests.

My stay was extended for two days due to storm Sandy that hit the east coast. I checked with the front desk on several occasions and Holly was the only one that went above and beyond to give me the best deal possible. I thanked her for her efforts and left her some treats when I checked out.

This was the first time that I did not stay on the main part of the strip and was a little hesitant or concerned about the distance from the South Point to the Strip. I had a car for the majority of my stay, but I also relied on public transportation a couple of days and both worked out great, so don't worry about the location being much south of the strip.

Negative: You need to drag your luggage through the entire casino area just to get to the guest room floor elevators.

The services/amenities offered by South Point I would consider exceptional and would certainly recommend and stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Loved that it had a bowling alley, then a movie theater when the kids got tired if swimming. While the adults were gambling, the kids played in the arcade. What was the best deal was the super early bird menu at the Coronado Cafe. Before 6am breakfast was $3/4 per person. Making use of thehotel coupons also saved us some $.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Bought 2 rooms for a family vacation from a third party website. Front desk staff not very friendly. Rooms are okay: I don't know how they managed to get 4 star rating, but this is definitely NOT a 4-star hotel. When I pulled up to entrance at 10 PM there was no valet attendant. Front desk manager was curt when I asked for a non-smoking room for my kids. I would not recommend this hotel, it does not deserve 4-star rating, bottom line. There are lot of deals for this hotel on websites — there is a reason why it is cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#63 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.