We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Year Wedding Anniversary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Tropicana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Tropicana to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Tropicana
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   165 E Tropicana Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #169 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Rancho Cucamonga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 Year Wedding Anniversary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel due to its price and close promixity to the Vegas strip. Very clean and quiet. Here's the deal-breaker for us:

We found that no iron was included in our room, so we called the front desk. We were told by (Jose) that there is an "iron shortage." We called back several times but received the same answer, with no attemps to rectify the problem. We asked if they could call other guests so we can "use" any unused iron, and were promised a call back; we never received it. We were forced to spend our anniversary wearing badly wrinkled clothes, and we had to spend $20+ on an iron-which we shouldnt have had to do after a $200 incidentals deposit. We wont be going back as we dont feel valued as paying customers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your visit. I can assure you that I will share your comments with my team in our monthly housekeeping training meeting. I apologize that your experience at the Howard Johnson was anything less than perfect. Thank you for being our guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    83
    121
    80
    67
See reviews for
96
80
51
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Two pillows on one bed only, holes in bathroom wall, coffee but no coffee maker, no wastebaskets in the room, do not disturb sign apparently blew off door and staff entered room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the HOJO Tropicana. I sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. I can assure you that I will check the room that you were in for issues you mentioned. For future reference please call the front desk if you have any issues with your room, we would be more than happy to fix any problems. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, NM
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at a great price over the weekend. The large casino hotels are very expensive on the weekends, so we decided to "rough it" in a motel close to the strip. The room was a typical small motel room, but clean and functional. The room had a large flat screen TV, and the shower was nice. There is a hair dryer in the room, I don't remember if there was an iron. We liked being parked right outside our door, instead of a 10 minute walk to the lot from a casino hotel, or who-knows-where in a valet lot. This motel is located on Tropicana right off the strip, a short walk to the strip, Hooters, the Tropicana and MGM Grand. There is also a Cocoa's and a gas station nearby. We would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you sharing your comments regarding your experience at the Howard Johnson Tropicana! It sounds like you really enjoyed your visit to our property. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such a great value with our newly renovated grooms. We hope to have you as our guest in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Poor cleanliness of the bedroom and bathroom, the tv didn´t works and half of the lighting in the bedroom didn´t work either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel and I apologize that your stay with us was anything less than satisfactory. We have since checked your room and corrected the deficiencies. Again, I apologize your that your experience at the Howard Johnson was anything less than perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Tropicana

Address: 165 E Tropicana Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Tropicana 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Strip from our Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas hotel. Our pet-friendly hotel in Las Vegas is a quick walk to casinos, restaurants and shopping. Take a dip in our seasonal outdoor heated pool and enjoy a meal or slice of pie at neighboring Coco's Bakery Restaurant. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access, and if you need fax service, you will find it in the business center of our hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. We are also conveniently located just 2 miles from McCarran Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.