We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap prices, cheap food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ellis Island Restaurant

Ellis Island Restaurant
4178 Koval Ln, Las Vegas, NV 89109
(702) 733-8901
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 3,959 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Arnprior, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap prices, cheap food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

You can certainly get good deals on food at the Ellis Island restaurant, but you get what you pay for. My "cheese" omelet was covered in some kind of processed cheese that upset my stomach for the entire day. Lunch and dinner are better bets here. The half-pound burger is good and well-priced.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    727
    575
    125
    47
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very Smokey. Not Happy.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Ordered the no-carb chicken with a salad, I hope I can taste the food with all this cigarette smoke. Food arrive very hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had breakfast here when we stayed at the Flamingo. Walk was slightly dicey but not a big deal in the morning (at 7ish). Were seated promptly but service at the end was slightly slow for our cheque.

I had the pancakes ($3.99) and DH had the Steak and Eggs ($5.99). His Steak and Eggs were good from all account - the price was certainly right! My pancakes were VERY good for the price we paid - almost as good as the pricey pancake place near home we like to go to. They taste fresh and fluffy - don't believe it comes from a mix.

Best of all, we signed up for their Players Card and got $10 free slot play each. Unlike other casinoes offering free slot play, it didn't restrict us to certain machines. On the other hand, it's a small place so only a few machines to choose from. We won $20 here so breakfast was free :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Closed by Health department 60 demerit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Las Vegas, NV (KTNV) - Here's one we haven't come across since we began our Dirty Dining reports. This week's restaurant actually kicked health inspectors off their property. But, as Contact 13 Chief Investigator Darcy Spears reports, that didn't stop them from being shut down.

The pictures really do tell the story of Ellis Island restaurant's 60-demerit closure.

Parts of the eatery inside the Koval Lane casino looked like a scene from a slasher movie. Inspectors found excessive, old food debris caked on equipment and splashed-on walls, doors, ceilings -- just about everywhere they looked.

All the images make it hard to imagine what was actually clean.

And check out what health inspectors documented in their report.

They wrote, "During the inspection, the person in charge came to the table where inspectors were writing their report and told them they had to leave because Ellis Island was private property and inspectors were not allowed to be on their property."

That got restaurant management called into the District's version of the principal's office -- a "supervisory conference" with Health District higher-ups.

Before getting kicked out, inspectors documented multiple violations for lack of hand-washing.

They also found employees doing some illegal dumping of degreaser, grey water and garbage into the storm drain.

As for the food, the cottage cheese was supposed to be enjoyed by Oct. 6. But inspectors found it in the fridge three weeks later.

The red sauce on the pizza and some stew were also expired. And so was deli meat, which inspectors found coated with a white substance. The sour cream had a yellow substance on it, along with a crumbling texture and no date.

Other violations included employee clothes next to food and on equipment and a potato peeler sitting on top of someone's furry jacket.

Black growth in the ice machine caused it to be red-tagged and taken out of use.

Pans and other equipment were stacked as clean, but were actually caked with old food debris.

Dozens of soiled towels sat on cutting boards and other food contact surfaces. And clean towels were being stored in an oven with excessive, dried food debris.

"Due to the severe lack of food safety and regulation violations," the person in charge at Ellis Island was given a violation and told to get control of the staff, retrain them and inform them on proper food safety.

No one from Ellis Island would go on camera, but we spoke to the casino president on the phone. She said health inspectors came by the restaurant during their quarterly clean-out, which she pointed out they do in addition to regular daily cleaning.

She said they'd unplugged equipment and moved things for cleaning, but inspectors insisted on doing the inspection right then. She called them unreasonable and said the Health District isn't always right, noting that they were re-inspected and re-opened the very next morning with three demerits and an A grade.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“$8.99 steak and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I go to Ellis Island restraunt every time I am in Vegas. They have great house brews and their steak dinner comes with a beer. My potato was cooked well and my portion of steak was a decent size. One of my friends sent their steak back for being under cooked, but mine was medium just the way I like it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellis Island Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ellis Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellis Island Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.