We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Approach Time Share presentation with caution!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview at Las Vegas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grandview at Las Vegas to your Saves list
Grandview at Las Vegas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9940 Las Vegas Blvd. S., Las Vegas, NV 89123 (Enterprise)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Pomona, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Approach Time Share presentation with caution!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

* * This review is strictly based on our experience during their Time Share presentation and tour of the facility * *

Long story short, we decided to take the plunge and accept one of the countless Time Share presentation offers during our last visit to Las Vegas. Hadn't been to one in years and the gifts looked appealing. If you do decide to attend strictly for the gifts, don't ask ANY questions and keep your answers short and to the point. However, if you are in the market for a Time Share, this review is for you.

FACILITY
The rooms are great and nicely furnished. Instead of a 2 bedroom, they offer 2 side-by-side rooms with keyed doors that are accessed through a single door from the hallway. Having 2 kids, this did not appeal to us as they would be completely isolated from us and have easy access to leave without us ever finding out. However, this solution would be very nice if you are traveling with another family who would have their own private room.

The pools are small but nice...think apartment sized. The few pools are spaced out throughout the property to grant ease of access to the adjacent buildings. Not having any other tall buildings around, the powerful desert winds are free to blow through. The property towers provide shade depending on the location and time of day.

They have an area within one of the buildings that has a game center that they are still filling up. There is also a good sized business room with plenty of computers and desks with a TV and printer which is nice and quite as only whose with room keys are granted access.

Next door across the road is the South Point Casino which has a movie theater, full sized bowling alley, arcade, restaurants, casino, This provides a good amount of things to do if you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the Vegas strip.

TIME SHARE
They were successful in getting our attention after dropping the price and package to a level that was palatable. Having never owned a Time Share but having attended a couple of presentations years ago, we had a ton of questions. They are part of the RCI network of Time Shares. We had a vague understanding that properties swapped through any given network was based on some kind of point system. Basically, the property and week(s) you own is assigned some kind of value if "deposited" into the RCI network. We were told that because The Grandvew at Las Vegas was a Gold Star property, we would be able to exchange our week(s) with ANY facility of our choice regardless of rooms based solely on a week per week swap. I could not understand how a 1 bedroom/1 week unit could be swapped for a 4 bedroom/1 week unit. We were repeatedly told that it was because the facility's Gold Star status, location, and a couple of other criteria placed property owners at the top of the list with a higher Trading Power, We decided to buy it with the intention of taking advantage of the RCI Time Share to stay at other participating facilities within the network.

When we got home, I started doing a lot of research to better understand what we had just gotten ourselves into as somethings were still not making sense. As I had suspected, we were about to be immersed into another world full of mixed experiences -- some good, some not so good, and some horrible. The weeks system is basically a new twist on the traditional points system just with a different name. I found that numerous people who would deposit other Gold Star property weeks were getting a certain numeric amount of Trading Power points and then not having enough points to get a comparable room many times having to pay extra just to have a vacation. On a few occasions, some did a search for the exact same property at the exact same week and still did not have enough. Seems that many were awarded lower Trading Power Points for their deposited properties and then offered comparable properties for slightly higher inflated points. Not being interested in more challenges, or difficulties down the road, we decided to cancel our contract within the 5 calendar days and back out of everything.

We will do more research on Time Shares and be better prepared to make an informed decision next time when we find a facility that better meets our needs and that is part of a network that we feel more comfortable with.

Room Tip: The furthest west buildings are closer to the kiddie pool. The middle buildings are closer to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re happy that you enjoyed our resort but are disappointed that you decided to cancel your timeshare ownership. Separate from The Grandview, RCI is a timeshare exchange company that facilitates exchanges to and from timeshare resorts around the world. An owner doesn’t need an RCI membership to own timeshare, but we do recommend their service to our owners because it offers flexibility and variation to vacation ownership. Timeshare Trading Power is based on many factors like resort quality, location, and if the time owned is a desirable season for travel. As a Gold Crown rated property with RCI, The Grandview at Las Vegas offers excellent trading power by these standards. Even though you have decided that ownership is not for you, we appreciate that you took the time to tour with us and we hope that you will consider The Grandview at Las Vegas for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    509
    171
    61
    64
See reviews for
423
468
32
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently stayed at the Grandview at Las Vegas. It met all of our needs. There is a shuttle that takes you to the grocery store on Sun, Mon Tues and Wed. It would have been nice to have been prepared for that. It was very convenient since we did not rent a car. I just wished we had our grocery list together so we would have been more prepared. Also there is a shuttle that runs back and forth from the Grandview to the strip that leaves every hour up until 1 am. You pay one fee for the whole day. The facility was very quiet. Located right next to it, is Southpoint Casino which has a great buffet and other restaurants.. All in all, it was very convenient. I would definitely recomment this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Grandview Resort at Las Vegas. Our luxurious over-sized rooms and easy access to exciting places like South Point Casino makes the Grandview at Las Vegas Resort a sought-after vacation spot. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at the Grandview Hotel August of 2012, the hotel was OK, rooms were nice, pool too far away from our room, bit of a drive to get to the good shows, however the Southpoint Casino is right across the street, which makes for lots of restaurants, lounges, and gambling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. Even though we didn’t meet all of your expectations, we’re happy to know that you enjoyed your time at the The Grandview. We hope that we can share our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in Las Vegas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights, June 21-28, in room 61707, in the Rosemary Bldg. I have a family of 4, w/2 teenagers. We loved the Grandview. I love the location, far enough away from the strip that it feels like a resort vacation, but also close enough to the strip that you can do the touristy things.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. The 'a' side unit had obviously been smoked in many times but the 'b' side had not. We had requested a non-smoking room and once we were settled, we didn't want to move. Other than that, I have no complaints about the room. They were large, had flat screen TV's, a nice jacuzzi tub, walk-in shower, and complete kitchen. Wal-Mart is just a few stop lights away and we got our food for the week. My husband used the BBQ grills each night and had no trouble getting them.

The pools got a little busy toward the end of the week but that didn't bother us. There was always enough pool chairs and towels. A couple hours of sun each day was plenty. My son had one request, purchase a few more golf clubs. It took a few days before he could check them out.

The Southpoint Casino is fit next door and my husband visited it each night. He always felt safe walking by himself and they have a lot of kid friendly activities. We bowled, ate at the Mexican Restaurant and the Cafe, and went to the arcade many times.

I can't say any negatives about the Grandview. Great location, great rooms, and a great vacation. We will defiantly return!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for posting about your trip to The Grandview at Las Vegas Resort. We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you took the time to voice your opinion. It’s our goal to provide excellent accommodations and amenities to all of our guests that will inspire a return visit. We’re thankful that we achieved that for you and your family and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for here for 5 nights after a few days on the strip and we loved it.We booked a double room apartment, which was two self contained apartments with a common entrance which worked out well. There we 4 sets of pools to choose from and excellent facilities at the SouthPoint which was just 5 minutes walk. We stayed in the daisy block which is slightly newer than Iris, where our friends stayed, but both were large and very well equipped.Each had a separate bedroom with large jacuzzi bath, separate shower room with two basins. The living/dining/kitchen was open plan and very spacious. The kitchen included washer/dryer, dishwasher, coffee, oven, microwave, toaster etc and had everything we needed. It is about 10-15 mins drive to the strip, where you can easily park for free in most hotels, so makes a nice break, if you want to get away from the intensity of the strip. Even so, you can pop to SouthPoint if you want to play the slots or tables or grab a bite to eat from one of the many restaurants, which are more reasonably priced than the strip. Definitely worth considering.

Room Tip: Blocks further from reception are newer. The blocks overlooking the largest pool can be a bit noisie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your great review! The Grandview at Las Vegas Resort is a timeshare property that offers all the comforts of home for guests, and only 6 miles from the world famous Las Vegas Strip. We’re happy that we exceeded your expectations for lodging and we hope we may share our hospitality with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the grandview, we had a wonderful time, the grandview offers everything the omi,or the Waldorf don't offer, we were in the rosemary, we loved it, hot water,we paid for wifi,that didn't brother us,we are going back in July,this time we are taking my sister in law and brother,and another sister law, we want to share this blessing with our family, we bought a time share ,and have already upgraded, no complaints, we always rent a car,the 6 mile didn't brother us we were on our honeymoon, the time share was a wedding present from my husband the next time was just as beautiful,we are retired,so we upgraded to plantium, more points,and extra vacation time.i just love the grand view, we bought grociers and didn't use it ,the food at he restaurants is so reasonable, I didn't cook not one time, the pools are so nice,everything was greattttttt, we are on our way grandview, If you want a nice vacation go to the grandview in Vegas .

Room Tip: Try the rosemary. Higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your 5-star review! Your review has been forwarded to the resort’s management so that they may share your comments with the rest of the team. We’re sure your compliments will give them a morale boost for quite awhile! We appreciate that you entrusted The Grandview at Las Vegas for your honeymoon and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our family had been staying at Grandview for many years. We have enjoyed the rooms, pool, and location in the past. However the quality of the customer service and the basic maintenance and cleanliness of the property has declined to such a low, that we will no longer choose Grandview as our place to stay when we visit Las Vegas.

During our stay in September 2011 there were several issues with our rooms. Light bulbs out, missing sink parts, etc. that we had to get taken care of when we checked in. Then during the stay there was some kind of fire on our floor which triggered the sprinklers and flooded the hall. We were not informed that there was a fire, evacuated, or anything. Then when we asked about the flooding, carpet pulled up, huge loud fans, etc. we were told the fire department had sprayed it down and caused the damage (which the manager denied later, saying it was only the sprinklers). The whole floor began to stink terrible on top of the noise. We were never given the option to move to another floor or building. When we brought this all to the attention of the Front Desk Manager, he apologized and said that the next time we come he will make sure we have a “VIP room” where he would personally make sure everything in the room is perfect and he insisted that an apology gift of a fruit basket (or similar) would await us. When I made my reservation for our next trip in November 2012 I called him and he told me that he couldn’t write down the VIP thing right then and I would have to call when it got closer to the check in date to remind him. Quite a lot of work for me, to get the apology executed. I did as he asked and he said everything would be ready when we came, however, when we got to the rooms there were things missing and dirty and there was no basket. So the “VIP” experience did not happen at all. It was just as bad a before and no efforts were made to make it better for us. When we spoke to the same manager about the issues and the basket he sent someone to fix things (which took a long time out of our vacation) and then said they had “run out” of baskets so we were just going to have to do without. Really? At this point we were ready to say never mind, let’s go somewhere else and never return, but being nice and reasonable people we wanted to give them another chance to make things right.

Our last trip was May 2013. We were expecting at this point that at least two things in the room would be broken, missing, or dirty, but what we encountered was beyond our worst nightmares. Not only was the room filthy with fingerprints, stains, black mold, etc., but all the furniture was banged up, holes in the walls, paint on lamp shades, etc. like there had been no basic maintenance for years. When we went to cook dinner the usual mini salt/pepper was missing and when we called the front desk to have them send one up, they said they don't provide that anymore. So we had to stop cooking and run to the store to buy a large shaker of each, which we had to leave behind since we were flying home. The first night the shower was clogged and it was backing up into the sinks (disgusting). We had to have someone come clean out the drain, and then housekeeping had to come clean up the mess they made in the bathroom. A few days later the toilet would not flush correctly and we had to have another person come fix that. We washed our clothes in the washer machine in the unit prior to flying home and once we got home found there were these greasy looking spots all over everything, front and back. We tried removing the spots and some of the clothes have been ruined. To top it all off there was a dead roach in our room that wasn’t there when we checked in.

On top of the issues with the room, we were lied to and accosted by the sales team. At check in we were told that you wanted people who had not seen the new building to view the new rooms and give feedback in a short verbal survey about what we liked or did not like about the rooms. For doing the survey we would get a coupon for a free lunch buffet and a gift card for the Cosmopolitan. We asked if this was a timeshare thing and were told absolutely not, it was just a short, no time commitment survey. We were interested in seeing the new rooms, especially since we had been having such issues with the current rooms, so we agreed. They took $20 cash to hold our spot, which we thought was weird for a survey. The day of the tour the salesman who picked us up walked us over to the South Point and literally watched us eat our buffet. That was the most unprofessional and creepy thing ever. I guess the goal was to get us to hurry up so we did not enjoy our meal. After that we went over to the Iris building that we were staying in and looked at a model room, not a real room from the new building. These are the same model rooms we have viewed for years from the outside when at the pool, so this obviously was nothing “new”. After that we were taken to the sales office and he started in on the “presentation”. We informed him immediately that this is not what we were here for and we are not interested in a timeshare pitch and we really needed to go because we had made plans, since this was supposed to be a short survey. He apologized, but kept talking. We said it again and he kept talking; we said it again, and he finally went to get a supervisor. The supervisor apologized and told me to write down that we were lied to so they could give it to the manager there, but continued with the sales pitch. We finally told them to stop and we were leaving, enough was enough. We were then late to meeting our family. Instead of getting us out right away, they sent us to a second lady who tried to sell us again. We got real upset and told her to get us out of there now, we needed our $20 back immediately, so we could leave. She sent us out a door to sit and wait while she put our slip under a huge pile of others’ that were already waiting. So again they were stalling to get us out. We were about to start screaming at someone to get the point across, when I got someone’s attention and insisted they give us our money back now. It was a horrible experience; they lied and held us hostage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We understand that customer service is key to being successful in the travel industry and we clearly dropped the ball.Your experience does not reflect the standard of service we pride ourselves on, and we regret you now have such a negative impression of us. Grandview’s General Manager Joe Gonzalez has reached out to you personally to discuss these issues. We hope that you will contact him so that we may have another opportunity to deliver the type of vacation experience that you have continually enjoyed with us in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandview at Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview at Las Vegas

Address: 9940 Las Vegas Blvd. S., Las Vegas, NV 89123
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandview at Las Vegas 3*
Number of rooms: 1516
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grandview at Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Las Vegas
Grandview Resort Las Vegas
Grand View Las Vegas
The Grandview Las Vegas
Grandview Resort Vegas
Grandview Las Vegas Hotel
Grandview Vegas
Grandview Lasvegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview at Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.