We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room Size and Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Paradise Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Desert Paradise Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5165 South Decatur Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Room Size and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here for two nights. The room was huge!!!! The concierge helped give good directions to downtown Vegas and gave us a very helpful welcome pack. I'm allergic to various smells and our carpet had a strong smell, which would have been fine for most people but wasn't for me (btw it wasn't an odor just a smell that wasn't good for me). The front desk helped me out and sent maintenance right away and gave me lots of great air fresheners (that I could handle) and this did the job. As I said the room were huge. You won't be disappointed with the size of the room !!! Plus there is a refrigerator and washer and dryer. I didn't make use of the swimming pool because of time constraints. With a car the resort is not that far from the strip. They do have a daily resort fee just so you know. I would recommend this place to anyone though. Two thumbs up. I'd come here again if I was in Vegas!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    99
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
94
95
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We are Diamond resort members and we generally stay at Polo Towers, but the week we were looking for was not available, so we were given a list of other Diamond properties around Vegas. We chose Desert Paradise and were very happy we did. It offered two pools one was the family pool and the other was for adults. There is a gym, game room and other great amenities on the grounds. Our condos were great. We had a two bed room two full bath (one master) with full kitchen and nice outside covered patio. Very comfortable beds. Full size washer and dryer. Also this is a gated resort with 24 hour security whom are always making rounds on the property. All staff we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful. It's off the strip but just a short drive and you are there, same with the airport. We would recommend this resort to our friends and family if they are ever looking for a place to stay off the strip.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel. It is a resort so they do not offer "rooms" they are condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Desert Paradise Resort. The facilities were excellent - grounds were clean and attractive, the pool was comfortable, and the workout room was adequately appointed. The rooms were comfortably decorated with all of the modern amenities one expects to find in a condo. The beds were thick and supportive without being too firm.

We loved the fact that there were several places to purchase food and alchohal within walking distance. The only drawback we found was the distance to The Strip. When we asked the guest relations for some ideas they informed us that the had a shuttle we could reserve a spot on or we could walk about one quarter of a mile to the nearby New Orleans Casino and take their 24 hour shuttle to the strip. These options were acceptable, however, an option that provided shuttle service from Desert Paradise after 10pm would be nice.

Overall we had a lovely experience and we would recommend this property to our family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My partner and I stayed three nights at this timeshare / condominium that is located around 7-10 minutes off-Strip and were very happy with the accommodations and amenities provided for the price paid. For around $100/night all-in you get access to a full-sized condominium with a small balcony, and excellent amenities including a very nice pool area and BBQ area if you want to cook on your own. Additionally, you have a full stove and fridge and sink so that you can buy drinks, food, snacks, etc. The location is superb and during most times of day you can get onto the strip in 10 minutes or less - we had our own vehicle and would just drive to the self-park at Bellagio and then wander from there when we wanted to be on the Strip.

My only small gripes were that they did not make it clear at check-in that they did had a $10 / night resort fee (although I was fully aware of this after booking the property) and that they could not accommodate an earlier check-in, but if the property is consistently booked then I suppose it is difficult to turn things over quickly unless the large mega-resorts with thousands of rooms. Staff were pleasant and we were only pitched a timeshare presentation once when the concierge was trying to sell us show tickets, but he was gracious when we declined.

Air conditioning worked awesome to keep the room cool and comfortable, and our room was well away from the pool so as a result things were quiet and peaceful. There is no daily house-keeping service but they provided some extra towels and such so that this wasn't an issue. We would recommend this location for anyone looking for some peace and quiet off-strip in Vegas for its great location, amenities, and value.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed here in Jan 2014 and it was very nice. It is located about two blocks from the Orleans Casino , which has a movie theater in it. I stayed in a one bedroom and it is actually an apartment. It doesn't have elevators, but it is very nice. The room was spacious and comfortable. It has a big closet with drawers and a lot of hanging space and a safe. The pillows were so nice, my room mate wanted to buy some for her self. The room came with a washer and dryer and a full kitchen. I was impressed with this resort and I am staying here again for NYE.

Room Tip: The lower floors are better since there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We drove to Las Vegas from Oklahoma and we arrived quite a bit earlier than we had anticipated. Check in is at 4:00 pm but we got there around 11:00 am so we asked if we could check in early. They took our cell phone number and said they would call when our room was ready. Well, by 3:00 pm, we were thinking that perhaps they just forgot to call so we went back and sure enough, our condo still was not ready. They finally did allow us to check in at 3:45 pm - a whole 15 minutes early! I would much rather that they had just told us no than have us believe that they were working to accommodate our early arrival. However, that is really the only negative experience we had. The resort is very clean and well maintained. Our room was clean and furnished very well. We used the washer and dryer a couple of times so that we didn't have to bring back a bunch of dirty clothes. I cooked a full dinner several nights as well. The shuttle that goes to the strip is very limited but we had our own car so it didn't affect us. Our concierge was very nice and made herself readily available. We would definitely stay here again...but not in July! I would prefer never to visit Vegas in July again - it was 112 and 114 degrees while we were there; although the air conditioner had no trouble cooling in those high temperatures.

Room Tip: Beware of requesting a room by the pool - we could hear the children yelling and playing but it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I booked my family here for 5 nights in a suite with one bedroom. We had a full kitchen, dining area, living room with sofa bed and a bedroom with a king bed. The bathroom was between the bedroom and living room which was perfect. Plus there was a washer/dryer in the room! The place was clean, roomy, and had everything we needed. The pool was nice with a waterfall although it did get a little crowded at times. I ended up paying about $120 a night.

This hotel is a few miles from the strip, which is what we wanted. It took about 15 minutes to drive and park on the strip (due to traffic). The area is fine with grocery stores and some restaurants - nothing special but had what we needed and safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Paradise Resort

Address: 5165 South Decatur Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89118
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Desert Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Paradise Hotel Las Vegas
Sunterra Desert Paradise Resort
Desert Paradise Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.