We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Desert

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Grand Desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - 20% Off
Ranked #23 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This firstly is NOT a HOTEL It is an apartment building We stayed for 5 days in June and thoroughly enjoyed it.
We did the timeshare presentation for a relax on the first morning. We knew about it before booking. Enjoyed the free meal and show tickets
Would never buy one though as we are too old to get the benefit out of it and anyway they don't have resorts in a lot of places we like to go.
The staff were friendly and helpful even when our booking was mucked up but was fixed instantly.
The shuttle to the Strip ran often and regularly. Had no trouble with tickets etc.
We walked to the strip sometimes and it was only 10 mins straight down Harmon to Planet Hollywood.
Always be ready to walk in Vegas its frequently faster than driving on the Strip
Our apartment was nice but sofa was a bit saggy, appreciated the washer/dryer
and all facilities worked including the WIFI at all times.
Had noisy feral neighbors the last night but not the resorts fault.
It cost us $65 a night and was a bargain. Would stay there again at that price.

Don't know what all the negatives are about We make our own beds in hotels and don't request maid service anywhere. Just ask for towels if needed.
Some people are just lazy I guess

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you Graham H for you detailed review of the Grand Desert. We were so pleased to hear that you had a great experience and also that you felt our associates were attentive and all your needs were met. We thank you again and hope to see you and your family and friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    380
    94
    36
    26
See reviews for
341
313
22
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed in 4 bedroom presidential suite, 10 people and plenty of room. The suite was huge, 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, living room with fireplace, large kitchen and on 15th floor in tower 2 overlooking the pool. Resort is very well maintained, adult only and family pools, several hot tubs, pool bar, and free shuttle service to Harrah's. Within walking distance to Hard Rock & Planet Hollywood.

Room Tip: Presidential suites are larger than normal rooms and nicer furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much Cindy R for your review of the Grand Desert. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and were so pleased to hear that you had a great time. We pride ourselves on delivering a great experience for each of our guests while they are with us.
Thank you again and we hope to see you and your family and friend again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

PROS
* Spacious: Wow - the 3 bedroom unit was incredibly spacious.
* Clean Rooms
* Great pool
* Nice activities center: The kids loved that you could borrow 2 movies per night

CONS
* Views: We had views of walls, windows, and rooftops
* Theater: The hotel offered a free Theater, but the kids couldn't go anytime in the evenings because they seemed to only play rated "R" movies after 7pm
* High Pressure Sales: During the check-in process, they kept pressuring us to attend the 90 minute breakfast. I kept saying No, but they always responded with another reason to attend. I finally had to almost scream "NO" before they stopped.
*It's a good walk from the strip. If you have smaller kids that tire easy, you might want to take a cab

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you Tim E for writing a review on TripAdvisor of the Grand Desert. We appreciate al of your feedback. We were so pleased to hear all the things you enjoyed about our resort. We do apologize for any challenges you may have encountered. We do want you to know that we do have a shuttle that will take you to Harrah's and bring you back to the resort. We hope to see you again along with your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Wyndham Grand Resort. I only stayed there a couple days but it was worth it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds and buildings were kept clean. They offered a shuttle to the strip which was very helpful and they played movies in their 3D theater which gave me something to do when I just wanted to relax.

With that being said I will say that I was not happy with the food in their cafe. I know that most of their guest might utilize their kitchens in their rooms but for guest like me who came to get away from my everyday. Cooking is the last thing on my mind I prefer to have someone else do it for me lol.

All and all I am looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
MSWalder703 thank you so much for your review of the Grand Desert on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all that you shared with us. We hope that the next time you visit you allow us to chat with you and gather your thoughts on what type of food you would prefer at our Cafe?
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you and your family and friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a 3 night stay in the midst of a 7 night stay at a nearby resort. We anticipated moving over to Wyndham Grand Desert based on reviews of both. We only stayed 1 night at Wybdham and went back to our original resort. The room was clean and comfortable, but small compared to other Wyndham properties we have stayed at. The bed was large and very comfortable and the Jacuzzi bath was amazing. However, there was an opening in between the bedroom and bath that gave VERY little privacy in the bathroom. They attempted to put shutters in the opening, but they were too small and while in the bed, you could easily see someone using the bathroom!

The kitchen was small with very few appliances, there was no balcony and the property itself was confusing to navigate. It was convenient to Paris Hotel on the Strip which was nice.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Tracey P thank your for your review on TripAdvisor. We apologize that the unit did not meet your expectations. We did appreciate your thoughts on our cleanliness and the overall atmosphere of the resort. If you should have a chance to stay at the Grand Desert in the future we do have other units they may suit your needs a bit better. Also, we understand about navigating around the property, but please ask any of our associates and they will be more than happy to provide either a tour or directions to get right where you need to be.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We returned home with positive thoughts all around. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable. We had a large group in a large unit and people were considering becoming owners. The pools were beautiful. The business center nicely outfitted. The location and easy walk to Ellis Island, Hard Rock, or the MGM. Check in is 4:00pm and we were able to get in the room a half-hour early. Check out is 10:00am. Staff was friendly and seemed to truly care about helping you or offering a pleasant experience. If I were going to pick something a part, I would say the sofa bed in our room was tired. Thank you Wyndham Grand Desert.

Green Features: They provide recycle bags as well as trash bags in the rooms. Travelers are encouraged to donate unopened leftover food to be donated to local people who need help.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you Mammo516 for your review of the Grand Desert. We appreciate you comments on our associates as well as the check in and overall amenities that we offer. We also appreciate your comment on the sofa. We do updates often and we hope that the next time you stay with us we meet or exceed your expectations.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at Wyndham Grand Desert for three nights in May 2014. Large suite with bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom with tube. Free frequent (every 20 minutes) shuttle to and from the strip. Nice swimming pools. It is relaxing, as it is not a gambling place. I liked it to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much laendersammler for your review of the Grand Desert. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and hopefully took advantage of our shuttle that takes you the the Las Vegas strip. We hope you will tell you family and friends about your experience and we hope to see you again.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.