We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Desert to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
montana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had 5 in our group so we decided to try this place because of the 2bed/2bath set up.....no brainer....full kitchen and living room area with a pull out sofa....the master bedroom is huge with a huge bathroom also......the other bedroom has 2 queen beds.....all 3 areas have flat screen TV's.....3 pools on site and the best one for our group was the adult pool.....not overly crowded....Grand Desert is located right behind the MGM....we had a car so did not need to use the shuttle that is available....inside and outside parking with no extra charge.......you can easily walk to the strip if you wanted......I booked my room thru VRBO at a very reasonable price.....would have been the same for 2 hotel rooms, but this was better because we had the kitchen and we were all in the same area....free wifi with a good signal.....I am single and took my kids and friends and once the time share people found out I was single they didn't even look my way or bug me at all......I highly recommend this place and our group will definitely make this an option when visiting Vegas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you so much mtripguy for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Grand Desert. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our amenities exceeded your expectaions. Thanks for mentioning the fact that we have a shuttle that runs every 20 to 30 minutes that will take you to Harrah's. We also have a shuttle that will take you to the grocery store if you should want to pick up perhaps breakfast items so you can cook in your units kitchen. We are pleased to hear that you will stay with us again in the future. Be sure to let your family and friends know about your pleasurable time at the Grand Desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    444
    112
    43
    29
See reviews for
391
366
24
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My sister and I met in Vegas and stayed at the Wyndham Grand Dessert Resort as guests of a family member. The property is beautiful and extremely well cared for by its employees. I had a nice 6 hour observation of their work while I waited for the phone call that never came to tell me my room was ready. To the little lady that went from cleaning windows, to taking out trash and even mopping the parking lot, you deserve a raise as I was tired just watching you. As for the long wait, I took naps here and there and finally cut the line at 4p to find out what was going on. At first I approached the lady at the VIP desk who was waiting on no one but told me she could not help me as I wasn't VIP. After 6 hrs in the lobby, I should have been at the top of someone's list so I walked over to the check in area for regular people. Of course, I was given the speech that the carpets were drying but miraculously the room was suddenly ready. Our room was very clean with the exception of the shower which looked like it just needed work but I had shoes for that. My sister used Clorox wipes as she didn't want to trust it. It was extremely hot so I didn't see much of the outside but the family game area had the kids in there hooked to the video games. I didn't order food as I'd read the reviews about how greasy it is. We took the free shuttle to Harrah's everyday which gave us access to many other places. It was nice to get away from the strip but a Sunday check in is not ideal if you arrive a little early and expect to get a room by 2p.

On a side note, I found the timeshare sales people in the strip to be quite annoying as they were everywhere. I thought it was bad enough to have to be sent to the sales desk at check in so they could see if you qualified. What a downer when you're trying to have a nice vacation away from the pressures of life!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
iido1 thank you so much for your review of your stay at the Grand Desert. Please accept my apology for the long wait at check in. It appears once you finally got to your unit the trip/vacation was enjoyable. It appears that you do your homework prior to booking or going on vacation. As our guests we hope that our associates and amenities provided you with an overall enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you and family and friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel was gorgeous! It is located off of the main strip but it was still close enough. The staff was great! the room was spacious it had everything you would need. the finishes of the room were high end. It was really a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
postgirl thank you so much for your review of your stay at the Grand Desert. Your review was short and sweet. You hit all the major amenties we have to offer and enjoy. The property, the units and location, but most importantly our associates who enjoy interacting with our guests so much on a daily basis. We hope to see you along with family and friends in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of the Grand Desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, Maine
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. Upon arrival out reservation wasn't quite right. But they gave us two rooms. Two kitchens, two bath, 2 laundry rooms, etc. It was great for out party of 7. We enjoyed our stay very much. If you don't want to stay on the strip, this place is very convenient. It's a street away and they will shuttle you to the strip. We would stay again. He hotel was clean and beautiful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Tellitlikeitis04901 thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Grand Desert. We are so pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you would stay with us again in the future. We strive to make each of our guests feel comfortable while they are with us. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere in Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Everything is excellent at this resort. The rooms are very big, beds comfortable, 3 pools to choose from. Full kitchen with dishes, cutlery, big fridge. Nobody bothered us with time share offers. Check in was quick and efficient. The hotel is located a short walking distance from MGM. There is a free shuttle to Harrah's. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much Deah222 for your review of the Grand Desert. We were so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic time while you were with us. Your review was short but very much to the point of all the amenities we offer at the resort. Once again I want to thank you for your review and we hope to see you and family and friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stay here once a year. The service is excellent. The shuttle to Harrah's is such a blessing. We love the adult pool and hot tub. Housekeeping and maintenance were very attentive. An outlet was out and fixed so quickly. This year they added a movie theater with 29 seats. While it is hot outside, we saw Non Stop, The Rise of the Empire in 3d and Noah the day before it came out on dvd. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. It was strange that there are no outlets by the living room table. You can't sit at the table with your lap top plugged in. The sofa in the living room was not comfortable. It needed some throw pillows to help out, since it was sagging and the back was worn. Other than that, we had a blast. The shuttle to the airport is a blessing. I miss the limos. They fit more people than the Cadillac Escalade SUV does.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
flgrays thank you so much for your great review of the Grand Desert. We are so pleased that you stay with us yearly. It was wonderful that you took advantage of our new movie theater. You are so right on when you said a movie is great when it's so hot outside. Thank you for your comments on the beds and sofa. I will pass your comments on to our management team. Please be sure to tell your family and friends about your experience and we can't wait for you to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I went to Vegas for our anniversary, and this place was great. We really enjoyed our stay. We were close enough to the strip to enjoy ourselves and see the sites, but still off the beaten path. They had a shuttle service to take you back and forth to the strip for a small fee, and you get one free pass at check-in.

They also had shuttle service to several other places like outlet shopping, Freemont street experience, the grocery store all for a fee. I didn't use any of these services because we rented a car, and drove ourselves around.

The rooms were nice and everything was clean. The only thing I didn't like about the room, was there were no windows that I could open or a balcony. I know it's hot in Vegas, but I always like being able to open windows and get some fresh air.

We especially enjoyed the adults only pool. It was very nice to be able to have an area where we could enjoy the pool without being splashed by kids or have to listen to the screaming and playing that kids usually do when in a pool. There were plenty of beach towels, and I especially enjoyed that I was able to take a beach towel, and then toss it in the hamper without having to keep up with it the entire stay like at some places. (even though its not environmentally friendly, but I still enjoyed it.)

Also, enjoyed the social activities such as the jazz social with margaritas, and chips and salsa.

We did endure a time share presentation to get the 125 dollar restaurant voucher. It was a hard sell, but my husband and I managed to say No.

One last great thing, is it was close to the airport.

Really enjoyed the stay, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank your so much Dorothy D for your review of the Grand Desert. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your aniversary with us. We also want to thank you for the detailed review of our amenities and activities. We hope to see you and your family and friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.