We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makino Decatur

Makino Decatur
3965 S Decatur Blvd, #5, Las Vegas, NV 89103
702.889.4477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 4,078 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Seagoville, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sushi heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a sushi buffet to beat all sushi buffets. The sushi is fresh and oh my gosh it is so delicious! They also have salads, fruit, tempura, soup, scads of desserts, and a few other hot dishes, but the sushi was all I truly cared about. Not far from the Strip, and definitely worth the trip!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    37
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Best Japanese buffet in Las Vegas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Makino is the Japanese buffet restaurant we went to when we were in town. It’s better than Todai in its modest price ($26.95 vs. $35.95 in Todai). Today we five came here to celebrate a special occasion and happily received 3 senior discounts ($21.56).
Sushi/Rolls/Nigiri, sashimi, Shrimp tempura, snow Crab legs, Scallop, Baked/Fried Oyster, baked Clam, Mussel, grilled Salmon, Calamari legs/steak, Sukiyaki/Teriyaki Beef, Udon/Ramen, etc. all here and all taste really good. A few exceptions: Miso soup is a failure, it’s tasteless. (It is made from a “soup dispenser machine”- an interesting invention, but the product was NOT as the real thing.) Ramen is a joke: it is there probably just because it has to be there. Drink is not “free” (Sake is from $3~$5). A big plus: Sushi/Rolls/Nigiri were very creatively made and interesting, taste great. Desserts? Marvelous!
Service was great: very responsive and cordial and always smiling!
Makino would not let us take pictures (of the food). But we have seen YouTube video and pictures taken by various people posted on the internet. Reason?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent over and over again :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Been to Makinos on Decatur several times. Food has always been great. Sushi is fresh with a highly diverse selection. Other foods excellent as well. I could eat here every day. Service was quick, professional and courteous. Restaurant is very clean. Food is very fresh! If your blowing through Vegas, don't pass this place up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious but rather pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Been to this buffet restaurant several times. Apart from the price, I would also recommend this place to those who like Japanese dishes (and who like to eat healthy). It offers a huge variety of dishes. I'm not exactly fond of their desserts. They're much like the desserts you see on other buffet restaurants out of hotels. Love all their seaweed salads! There were just 3 of us who ate there and my tab came to a bit more than a hundred $. Our drinks were just ordinary sodas. So, have a fairly good amount in your pocket folks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Favorite Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family found this place by accident about 10 years when out shopping late one night, we were not disappointed. This place does not have Teppan, so if you like to see the cooks putting on a show, this is not your place. I am half Japanese and spent over 18 years in Japan so I feel confident that I can give a good assessment of this restaurant. It is called a seafood buffet, but it is far from that. They have everything from rolls to sashimi on the sushi side. If you don't see it on the line, you can always ask the chefs and they are always willing to help. For those who don't like sushi, not a problem. There is a whole other hot side that includes but not limited to: fried rice, yakisoba, udon, tempura (shrimp and vegetable), crab legs (dinner time), suki yaki, teriyaki chicken, mussle medleys, calamari to name a few. There is also a huge salad section and dessert section. The only thing I wish they had that they don't is a big pot of Curry. If you want GOOD oriental food anywhere you go, look at the customers. If most of the people in the restaurant are oriental, then it is probably pretty good. There are a lot of oriental people that eat at Makino's.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makino Decatur also viewed

 

Been to Makino Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makino Decatur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.