We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel but a few specific complaints...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 N. 3rd Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good quality hotel but a few specific complaints...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel is cool and in a good location but there were a few things that bug me:

- no doors on the showers (one of those open ones with just a half glass wall)-- it's FREEZING!
- the room doors SLAM shut if you don't hold them-- this is extremely annoying to be in your room hearing other people's door slam
- you can clearly hear the flushing toilets of the rooms around you

I still give the hotel a "very good" rating because of the quality and location-- if you're not in your room much, those things I listed aren't as bothersome. I'm just fascinated that any hotel designer wouldn't pay particular attention to making sure those things didn't happen.

Room Tip: If hallway noise bothers you, make sure you get a room at the far end of the hallway… helps a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan B, Director of Sales at Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear NYCJennifer,
Thank you for choosing Downtown Grand to host your recent stay! Your comments and suggestions are extremely valued and are important to us. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    317
    86
    34
    34
See reviews for
117
345
71
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I'll start off by saying that if you are there on vacation then this might be the place for you. But I was there on business and I would not recommend this place to someone who needs a good night sleep. My room, which was clean, was on the 15th floor over several great restaurants. when I arrived in my room at 9:00 pm you could hear the music playing from somewhere down stairs. My roommate who had been there for 2 nights previous informed me that this was nothing. There are live concerts (or maybe DJ's) that start at 10:00 and that she hasn't had a good night sleep since she got there. Long story short, it was 1:30 am before I was able to get to sleep and I even tried ear plugs. The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors talking and front doors slamming closed. I got maybe 4 hours sleep! I am scheduled to stay there for Market for a week at the end of July and I am mortified at the fact that I will not be able to do my job and work a 12 hour day + for 7 days if I stay there. I'm afraid the white fluffy towels and free parking will not compensate for the lack of sleep. This girl will be looking for an alternative even if I have to pay out of my own pocket. My suggestion is at least some better thicker windows.

Room Tip: You might want to try a room above the 15th floor or maybe a quieter side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy P, Vice President of Operations at Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear KGPatchett,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had a hard time getting sleep during your stay. Please know you can request a room that faces away from 3rd Street upon your next visit. These rooms are quieter.

Sincerely,

Jimmy Palmer
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This recently opened hotel in Downtown Vegas provides a slightly quieter alternative to the Fremont scene, yet is only one block away. The rooms are designed in a modern motif and color schemes that are different from your conventional hotel style. The rooms are comfortable and clean, although the shower configuration is somewhat odd, with only one half of the shower shielded from the rest of the bathroom by a glass divider. This leads to water spraying onto the bathroom floor and creating a somewhat dangerous situation for the unwary. Currently one of the better priced properties and well worth the lower end price tag. The staff is still going through some training so, don't expect the lightning fast service you might find in a more established hotel in Vegas, but the level of care and concern rivals most in Vegas. The property also has a good selection of on-site dining at reasonable prices and a wonderful pool area for relaxing. All in all I would recommend the Downtown Grand as a solid selection, but hope that they continue to improve on their services and possibly rethink the bathroom setup with the showers.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a great view. We stayed in the west tower, so you might want to try the east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan B, Director of Sales at Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Dana H,
Thank you for being our guest at Downtown Grand! We appreciate you comments/concerns as it helps us to improve in certain areas. Please think of us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

As a Vegas resident I was charged with locating a property and making arrangements for a mini family meet-up with folks from DC, Chicago and Cali. I chose the Grand because it was new. I would go back to the Grand because it was great. Starting with Erica W. who was most gracious in helping us make flexible arrangements, everyone in our group voted thumbs up for the whole experience. Good food / beverage options. Great location: easily accessible to Freemont Street spectacle but not right in the midst of the craziness. Very nice rooms though walls are a bit thin; hence, the complimentary earplugs (?).. Our neighbors were quiet so not a problem .Our DC contingent has already recommended DTG to a friend and they are coming out next month, DBW

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Freemont side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan B, Director of Sales at Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Deb W,

Thank you for the great comments! Glad you got to experience the warm hospitality our team has to offer. We look forward to having you and your colleagues back with us soon (:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is consistently amazing. Victoria the assistant manager, Marnelli the casino host and all the staff here are really good at what they do. The room was clean and well maintained and they treat their casino guests very well. As a side note, I would definitely choose this hotel over the D downtown, that hotel is awful, see my review of it for more details.

Room Tip: The Premium Rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan B, Director of Sales at Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Chicagoman88,
Thank you for choosing Downtown Grand as your place to stay when in downtown Las Vegas! It is great to hear you had a great experience with our team members. Looking forward to having you back with us soon (:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a great experience both times we stayed at the Downtown Grand. The rooms are very clean and have great comfy beds. I slept like a rock in the bed. The bathroom is very nice and is stocked with nice shampoo and other soaps and lotion. They even have a very nice hair dryer in there. The resort fee covers bottled water in the room, and if you need more just ask. The staff is very nice and friendly. I cannot say enough good about this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a high room on the west side of the tallest tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan B, Director of Sales at Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear LisaandWayne828,
Thank you for being our guest not once but twice! It is great to hear you had a great experience both times. Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

After a long day driving from W Wendover through the desert, finally got to the Grand. Valet parked but still had to drag bags through some of the casino to get to check in. Had booked a premium king which was a nice room. It was overlooking the Hogs and Heffers so there was some noise from the Fremont St bands. It seems to echo louder as the base sound from the stage travels down the narrow road into the hotel. There were ear plugs but we did not need them, soon fell asleep from busy days! Our stay was mid week so if the noise is worse on weekends, I can't say.
We found the shower with the half glass panel no problem at all, I don't know what some people must do to create so much mess they speak of.
The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. Also had a good picture on the TV and good wifi connection in the room.
The free coffee in the Art bar in the mornings is very good. It's self serve from flasks.
Went to the pool, it was a very nice area, clean and well spaced out chairs. It was quiet, which we like as we are older and not into party pools at all. Our pool time is to relax. Again on weekends and in the evenings things could be quite different as they do hold parties there. Overall though it was better for us than previous stays downtown at the Golden Nugget where the pool is so tightly packed, it's horrid.
Had a meal in the Stewart and Ogden which we enjoyed. Good service and food. Would eat there again. Wanted to see the Mob bar but it was closed, only opened weekends it seemed.
Overall opinion of this hotel was, it's very good and would recomend it but it is not as posh as the GN.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan B, Director of Sales at Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi cliveasmith,
Thank you for being our guest at Downtown Grand! We know you have many choices and appreciate you giving us a shot. Please think of us when you come back to downtown Vegas (:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 206 N. 3rd Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 629
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Industrial chic Downtown Grand Las Vegas is a unique authentic urban hospitality experience; located at Downtown3rd in the heart of downtown Las Vegas. Downtown Grand’s two guest towers (the 18-story Casino Tower and the 26-story Grand Tower) encompass 629 guest rooms and suites ranging in size from 375-1100 square feet. Downtown Grand rooms are designed to set a new standard for downtown Las Vegas, featuring Serta Presidential pillow-top mattresses, HD flat-screen televisions, Wi-Fi, and modern amenities in a refreshingly retro setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Vegas.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.