We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayweather Fight Weekend Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delano Las Vegas

Save Saved
You added Delano Las Vegas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delano Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3940 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89119 (Formerly THEhotel at Mandalay Bay) (The Strip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
A TripAdvisor Member
“Mayweather Fight Weekend Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The city was exciting with lots of things going on surrounding the Mayweather fight. The walk from the Delano Hotel to the Mandalay Hotel was very short unlike the walk between the two Palms hotel towers.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
13
28
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We reserved a king room many weeks back at the Mandalay for two nights. When we went to check in they didn't have a king, so they offered to "upgrade us" to the new Delano next door. My boyfriend agreed to treat us, and I think they got a lot more money out of him. The room is fine. Not my taste - very modern and sparse, awful art, but a huge bathroom with nice amenities. It's a suite. I know this is common in Vegas but they charge 4$ per cup for the in room coffee maker, and $7 for a small bottle of water. Totally tacky. The bed was not that great, the linens were coarse and the mattress worn. The pillows are huge and lumpy. After the first night we called to ask for smaller pillows, and they brought up two more of the same ones! Someone else mentioned this, too, but we got treated like the unwelcome guests when they closed the lobby for a private "grand opening fashion show" our second night. When we heard it was a fashion show I asked the VIP staff in the lobby if we could attend because we have a women's clothing store. I showed her our business card. She acted like we weren't their kind of people, but gave me wristbands to invite us to the after-party that didn't start until 11pm. Later some guy called the room when I was napping to offer the same deal. Meanwhile, that night we were routed through the parking garage by a bunch of bouncers to get in and out of the hotel. Gee, thanks for making us feel special. Yes, and you can hear the bass bumping from the disco all night long in the room, too, on the 10th floor? Next time we will stick to the Mandalay. At least you know what you're in for, and its a much better deal.

Room Tip: Away from the airport side would be good. Not sure you can do anything about the bass bump from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the Delano at Mandalay Bay my most recent trip because they offered comp rooms and $600 in resort credit. Mandalay Bay is great because there are quite a choice of restaurants, shopping outlets, and gaming areas all at a decent walking distance. The standard rooms at the Delano will sleep 4 comfortably. The rooms are very clean and up to date unlike some nearby hotels. Service is quick and friendly. Will definitely plan on booking my next trip at the Delano again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, F
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently stayed at the new Delano resort at Mandalay Bay. This was formally The Hotel and a lot of work has been done to convert this resort into the Delano. It was amazing how much they've morphed the hotel and it looks really good. The rooms are very spacious with a separate bedroom from the living room. The bathroom is very large and there is another half bath near the front door. The resort was very clean and it was clear the staff was taking pride in their Resort. I think the only drawback in the room was that the storage closet was tiny and there were no dresser drawers to store anything in. I hope they fix this in the next rehab several years down the road. It is close to the airport for a minimal commute. It's also linked to Luxor and Excalibar without having to go outside making it easy to make your way down the strip.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rebranding of the old "The hotel" part of Mandalay Bay. All new refurbished rooms. Very modern decor, quiet rooms. Loved the separate entrance and just adjacent to casino and shops. Check in very efficient, and no problems during our stay. Their 'cafe' near the lobby needs more staff in the morning as there were long lines due to just one employee working both as cashier and barista. (there was another employee standing there watch other co worker do all the work- maybe new employee learning?). I would also state that it is true the pillows are definitely 'hard' and not to my wifes' liking, but I loved them. I heard from hotel staff that you will either love them or hate them. We easily had housekeeping bring us 'softer" pillows, so just ask for soft pillows if the standard pillows not to your liking. Otherwise we loved our three day stay and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel was completely redone and there is something to be said for new carpet smell. The bed was very comfortable and the room is interesting with a mid-century modern understated look. The hotel has a boutique feel which is both cozy and trendy. It's not super luxurious but simply comfortable. Compared to Vdara or Aria for example, Delano lacks pizzazz. On the bright side, the hallways are decorated like art galleries, the breakfast/lunch restaurant has very good food, and you are near Mix Restaurant and the Michael Jackson show--both very highly recommended. Our room had two toilets, a small but practical detail. I wish the bathroom had towel-bars, but it's another practical detail. The spa is beautifully designed but we ended going to the Mandalay Bay spa because it is far more comfortable with much better service. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We can't believe the stay we had a week ago at the Delano. We have stayed previously at 'The Hotel' on no less than 7 occasions, we have previously stayed at other hotels in Las Vegas but since we found
'The Hotel' we loved it so much that we always returned despite there being other gorgeous hotels to stay in, but unfortunately no more!! Where do you start, when there were so many things that were wrong with the new 'Delano'. Firstly the room, we were blinded as we opened the door, it's like a room for a businessman with no frills. Not welcoming in the least, too sparse, too clinical and too 'ikea'. The wardrobe is a joke and what's with the minuscule rail which runs the wrong way, my wife was unable to hang her dresses up as it overhangs the safe which is situated at the bottom of wardrobe, very inconvenient. When we returned the first night after a lovely meal to find the linens on the bed had a stain on it. Unacceptable!! But we were so tired we decided to complain in the morning. The desk staff were very apologetic and adjusted our bill accordingly, but they came to know us after our 6 night stay as we were complaining every day, just about or it certainly felt like it.

On another occasion we returned to our room to freshen up quickly as we had a show booking to find no towels in our room, room had been cleaned but when you are in a hurry a half hour wait for towels is very irritating, we also had another occasion when there was only one towel in our room but fortunately we hijacked a housemaid in the corridor who happily obliged with more towels. This is not good!! The bed was wonderful but the pillows were not, very hard, hard enough to wake up with a headache. We also had problems with our air conditioning. It was so noisy it sounded like an aeroplane!! We had to turn it off because of the noise so of course we were unable to sleep because of the heat. Reported this to front desk who assured us this would be fixed. The next night was ok but the following night the aeroplane was back.
The gaming staff in the Mandalay bay were downright rude and unfriendly. As mentioned by another trip advisor reviewer, get a grip MGM. There is a lot of competition out there and we will definitely not return to 'The 'Delano' when we return to Las Vegas.
On a positive note the Cirque du Soleil Michael Jackson show was absolutely incredible, we'll worth seeing.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delano Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano Las Vegas

Address: 3940 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89119 (Formerly THEhotel at Mandalay Bay)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano Las Vegas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchored by intimate yet energetic public spaces and sophisticated accommodations, the non-smoking, all-suite boutique hotel will appeal to the most discerning travelers from around the globe. At Delano Las Vegas, guests will discover a blend of personalized service and effortless luxury coupled with unexpected elements of individuality and high-concept design. "Delano guests will be wowed by the transformation of this very special destination," said Matthew Chilton, general manager of Delano Las Vegas. "Dynamic public spaces will serve as social hubs where guests will want to linger and socialize while the clean design of the suites will create a quiet escape." Blending eclectic details to create an atmosphere that is playful and filled with energy, the stylish public spaces will be highlighted by a completely redesigned lobby featuring three distinct social spaces - a unique coffee bar, sophisticated lounge and cafe concept. Upstairs and away from the action, Delano's 1,100 guest suites will provide a luxurious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Vegas.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Delano Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thehotel At Mandalay Bay Hotel Las Vegas
Mandalay Bay Hotel Las Vegas
Mandalay Bay Las Vegas
The Hotel At Mandalay Bay
Las Vegas Hotel Mandalay Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delano Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.