We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atomic Testing Museum

Atomic Testing Museum
755 East Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, NV 89119 (Paradise)
702 794 5151
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #108 of 560 attractions in Las Vegas
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum is devoted to the Nevada Test Site.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The National Atomic Testing Museum in Paradise, Nevada, documents the history of nuclear testing at the Nevada Test Site in the desert north of Las Vegas. The museum operates as an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution. Although I thought that my husband would enjoy this far more than myself, I was wrong! The museum is well laid out with many artifacts, the staff very knowledgeable....we were there for ages. Amazing to see how the world has changed over the decades. Highly recommend this while you are in Vegas.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    165
    51
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rainier, Oregon
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Area 51 debunked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The ATM is a recent addition to the Las Vegas scene, and an attempt to demystify and debunk many of the fears, rumors and misinformation about the role that nuclear weapons testing has played in Nevada and the world. It is a relatively small venue, but well-planned, with changing exhibits during the year (currently Area 51). The staff, directors and docents are all individuals who have worked at the Nevada Test Site, Yucca Mountain, or Area 51, so they know whereof they speak. A worthwhile place to visit while in southern Nevada.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“This is what happened in my backyard?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have lived in Las Vegas for 35 years. I remember them issuing the underground test warnings on the news, and never really thought about what it was they were doing. Wow, that was some serious stuff they were fooling around with so close to my home. The atomic testing museum is very informative and interesting. Look for a 2 for 1 coupon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Outstanding, and not just another Vegas roadside attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were killing time when we wandered into this museum, thinking it was probably another tacky tourist trap, but much to our surprise, it was outstanding! It's full of weird items from the 1950s including plenty of survival gear... "just in case." I had no idea that watching mushroom clouds rise from atomic blasts was a popular Las Vegas pastime a few decades ago. Did you?

There are photos of people standing around outside casinos and looking up, probably absorbing a heavy dose of radiation as part of the fun. There are also lots of film clips from the 1950s and a bunch of cool "push the button" exhibits that you'll like.

This museum is full of astonishing artifacts and photos. Plan on spending a couple of hours there at least.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very informative, well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The displays,exhibits, photographs, and videos were well displayed and informative. Certainly worth the 2 for 1 coupon. We went early in the morning when the museum opened...had the place to ourselves. Staff were helpful in answering questions and giving further details to exhibits. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atomic Testing Museum also viewed

 

Been to Atomic Testing Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atomic Testing Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.