We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget-priced alternative to casino hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Tropicana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Tropicana to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Tropicana
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   165 E Tropicana Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #166 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    63
    97
    58
    44
See reviews for
73
62
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brigham City, Utah
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This HoJo has been around. It is a very large 2-story motel with several sections very near the airport. The staff are good folks, including a good cleaning staff and decent internet. Let's face it, this place is past its prime, small rooms and our room was not just stuffy, it was simply stale and rank. To make this place work it would need to be totally overhauled by merging two rooms into one and making it all-mini-suites. With Hooters next door selling good rooms at the same price and less, this place is on the ropes. What saves it? During conventions, especially at the MGM across the road, folks with a tight budget will take a HoJo across the road if the Hooters or Excalibur are already full. Why did we stay? Having never looked at the rooms we mistakenly trusted in the HoJo name and booked in advance. The reason was to be near the airport, leave the car there where it was safer than the $16 per day airport rental for two weeks and take a cab into the airport. Yes, it was safe and we are grateful to the good staff for their consideration. Why fly out of Vegas? COPA Airlines flies to Panama City and Costa Rica for a third the price of airlines out of Salt Lake, Denver, etc.and COPA is a much better airline with more leg room and better treatment than such as the 'D' airline. Thanks, HoJo, but next time perhaps America's Best or Motel 6. I have more to say but will sit on it.

Room Tip: Hey, if you MUST ask to see a couple or three rooms and select from the best smelling one. Try Hoote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas F, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we appreciate all feedback. We are happy that it worked out for what you wanted. Thank you again for your comments. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Good place to stay if just passing through. All the basics covered here. Room was tidy, and I had that better than expected experience when I first saw the room. There is a good place to have breakfast next door - big feed for not much coin. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas F, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us including your tidy room. Thank you for your review and for your business. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was coming into town for a fight at MGM and didn't want to pay a fortune for a hotel and I found the Howard Johnson. The customer service was great and the reception was nice . We had a problem with my other rooms air Conditioner but they were quick to fix it. I'd say the only down fall is that the maid service doesn't get to your room always by 5 to clean it room and if u want an iron you should request 1 the day before u need it as they have limited and they won't go get one for you but overall a decent stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas F, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are happy that you found our customer service to be great; we pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service. I apologize that you room was cleaned late, sometimes our housekeepers work late cleaning all rooms. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Tropicana

Address: 165 E Tropicana Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Tropicana 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Strip from our Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas hotel. Our pet-friendly hotel in Las Vegas is a quick walk to casinos, restaurants and shopping. Take a dip in our seasonal outdoor heated pool and enjoy a meal or slice of pie at neighboring Coco's Bakery Restaurant. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access, and if you need fax service, you will find it in the business center of our hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. We are also conveniently located just 2 miles from McCarran Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.