We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here or the Strip?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Paradise Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Desert Paradise Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5165 South Decatur Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
west sussex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Here or the Strip?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is not an hotel but for the price of a bed in one of the resort hotels on the strip on special offer you can stay in one of their apartments. It’s a mile or so off the strip and is palatial – big bedroom, living area, fully equipped kitchen, washing stuff. Basically they are selling their timeshare apartments (beware, they will seek to inveigle you into a two hour presentation for which you are guaranteed tickets to a show, free buffets etc etc. While they try and sell you an interest in their property portfolio. Unless you feel that you might like to buy one, don’t go. You get nothing for nothing in this life.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    107
    26
    12
    8
See reviews for
110
105
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, this Diamond Resort is fabulous. The photos on the website really do it no justice compared to what you'll find. We stayed here for my wife's birthday week... The staff found out and made sure she was given the extra nice treatment (chocolate). The location is a tad further from the strip than I imagined. Don't plan to walk. A shuttle is provided on most days but you have to sign up for take-off and pick-up. The beds, pillows, and sheets HAVE to be mentioned. Have you ever slept on a cloud? You will here. We had a great 7 days.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed here and enjoyed it very much. The unit had a fully equipped kitchen and a laundry room. The CEO of Diamond Resorts stands behind their resorts and the cleanliness of the rooms and I have to state that I did check even under the bed and the top of the refrigerator and everything is spotless. The furniture is very comfortable and makes for a great stay. There are two pools, one family pool and one adult pool, also Jacuzzis at each one and a water play area for the kids. There are BBQs available for your use near the adult pool.

The resort is away from the strip but an easy drive or they have a free shuttle that runs to the strip on various days. There is shopping close by and a short drive to a Walmart and Sam's Club. There are restaurants near by or a short drive to others.

Everyone working there was very helpful and always wanting to meet our needs.

We do plan on staying there again and highly recommend this resort, especially if you want to relax and/or have kids traveling with you.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs then request a first floor unit. We like to be close to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranquity, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our second stay at the Desert Paradise Resort. The staff is friendly and go out of their way to be accommodating. The units are spacious and clean. This resort is a worthwhile alternative to staying on the strip. It is quite, a short drive to all attractions and casinos, the adult pool is a relaxing escape, and the fully equipped kitchen gives you the option of eating breakfast in your room. We were able to actually relax by the pool without servers trying to peddle 25.00 cocktails and adults consuming far to much alcohol. Will continue to return to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

From friendly and courteous check in through a fast and simple check out, everything was perfect. We had a fully equipped and furnished one bedroom condo just under 1000 sq. ft. For 10 days. In suite laundry, covered parking, adult and family pools, kids splash area, games room, guest lounge, concierge, free shuttles to strip and shopping, and much, much more.

Clean and recently updated. This is a time share facility that also allows rentals. There is no obligation to attend anything to stay. No pressure, no guilt, nothing.

We were impressed enough that we elected to purchase.

Room Tip: Not a single bad room in the place. Available as one or two bedroom units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit during our week's stay at Las Vegas and we most impressed. We had apartment 240 (in Block 10) which was on the upper floor and very well appointed with huge comfortable beds, walk-in closets and large flat-screen TVs in both bedrooms. The kitchen had all the necessary appliances (except a kettle) and there was a utility room with washing machine and dryer. The only downside for this particular apartment was that the balcony area to the rear was completely overshadowed by a large tree which prevented any sunlight getting into the balcony - a minor point, since we didn't spend that much time on the balcony.

There are two linked pool areas providing two large pools, a spa pool, children's pool and a small children's play area with water features. There are ample sun loungers and gazebos with tables and chairs if you prefer the shade. Several BBQs are also situated near one of the pools.

WiFi is available in the main reception area and there are two PCs and a printed in a separate room just off reception.

The resort is only a five minute drive to The Strip but there is a courtesy coach available for those who don't wish to drive. Within a few minutes walk from the resort, there are two shopping areas with a well-stocked Walgreen's Pharmacy/Supermarket and several restaurants (including Denny's and Starbucks) for breakfasts and other meals of the day.

The staff were always very helpful and I would not hesitate to return here if visiting Las Vegas again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in a 1-bedroom unit in February 2013. We were very pleased with the place. It was very roomy, with a well-designed kitchen, a large living/dining area and roomy bedroom. It was very well equipped and had lots of closet/storage space.
The bed was very comfortable.
There was a very well-equipped games room including a pool table, foosball, games tables, etc.
The pools were beautiful, but were never busy during the time that we were there - but it was in the low season, so shouldn't have expected anything different.
There is good access to the Strip (it took about 5 minutes to drive there) but far enough away from it that it was very quiet and restful. Access to most other attractions in the Las Vegas area was very good.
Checking in and out went very smoothly.
Overall, we were very pleased with the place and would definitely consider it on our next trip to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Paradise Resort

Address: 5165 South Decatur Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89118
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#68 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Paradise Hotel Las Vegas
Sunterra Desert Paradise Resort
Desert Paradise Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.