We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Paradise Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Desert Paradise Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5165 South Decatur Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for one week, two one bedroom suites with pull out couches - worked well for our party of six. I enjoyed being away from the strip but still so close t the same time.. You could easily head up to the chaos or wander back to some peace and quiet. Overall it was really great and for the most part the staff was extremely polite and helpful. One complaint I would have is that we called day ahead and asked for a few hours earlier check-in because I our flight coming in a bit early and when we arrive our rooms weren't even close to being ready and they didn't seem too egar to accommodate what was told to us wouldn't be a problem.. We didn't end up actually in our rooms until several hours later at 4pm. Also, the "welcome package" we recieved lacked most of the content that other guests had recieved. Be sure to ask for a two for one buffet coupon at The Orleans, because we didn't receive one but all other guests staying there did.. We weren't told that they could give you a code to use the Internet on your own devices and we ended up paying a lot to use it in our rooms, until we overheard a desk clerk telling a new arriver.

The shuttle is run by a wonderful, friendly, very accommodating guy. One of the nicest most helpful people at this resort.

Shuttle runs not as often as we used it but I woul recommend the short 10 minutes walk to the Orleans hotel which has a free shuttle that will take you to Bills on the strip and runs every half hour until midnight, which is very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Desert Paradise. The 4pm check in time (and 10am check out time) provides our Housekeeping department enough time to properly prepare each and every unit that has an upcoming arrival for that day. We regret hearing that we were not able to provide you an early check in due to your units not being ready, however, we will try our best to provide an early check in (by request) when given advanced notice. However, we cannot guarantee that such request will be able to be provided. We are also sorry that your welcome package did not include content (re: coupons) that was provided for other guests. This was an oversight by our concierge department (who prepares these welcome packages) that will be looked into, and resolved internally. Wi-Fi services are provided by a 3rd party carrier and normally do have a cost to use. However, for those who belong to Diamond Resorts’ Loyalty program, and have booked their reservations directly through Diamond Resorts, they are provided a Wi-Fi code to use these services at no cost. This is very similar to other resorts and resort companies who provide such services to specific members of a particular program or membership. We are glad to hear that our accommodations, location, and services offered met your expectations, and contributed to your positive stay. Your recommendation of our resort is really appreciated, and we hope to see you again when your travels take you back to Las Vegas in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    109
    26
    12
    8
See reviews for
114
106
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Very nice and well run resort. From the moment we stepped In the front door, after traveling from south Florida on an early a.m. Flight, professionalism was the tone set at the front desk. I had booked. Resort accommodation certificate from internals international, and read several reviews on trip advisor, and felt confident that I had made the right choice for an all girls getaway. We did rent a car, and parking was not a problem. The two bedroom, two bath condo was very nicely appointed with plenty of room. We had breakfast in the condo, and then set out everyday for trips, and tours. Beds were comfortable, and the kitchen had all brand new appliances to use. We were not hassled by timeshare sales, but they were offered to us if we desired an appointment. The fitness center was very nice, and we were the only two/four in the center. The washer and dryer made it nice mid week to do a quick load of laundry. If you are looking for a nice resort off the strip, and have ,ore than just two people in your party, give this resort a try, you won't be sorry!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent stay at Desert Paradise Resort. It is our goal to make sure that every guest feels at home- surrounded by all modern conveniences, and can relax in a friendly atmosphere.
We are grateful that you have decided to recommend us to your fellow travellers-thank you!
We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were in Vegas for a conference and wanted to stay outside of the main strip. Easy 10 minute drive to the strip. The room was very nice, clean and also had a full kitchen/stove/dishes and laundry room inside. We were on the 2nd floor and there are stairs but no elevator for those who may need access. Our room was quiet and we also like that the property was gated. We had our own vehicle so cannot comment on their shuttle services. No pressure on the timeshare. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevator access for 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and exceedingly helpful; even the shuttle drivers were fun, friendly and full of tips and anecdotes. Our 1 bedroom condo was modern, clean, spacious and comfortable. Couldn't have asked for better.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind words – we’re delighted that our team helped make your vacation at the Desert Paradise Resort a memorable and enjoyable one!

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband had a business conference but I was on vacation....Less than 2 miles from the Las Vegas Blvd (the Strip). This place has minimal shuttles to the strip - but it is less than .5 miles from Orleans Casino/Resort. Orleans has a shuttle every 30 minutes from 9:30am to 12:30am to Bill's (Flamingo/Las Vegas Blvd). We used their shuttle all the time.

Full washer/dryer/kitchen. We requested a back upper unit - since Decatur is a major street. It was very quiet. There was construction going on for one of their 2 hot tubs, but they never started before 8am and never on Sunday. It did not interfere with their pool area or other hot tub.

Concierge desk in the front lobby was SO helpful - maps, discount coupons, directions. Orleans is close by and has excellent food without going to the strip. Although we went to the strip a lot for shows and dinner.

Local stores - Walgreens walking distance, food stores close by, cheap gas at Rebels gas stations about .5 miles in either direction.

The only flaw I saw was no shades in the living room/kitchen, so anyone sleeping on the pullout couch was woke up by the sun. The blinds just don't cut it!

Also - on our cleaning day they did not replenish any of the amenities (shampoo, detergent, coffee). I called the front desk to see if this was a mistake and the said yes - and sent over extra refills. So we were able to do all our laundry before coming home and coffee every day :-) Very friendly staff!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We really enjoyed this resort. very little pressure for the time share, the pool area was awesome! They have a fun little game room and a free shuttle to the strip. The rooms are clean and roomy. Couldn’t ask for anything more

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We do appreciate you leaving this review and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Desert Paradise – We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here October 12-19, 2012. This was our second trip to Vegas, and our first trip staying "off" the strip. The units are clean and spacious. As two couples, we stayed in the 2 bedroom unit and found it quite accommodating, but would have loved to have an extra chair in the living room. The kitchen was well stocked and the full size laundry was a bonus. The pool area was small in comparison to other properties, but seemed to be more than adequate for the number of people using it at any given time. The BBQs are also located in the pool area, with utensils readily available at the front desk (attached to pool area). The location provided us with easy access to main roadways in Vegas, which made travel a breeze.
The major difference between this property and our previous stay was the quality of the furnishings and the location. This property would not be my first choice if we did not have a rental car. Also, if you are looking to be part of the party crowd on the strip, and revel in the vibe it gives off, this property may not excite you. That being said, if you want a place to retreat to after a long day battling the mayhem that is Vegas, this definitely fits the bill.
On big plus this property had was the ease of access to our rental car. We always had a parking spot right in front of our unit and could just jump into our vehicle and go wherever. When staying on the strip, each casino hotel has free valet parking, but you have to wait for them to get your car (sometimes as part of a que), and then tip the valets. While this is a minor difference, after a week's stay, you notice the difference. We found it convenient to stay here, and drive to the casinos that had free valet whenever the strip was "calling" us.
Our only criticism was that the wifi was only available if you purchased it. I understand that it is a third party providing the service, but in today's electronic age, this should be something that should be PROVIDED by the resort to its guests.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an upper unit in back of the resort. Our first room backed onto Decauter and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Paradise Resort

Address: 5165 South Decatur Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89118
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#68 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Desert Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Paradise Hotel Las Vegas
Sunterra Desert Paradise Resort
Desert Paradise Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.