We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice condo and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Paradise Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Desert Paradise Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5165 South Decatur Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Temecula, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice condo and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were in Vegas for a conference and wanted to stay outside of the main strip. Easy 10 minute drive to the strip. The room was very nice, clean and also had a full kitchen/stove/dishes and laundry room inside. We were on the 2nd floor and there are stairs but no elevator for those who may need access. Our room was quiet and we also like that the property was gated. We had our own vehicle so cannot comment on their shuttle services. No pressure on the timeshare. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevator access for 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    101
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
97
96
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and exceedingly helpful; even the shuttle drivers were fun, friendly and full of tips and anecdotes. Our 1 bedroom condo was modern, clean, spacious and comfortable. Couldn't have asked for better.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind words – we’re delighted that our team helped make your vacation at the Desert Paradise Resort a memorable and enjoyable one!

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband had a business conference but I was on vacation....Less than 2 miles from the Las Vegas Blvd (the Strip). This place has minimal shuttles to the strip - but it is less than .5 miles from Orleans Casino/Resort. Orleans has a shuttle every 30 minutes from 9:30am to 12:30am to Bill's (Flamingo/Las Vegas Blvd). We used their shuttle all the time.

Full washer/dryer/kitchen. We requested a back upper unit - since Decatur is a major street. It was very quiet. There was construction going on for one of their 2 hot tubs, but they never started before 8am and never on Sunday. It did not interfere with their pool area or other hot tub.

Concierge desk in the front lobby was SO helpful - maps, discount coupons, directions. Orleans is close by and has excellent food without going to the strip. Although we went to the strip a lot for shows and dinner.

Local stores - Walgreens walking distance, food stores close by, cheap gas at Rebels gas stations about .5 miles in either direction.

The only flaw I saw was no shades in the living room/kitchen, so anyone sleeping on the pullout couch was woke up by the sun. The blinds just don't cut it!

Also - on our cleaning day they did not replenish any of the amenities (shampoo, detergent, coffee). I called the front desk to see if this was a mistake and the said yes - and sent over extra refills. So we were able to do all our laundry before coming home and coffee every day :-) Very friendly staff!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We really enjoyed this resort. very little pressure for the time share, the pool area was awesome! They have a fun little game room and a free shuttle to the strip. The rooms are clean and roomy. Couldn’t ask for anything more

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We do appreciate you leaving this review and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Desert Paradise – We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here October 12-19, 2012. This was our second trip to Vegas, and our first trip staying "off" the strip. The units are clean and spacious. As two couples, we stayed in the 2 bedroom unit and found it quite accommodating, but would have loved to have an extra chair in the living room. The kitchen was well stocked and the full size laundry was a bonus. The pool area was small in comparison to other properties, but seemed to be more than adequate for the number of people using it at any given time. The BBQs are also located in the pool area, with utensils readily available at the front desk (attached to pool area). The location provided us with easy access to main roadways in Vegas, which made travel a breeze.
The major difference between this property and our previous stay was the quality of the furnishings and the location. This property would not be my first choice if we did not have a rental car. Also, if you are looking to be part of the party crowd on the strip, and revel in the vibe it gives off, this property may not excite you. That being said, if you want a place to retreat to after a long day battling the mayhem that is Vegas, this definitely fits the bill.
On big plus this property had was the ease of access to our rental car. We always had a parking spot right in front of our unit and could just jump into our vehicle and go wherever. When staying on the strip, each casino hotel has free valet parking, but you have to wait for them to get your car (sometimes as part of a que), and then tip the valets. While this is a minor difference, after a week's stay, you notice the difference. We found it convenient to stay here, and drive to the casinos that had free valet whenever the strip was "calling" us.
Our only criticism was that the wifi was only available if you purchased it. I understand that it is a third party providing the service, but in today's electronic age, this should be something that should be PROVIDED by the resort to its guests.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an upper unit in back of the resort. Our first room backed onto Decauter and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper National Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I spent Oct 23-30 at this great property.

We arrived shortly before 7pm and were greeted by a very friendly and helpful front desk agent who whisked through the standard check-in rigmarole while outlining the features and amenities of the property.

The room was a beautiful air conditioned one bedroom apartment. Our until, 233, featured a fully stocked and equipped kitchen, loads of closet and storage space, in unit washer and drier, a safe in the walk-in closet, and a private balcony. The bathroom was very well appointed with the toilet separated from the bathtub/shower by a door. The only issue we had was getting the water to turn on in the shower. I called the desk and before I was done hanging up the phone maintenance was there to show us how it works.

Unfortunately we didn't spend much time around the property and didn't use the pool at all, but everything looked very well maintained and quite appealing. There was one hot tub that was under renovation, but no one seemed put off by it.

Wifi is available for purchase through AT&T. I paid approx. $35 for the week and found the signal and service to be excellent and well worth the price.

We found that parking easy to find and never had an issue getting a space close to our unit.

Access to the resort is restricted by a gate with a code provided upon arrival. I believe they said the gate closes at 7pm, but we always came home well after this so I'm just guessing.

in the morning they provide complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby, it was a generous effort which was greatly appreciated, but the coffee was basically useless brown water. However, It did do the trick each morning until I was able to hunt down some higher octane java elsewhere. I found the "Coffee Bean" chain to be pretty good and they have a few locations on and off the strip.

We drove ourselves to and from the strip each day and found that accessing Decatur even at the busiest times was not too difficult. Several major roads that run perpendicular to the strip are easily accessed such as Tropicana, Flamingo, and Hacienda to name a few.

Overall we are very impressed with the resort, the staff, and the location! When we are in Las vegas this will be our new property of choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here. We were delighted to read that our accommodations, amenities, location, and staff exceeded your expectations. Your feedback about the coffee offered in our lobby is appreciated. We are truly sorry that this coffee did not meet your approval and will definitely see about improving the quality of our coffee going forward. Not sure if you were aware of the scheduled shuttle services offered that will take you to several points along the strip and back. We truly appreciate your recommendation, and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velva, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We enjoyed the pool area so much. You have a choice of 2 pools and both are very nice. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. We really needed the couch in the living room and well after 1 attempt on trying to sleep on the pull out couch, she gave up and just slept on the couch. They need NEW mattresses on the pull outs. You could feel everything in the mattress. It was horrible.
That was the only down side. The beds in the rooms were awesome. The units are clean, it is quiet and well taken care of. The rooms are large and the walk in closets are so nice. Full size laundry is awesome. It is nice to get away from the strip and just have peace and quiet. We will stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Paradise Resort

Address: 5165 South Decatur Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89118
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Paradise Hotel Las Vegas
Sunterra Desert Paradise Resort
Desert Paradise Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.