We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Pizza

Metro Pizza
4178 Koval Ln, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)
(702) 312-5888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #603 of 3,967 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Cuisines: Pizza
Neighborhood: The Strip
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: The Strip
Cincinnati
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Always grab pizza at the Ellis Island location.Not sure of what the days are but have buy one get one slices and pizzas.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SmilingWanderer
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Soup Pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Not sure why Metro gets high marks if this pizza experience is their standard. Ordered three individual and one 16" pizza and all came out with most delicious, crispy crust on the edges you could imagine. The problem: the rest of the crust (think the part covered by red sauce) was an oily, soupy doughy mess. We had to scoop each slice out with a spoon to get it to our plates. If you aren't careful all the toppings slide off with most of the sauce with them. Something is wrong with the oven or the cook. These pies weren't just un-evenly cooked: crisp on the edges, doughy from the edges in.

The flavor of the pies were fine. Ample ingredients, tasty sauce. But the texture of the crust was horrible. I've had and enjoyed Neopolitan style pizzas before (very thin crust, lots of oil, cooked in extremely hot ovens) which were purposefully a bit on the "wet" side, but Metro pizzas make those pizzas look crispy. To eat these slices you had to roll them up like a croissant.

This was my first time at Metro, and given some other TA comments, maybe we picked the wrong Metro location. This one is in the Ellis Island casino, which -- depending on your taste -- is either great or a dump. I found it both. You can buy pizza by the slice (pre-made) and there is seating (about 12 booths). Beers brewed on site are good. Prices are reasonable. A block away on the strip they would be nearly double. The was a loud but friendly crowd on the casino floor. Lots of TVs.

So, my quest for great pizza in Las Vegas continues. I didn't find it here .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Being originally from Chicago its really hard to find good new York or hometown pizza. The sausage pizza is the best ive had since leaving home 29 years ago.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“back again after 1 year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

had 2 pepperoni slices fresh from the oven, $2.75 a slice. on the strip would cost $4-$5 a slice. still very oily slices and bread still sags. but, when your hungry and want something quick, cheap and filling this place is worth a go. if you have comp at Ellis, go to the players desk and get a comp ticket for metro pizza. i believe sunday and thursday is BOGO free but i forget.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Metro Pizza? Really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have had the pizza here several times, by the slice. It tastes nothing like the pizza you get at Metro Pizza on Tropicana, or Decatur, or Sky Pointe. Even when I got a slice fresh out of the oven, it never tasted like the other locations. I'd call it similar to Villa Pizza at the mall. If you want a great pizza, try one of the other locations.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Metro Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.