We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as a hotel substitute, less so as a time share” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grand Chateau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Grand Chateau to your Saves list
Marriott's Grand Chateau
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Great as a hotel substitute, less so as a time share”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent three nights at the Grand Chateau and found that it worked well as a hotel substitute. It was close to the Central part of the Strip, so it was easy to walk to many of the large hotels, malls, and restaurants. The facility is modern and seems to be well maintained. The valet parking (the only option) worked very well. The Marketplace in the lobby sold a good selection of groceries (and the property offered van service to a local grocery store for guests seeking more extensive options).

As other reviewers have noted, the pool is quite small. We arrived late one afternoon on a weekday and had no problem finding lounge chairs, but I would imagine that it gets very crowded at peak times. The property must recognize this as they are building a much larger pool as part of their expansion. So, I would not stay here until the new pool is built if a nice pool area is critical to your enjoyment.

We weer close to the construction and could barely hear the noise, but if you are a light sleeper this is probably a concern for the next several months.

Where the property fell down in my estimation is where arguably they should have been strongest -- the time share amenities. We had a one bedroom unit, but the full sized fridge had no ice maker. When I asked at the desk, the staff person offered to send someone up to see if we had an ice maker. That sort of missed the point. He also referred me to an ice machine on a different floor. The dish washer was small and noisy. We couldn't figure out how to use the washer/dryer. Generally, we're pretty competent with such things. There was no guide in the room for using appliances which usually appears in time share units. None of these problems was critical for us as we were using the room more like a hotel room, but they could have been if we were expecting the usual time share experience or were staying for a longer period.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    530
    128
    44
    23
See reviews for
465
507
43
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Chateau over St. Pattys day and we could not have been happier. Friends of ours have a time share and this was the place so a bring group went not knowing anything about the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. Since there was no casino, the lobby was fairly calm. The rooms were very clean (we stayed in a suite) and the kitchenette was a nice touch. The store in the lobby had everything you could ever want to munch on, make a meal, have a beverage - adult or otherwise - and best of all we didn't have to pay the outrageous prices on the strip.

The location was excellent and we were able to walk to the strip within minutes. We frequented Twin Peaks bar and grill which was a lot of fun even for the girls (the name of the bar is a little play on words if you get my drift).

There was a small pool and bar on the roof of the hotel which had an amazing view of the city as well.

A really nice stay.

Room Tip: The regular rooms were quite a bit smaller than the suites and only a few dollars less so I'd in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry Hall, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We knew going in that there was construction going on and we were not concerned about the 7:00 start of noise since we are early risers. What we were not told was that on Thursday mornings the noise starts as 4:00 am. This was not a problem for most of the resort, but our room was first room on the floor next to the construction. What is even more aggravating is that, as an owner, this was room picked for us. We were sent an email asking what type of room we wanted. What we got was not one of our choices. Why bother sending an email if you cannot meet the request. Also, the Concierege was not well informed when it came to going outside of Vegas (Red Rocks, Hoover Dam, etc). They will sell you a tour, but we had a car and wanted to venture out on our own. The unit could also use a little freshening up...furniture was worn and grout needed to be cleaned. The gentlemen who worked the valet service were great at giving the best directions to help avoid traffic. Overall, not the best Marriott property we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask before you go to your room if it is near the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Grand Chateau, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay at Marriott's Grand Chateau was not the quality and service you expect and deserve from Marriott. All of the "older" resort villas will undergo renovation in the near future. If you would like someone to personally respond to your concerns, please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or via phone at 800 936 6824.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time staying at Grand Chateau. The first two were in winter months and we loved it. Great rooms, good location and quality service. The third time is not a charm. It was warm so we ventured to the rooftop pool. What we found was a small pool with many chairs to accommodate the many visitors. The towels were provided at entrance. After we settled on our chairs we were completely dis-satisfied. The sounds of screaming kids were so loud we could not hear our own conversations. There were groups of friends partying, which was not a problem. The problem was the glass bottles around the pool as well as in the pool. There was a couple who remained in the hot tub for the entire time. They were drinking beer and never left. One can only assume that you have to relieve yourself when drinking numerous beers. Needless to say we did not want to enter that hot tub.
There was never anyone supervising the pool area. Anything can go. This experience completely turned us off to this resort. I would prefer to stay at a resort with a nice pool and have maid service. No maid service was provided the entire week, unless you paid for it. This was an exchange through II. We always chose Marriott. This time was not a great experience.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Grand Chateau, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments so corrective action can be taken to ensure the problems you described at the pool do not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Forest, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 4/3-4/6 in a 2 bedroom. the rooms are beautiful & spacious complete with full kitchen and 2 bathrooms. It was six females and we slept comfortably...did not even use the 2nd queen sofabed. The staff is friendly and our room was cleaned daily. The hotel is like 1-2 blocks off the strip. There is no restaurant or casino in this hotel. The price was good ($784) in comparison to other rooms of this quality on the strip. Although construction is going on, we did not hear it at all...we were in rooms 1206 & 1208.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the construction....we were in rooms 1206 &1208....didn't hear it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Grand Chateau. Now don't get me wrong, the location is great, in fact i was actually really pleased with it. However, it desperately needs a restaurant on site. (If your staying for just a few days you are not going to stock up on food). If you want breakfast or dinner you have to go out, there is no room service. The pool is on the 38th floor and isn't heated...it was actually closed one day because of gusting winds but that wasn't Marriotts fault. If you like TCM movie channel this site doesn't subscribe to it...in fact the TV is pretty limited. However, our apartment was actually very nice. A great tub and double shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had no problem with noise. Our view was over the "strip" and was stunning. Another point is that your car has to be valet parked, but you cannot call down and ask them to get it. You have to show your "ticket" and on average it was 5 to 10 mins for our car to appear. In conclusion a great place for a few days but you wouldn't take the kids there for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Currently always make sure your on a high floor with view of the "strip" otherwise you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in a great location. BUT they are in the middle of construction for their new tower. The website warns of this which is fair enough. What they fail to mention however, is that construction can start as early as 4.30 am. They promise to keep the noise to a minimum but I saw precious little evidence of that with loud hammering and drilling constantly from 5am.

I have to question the sanity of the person who decided it would be a good idea to allow construction to be undertaken in the middle of the night when guests would be asleep and I think their warnings should be far more explicit about what, exactly, the implications of their construction will be.

Room Tip: Ask for one as far away from the construction site as possible if you plan to sleep beyond 5am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Grand Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grand Chateau

Address: 75 East Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grand Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 732
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Grand Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grand Chateau Hotel Las Vegas
Marriotts Las Vegas
Marriotts Hotel Las Vegas
Marriott Las Vegas
Marriotts Grand Chateau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grand Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.