We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Tropicana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Tropicana to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Tropicana
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   165 E Tropicana Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #168 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    83
    121
    80
    67
See reviews for
96
80
51
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

First let me say that each Howard Johnson property is independently owned under the Wyndham name. This hotel was a Motel 6 until just over a year ago when HJ acquired it. The general manager is Mark Chute who is there and wants guests to be happy with the property.Since that time they have been upgrading it. There are new Samsung flat screen TV sets, some new paint, a few new beds and AC units.
There is a new lobby that opened in April and it has a computer available for guests.
Rooms have good bathroom lighting and shower heads. The carpets are old dark blue and the vanity sink in my unit was worn and cracked as were the three lamp shades. There is a nice pool. There is no Continental breakfast. It is very close to MGM and next to Hooters. The strip is close-by and a restaurant and liquor store.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an updated AC unit. The first room I had the air conditioner was so noisy I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the HOJO Tropicana. It sounds like your visit was satisfactory but not perfect. I sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel due to its price and close promixity to the Vegas strip. Very clean and quiet. Here's the deal-breaker for us:

We found that no iron was included in our room, so we called the front desk. We were told by (Jose) that there is an "iron shortage." We called back several times but received the same answer, with no attemps to rectify the problem. We asked if they could call other guests so we can "use" any unused iron, and were promised a call back; we never received it. We were forced to spend our anniversary wearing badly wrinkled clothes, and we had to spend $20+ on an iron-which we shouldnt have had to do after a $200 incidentals deposit. We wont be going back as we dont feel valued as paying customers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your visit. I can assure you that I will share your comments with my team in our monthly housekeeping training meeting. I apologize that your experience at the Howard Johnson was anything less than perfect. Thank you for being our guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Two pillows on one bed only, holes in bathroom wall, coffee but no coffee maker, no wastebaskets in the room, do not disturb sign apparently blew off door and staff entered room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the HOJO Tropicana. I sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. I can assure you that I will check the room that you were in for issues you mentioned. For future reference please call the front desk if you have any issues with your room, we would be more than happy to fix any problems. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Tropicana

Address: 165 E Tropicana Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Tropicana 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Strip from our Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas hotel. Our pet-friendly hotel in Las Vegas is a quick walk to casinos, restaurants and shopping. Take a dip in our seasonal outdoor heated pool and enjoy a meal or slice of pie at neighboring Coco's Bakery Restaurant. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access, and if you need fax service, you will find it in the business center of our hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. We are also conveniently located just 2 miles from McCarran Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.