We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus of Siam

Lotus of Siam
953 E Sahara Ave, Ste A5, Las Vegas, NV 89104-3028
702-735-3033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 4,078 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Not what you would expect of nr.3 in vegas. Waited 40 minutes on one of the main courses, had to remind waiter 3 times. When it came one was burnt tasted awful. However the spicy fried rice is fabulous. Situated in secluded spot, looks like nothing from outside, on the inside its ok nice. Not worthy of it's ranking..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    260
    88
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't let the exterior fool you, this place is brilliant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you go in the evening, this place may look off-putting: in a half abandoned mall, away from the strip, it's dark and barely lit outside and looks like a diner or a dive. But walk through the door (after you wait in line) and you are presented with a bright, cheerful place full of chatter and clearly happy customers. We were sent here by a Las Vegas regular who goes every time he is in town (which is often).

So, the food: some of the best Thai you will find in America, I think.
What our party had: nam kao tod, Thai beef jerkey, som tum (papaya salad), chili BBQ prawns, soft shell crab drunken noodle. And all of it served beautifully prepared and plated, and delicious.

The wine list is great (although I prefer beer with my Thai, usually), with a specialty in Reislings, a wine I have always avoided, but they had a few that might convince you to avoid no more - dry, crisp and actually well suited to a hot Thai entree.

It is crowded and bustling and noisy and full of energy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you enjoy Thai food, then you should make this a stop while you are in Las Vegas. Do not let the location fool you (in a strip mall). The spice meter is on a scale from 1-10 and it is accurate. The chicken satay and spring rolls (shrimp) are very good. Crispy duck, Panang, crab fried rice, and cashew chicken is what my family all chose. They were all surprised at how much they enjoyed it. Mango sticky rice is also a good choice for dessert. Price points were very reasonable . . . what I pay in Tulsa, OK. Note: During their summer hours they do not take reservations. First come, first serve.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All of the positive reviews are true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My boyfriend has been telling me about this place since we met 4 years ago and I finally got the chance to try it! Incredible flavors! Trust your waiter to direct you to the most popular dishes!
The food is stupendous, but there is one more thing that just makes this the perfect restaurant for me - the wine list! I can't believe how extensive it is! We are major California Cab fans and this restaurant has all of the best! The very best and some of the newest Cult Cabs on their list and very reasonably priced! We enjoyed a 2006 Dana Estates Lotus Vineyard Cab with our meal and it was stunning! I have been to great restaurants in Napa Valley that didn't have a wine list as good as Lotus of Siam.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We read on Trip Advisor how good this restaurant was, so we had to try it and it was outstanding! We got a little scared when we first got there because we were at the back of the restaurant and it didn't look open or like it was in good shape (it's not in the best of neighborhoods). Once we walked around the complex, we were relieved. We ordered a variety of items, soup, cold salad, tempura, noodle dishes (I can't remember the exact names), but all were outstanding! If you order anything spicy, watch out, it's HOT! Our waiter was excellent too. Would definitely go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus of Siam also viewed

 

Been to Lotus of Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus of Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.