We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy quality, decor is stunning.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Artisan Hotel to your Saves list
Artisan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 West Sahara Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dreamy quality, decor is stunning.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I have mixed reviews about this place. Let me start with the good stuff, because the good is really good. The facade of the building is gorgeous, it feels like something out of an old Hollywood movie. The inside is stunning, it has a dreamy yet dark feeling to it. I felt like I was in a David Lynch movie, but in a really good way. The furniture, to the fountain in the lobby, to all the art... There are no words. Pictures nor words can do the atmosphere justice. It's very close to the strip, I liked being able to get to the craziness of the strip quickly and then being able to come back to a calm environment. Quick tip: free parking at Circus Circus on the strip, then you can walk around and explore. As far as the other reviews talking about how noisy the Artisan is, we did not experience this at all. We stayed on a Tuesday and it was mellow and peaceful. The restaurant was a tad pricey for what it was, but the food was good and the waiter was really nice and helpful with our questions. I can't remember his name unfortunately. One thing to remember though, it only opens at 4pm.

Onto the bad. And I usually don't notice this kind of stuff nor complain about it, but it really bugged me. The room itself was really nice, and all rooms have a different theme based on different artists. The problem was the cleanliness of the room. It was really dusty, there was hair in the shower and the faucet in the sink was dirty. Like I said, I don't usually complain about things like this but it bothered me a lot.
I would stay here again because for what it is, the price was right and the atmosphere was really nice. However I really hope that someone from the hotel reads this and tries to improve on the cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARTISAN_MSWAIN, General Manager at Artisan Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Missfree_asabird,

I am happy to hear you had such a good time and enjoyed the decor.
I also shared your review with our housekeeping manager to address
the room issues you had. Please feel free to contact me on your next
trip to Las Vegas. Mswain@artisanhotel.com

Michael Swain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    55
    30
    24
    46
See reviews for
14
92
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

From the moment I walked in. If it could have went wrong . It most certainly did. I was never informed that the hotel was under construction. The main lobby was have the tile replaced. "Very, very loud for hours at a time !"
The hotel has no where to eat during the day. (restaurant opens at 4 p.m.)
The pools lounge chairs are "absolutely filthy !" My first of 3 rooms we were moved to . The tv. was sitting on the floor, 2 nd room, air conditioner did not work. 3 rd room. There were black hairs on the toilet roll, toilet seat and in.the sink. Elevator has a mind of its own. May-work, may not work.
The manager on duty can not care less about you or your stay. "Never once tried to rectify any of the many issues.
Lastly, we were never told that the place was used to shoot pornographic films there ! Swinger's were asking to swap partners with my wife and I.
We were turned off immediately. Lifestyles magazine was doing a photo shoot about the Swinger life style at one point.
The hotel needs a whole lot of repairs, and the management needs to take management and skills courses !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARTISAN_MSWAIN, General Manager at Artisan Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Bill and Tina,

If you could, please contact me to discuss your stay further.
I would like to get more details on who you had spoke with.
I can tell you we where making some minor upgrades during your
stay that are now complete. We have finished all tile work in the lobby
and reupholstered all pool furniture. I think if you gave us a second
chance you would have a much better time. Please feel free to reach
out to me.


Michael Swain
General Manager
mswain@artisanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Advice for People Visiting The Artisan Who Are Not Hotel Guests:
Don't Wear Shorts.
Advice for the Doorman Who Told Us We Could Not Enter Because We Had Shorts On:
You REALLY need to treat people with decency, humility, and respect if you are going to turn people away on a Thursday night.
Our interaction went like this:
Me: Hi
Doorman: (Thrusts body in front of entrance)
(Awkward silence)
Me: Can we go in?
Doorman: (In a snooty tone that I am not imagining) Not in shorts you are not. Unless you are a guest.
So, we left.
I highly doubt that I will get a response to this from the manager, as other reviewers have. But suffice to say, this left a really bad taste in my mouth. Granted, we are tourists who are ignorant of the Artisan's dress code on a Thursday, but had the doorman said, with a smile, that he was sorry, but shorts long pants are required, I would have understood. I mean, I have been to Las Vegas about 25 times (not an exaggeration; see my other reviews) in the last 12 years, and I know the way Vegas works.
But...
I also know that in a town like Las Vegas, if you are not going to be courteous and instead decide to treat people like something you scrape off your show, I am a.) going to spend my money elsewhere, and b.) going to tell others to spend their money elsewhere.
Do I sound bitter? Okay. But that's because The Artisan acted poorly.
Take your hard-earned dollars elsewhere: Life has enough other opportunities to be treated poorly, so don't pay a place to do so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARTISAN_MSWAIN, General Manager at Artisan Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello kabbagehead,

I apolgize for what you had experienced at the door of the night club.
We have since made changes on how we operate the door.
We no longer have security at the entrance but a customer
service host. I completly understand how this could put such
a bad taste in someones mouth. Please contact me the next time
you come to Las Vegas. I promise you will have a great time at the
club and I can set you up with rooms as well.

Michael Swain
General Manager
mswain@artisanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Been to the artisan before and usually. The food. And service wash great. This time i went with my daughter. The meal wash around 250.00 the food wash just okay our. Water wash serverd in plastic glasses and the dinner show was offencive when i tryed to complain the management didn't. Seem to care. The bar service. Was slow the show was so bad my daughter finelly had attention her meal out of a to go box away from the dinning area

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARTISAN_MSWAIN, General Manager at Artisan Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello,

I called you a few times and got your voicemail. I apoligze you did
not have a good time during the dining comedy show. The show
is meant for 21 and over only and is every other monday. This is not
a typical dinning experience at the Artisan during these nights. Please
feel free to contact me. We would love to have you come back on
one of our regular nights.

Michael Swain
General Manager
mswain@artisanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My friend said he'd read some good reviews of The Artisan Boutique Hotel in Las Vegas. Nevada, and asked if I wanted to stay there when we went for the Billy Idol concert in May. After Googling the hotel, I immediately said (with a "Rebel Yell"), "Hell yes."

We loved it. Every member of the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I needed some help with an airline problem, and the front desk staff was more than willing to stop what they were doing to assist me. The valets were fast and funny. They took great care of our little Fiat, and didn't make too much fun of the "clown car" they thought we lifted from Circus Circus.

Immediately upon entering the hotel, you are overwhelmed by all the art, ALL THE ART, all the art everywhere - even on the ceiling!! It's truly a stunning facility, and I don't know how long you would have to stay to see all of the art - there is that much to see!! Despite reviews about it being noisy, the staff even offers complimentary earplugs at check-in, my friend and I were NOT at all disturbed by the noise. We stayed three nights, on a major summer holiday weekend, and we didn't have a noise problem any of the nights! People who complain about the noise would probably complain about anything. Don't listen to those reviews. The pool party on Saturday afternoon was a blast - great DJ, great party!! I'd recommend it for any couple wanting to have a fun experience in Las Vegas!!

Our room was large, and extremely clean, The bed was lush and comfy.The bathroom was clean. Plenty of towels.... Not a single thing to complain about.

After my visit, I emailed the hotel manager to ask him about a painting I saw. He was kind enough to check the hotel listing and email me the name of the artist!!! Now, that's above and beyond the call of duty! Thanks, Michael Swain!

Room Tip: After reading the reviews about it being noisy, my friend asked for a room away from the noise, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARTISAN_MSWAIN, General Manager at Artisan Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Shannon.

Thank you so much for your great review!! I was happy to help find your
favorite artist too!! The Artisan is a small property and all of the staff loves to help and
get know our guest. We look forward to having you back. Be sure to let me know
when you are coming. We will get you the Artisan VIP Rate!

Michael Swain
General Manager
mswain@artisanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't fully explain the experience I have had at this hotel, it was very beautiful as art work was everywhere to be seen. the front desk had some of the most sincere and giving employee. if you go you may meet Ashley or I listen to beautiful women who will be there to help you. there is a restaurant with very great food for the morning as you wake up or in the evening as you wish to simmer down and go to rest. or if you're like me I like to play the piano but I do not own one, there is a baby grand piano in the restaurant which they allowed me to play just because I asked. there is an amazing cool and yes it is topless for any of you boys out there.ha. there is a party nearly every night it is a great scene if you like to stay active. again any questions involving what it is like to stay at the artisan Hotel just talk with the two beautiful women Ashley and Allison

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARTISAN_MSWAIN, General Manager at Artisan Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Tookiez69,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us what a great time you had.
Also thank you for giving recognition to Ashley and Allison. I have shared
your comments with them and the corporate staff. Please come back
and see us soon!

Michael Swain
General Manager
mswain@artisanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We walked in saw that the place was pet freindly, and also located close to the hospital, your staff was the most freindly to my mother and I, Tara Lead, was at the front desk and said that if we really wanted to get some rest that , 'it would be loud that night' they were having some kind of music in the bar that night that went from 10:00 P.M. till 4:00 and we probley would not get good rest. she was honest, i want your company to know that your motel is beautiful and staff is wonderful. tara even looked on map quest and found us a motel that was pet freindly, Under the stress of having my father life fighted in, I want to thank you, Wendy Laflamme

Room Tip: choose a high room on the 5th floor if the music might bother you.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARTISAN_MSWAIN, General Manager at Artisan Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Wendy,

Thank you for letting me know about the staff and your good experience.
If you want to come back and stay please let me know.

Michael Swain
General Manager
mswain@artisanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artisan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Hotel

Address: 1501 West Sahara Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89102
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Artisan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-Gaming Boutique Hotel located 1/2 mile from the Strip. The interior features numerous bronze statues and paintings by Artists such as Van Gogh, Cezanne, Renoir and more. A Las Vegas favorite, experience the soft candle lit ambiance throughout the Lobby, Lounge and romantic Fine Dining Room. Exchange vows in the Eurpoean Wedding Chapel or in a Cabana within the lush surroundings of the Mediterranean Pool. Experience Las Vegas' best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Artisan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artisan Hotel Las Vegas
Artisan Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.