We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sushi and lots of other choices, very good value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makino Decatur

Makino Decatur
3965 S Decatur Blvd, #5, Las Vegas, NV 89103
702.889.4477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 4,078 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Bremen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and lots of other choices, very good value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

After having been totally disappointed by Todai, we were very pleased with Makino. It's a buffet, okay, but at that, it's great! Lots of real good sushi, sashimi for dinner (not always salmon sashimi and not always the better cuts, which was kind of disappointing and also unnecessary!), lots of other hot and cold choices, all very tasty and of excellent quality. I'm still drooling just thinking of it.
My son loved the chocolate fountain. Desserts weren't spectacular, but okay, but we don't go to any sushi places for their desserts!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    37
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was my second time at Makino Decatur and I'll be going there any time I'm in Vegas! The selection is amazing, from the sushi rolls to the sashimi to the hot dishes, everything was fantastic! Even tempura prawns were perfect and that's hard to maintain on a buffet. You can't even come close to trying everything, there's just too much to choose. Can't say much more than, WOW!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply Awesome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the highlight of every trip I make to Las Vegas. While unpretentious and sometimes a little loud due to its wild popularity Makino delivers on the food enjoyment front. This is just stuff you are not going to make at home. The Sushi assortment is unrivaled and it truly is "food as art". There is something for everyone even the vegetarians and non sushi lovers. I recommend lunch as it is much cheaper and not all that different. Start there and if you like check out the dinner another time. It opens at 11:30 AM (don't eat breakfast that day) so get there right at opening and you will have the freshest of the fresh. First run at the hordes of amazing food. Just do it, you will keep coming back again and again and agian and........

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“LOVE Makino's - always at the top of my list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've been to both Makino locations (the one at the Premium Outlets and the one here on Decatur) many times, both are consistent with their quality and their variety. They have a plethora of sushi options alone with anywhere from 2-4 sushi chefs preparing the sushi right in front of you! The fish is so very fresh and melts in your mouth, everything is beautifully put together and there is a great variety in baked, cooked, raw . . . lots of nigiri (eel, shrimp, tuna, salmon, egg, etc) to small rolls (cucumber, tuna, etc) to specialty rolls! Sometimes even hand rolls! My favorite part is being able to take a piece of this and a piece of that rather than a whole roll of something that doesn't knock my socks off, but having to eat it because you paid for it! And unlike the typical AYCE sushi places, if you take a bite of something that doesn't make your belly smile, you need not finish it!

In addition to sushi, there is a great assortment of asian salads -- cucumber salads, seaweed salads, green salads, bean salads, you name it! Asian foods like baked green mussels, egg rolls, chow mein, short ribs, baked fish, steamed clams, it's all there! And all pretty tasty, but I'll be honest, I go to Makino for the fresh sushi!

Dessert -- aahhh, my favorite!! Dessert includes many different types of cakes, tarts, cookies, 5 flavors of ice cream, including red bean and green tea! An assortment of fresh fruit (with a chocolate fountain at dinner time), so many options!!

Service is typical of a buffet type restaurant in terms of personality, but I will say, they are pretty efficient and speedy here with the check, refills and clearing plates.

I love Makino -- their food is always consistently FRESH and delicious and the variety is truly exciting!! There's so much to explore! I would give it a sixth star if I could!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Amazing All you can eat Japaneese Food and SUSHI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I eat a lot of sushi...and this place is the one I go to when in Vegas. Why? Because they offer fresh sushi and it's not a tourist trap like most of the places down town. This is less than $25.00 for all the food you can eat. You will probably be the only non Japaneese person in the entire place. This is a well kept secret on Japaneese food....give it a shot...it really is amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makino Decatur also viewed

 

Been to Makino Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makino Decatur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.