We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Desert to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 20% Off
Ranked #27 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is one of the best resorts we've stayed in. Friendly and helpful service, clean, lots of security, close to strip with free shuttle to Harrah's (we never waited more than 8 minutes for one of their many shuttle buses), plus they have daily shuttles to the grocery store ($4). We are not a time share owner but attended the sales pitch even though we were not obligated to. Because we had no need to buy the sales pitch was low key but according to other web comments you may experience otherwise. For us, the free show tickets plus $75 food voucher was worth the 2-hour presentation. We'd stay there again.

Green Features: Recycle services would be good. I don't think Las Vegas recycles, even your money... they just keep as much as they can get.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    416
    104
    39
    27
See reviews for
366
344
24
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a two bedroom lock-off for Labor Day weekend for three couples. The room was clean, the service friendly, and the facilities were great, as expected. We used the hot tub and it was comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying here and we will definitely be back. The resort is located only a short walk from the strip. The suites are perfectly sized and the full kitchen make having a meal more enjoyable and less expensive. The pool was a good place to relax before enjoying a night out in Vegas. The staff members were friendly, knowledgable, and very accommodating. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was my first time and I certainly hope to return ASAP! I had a one bedroom with a full kitchen unit. Everything was very clean and very nice. Service was also very good. Parking was provided and the location is within walking distance of the strip, just a few blocks from the Bellagio.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our third time staying at this resort and each stay gets even better. We liked it so much that we've now added it as one of our Wyndham Vacation Ownership home resorts. We've also rented numerous reservations to other vacationers and everyone has had a very positive experience.

The resort is located just off the Strip, behind the MGM Grand and Planet Hollywood. There is shuttle service to the Strip, but we did not use it as we drove out to Sin City. It was very easy to drive down the street and be on the Strip!

We stayed in a 2BR Lockoff this trip, which is a huge unit as it combines a 1BR Deluxe with a 1BR Suite. We were also lucky enough to be able to get a room in the Primo Torre (Tower 2) that had a view of the Strip. The 2BRLO features a large kitchen on one side and a smaller kitchenette on the other side. Both were well-equipped with dishes, silverware, pots, pans and a full-size refrigerator.

With summer already in full effect, the pool area is the highlight of the resort's amenities. We spent at least a couple of hours each day splashing in the pool or lounging poolside.

Lastly, the staff was very friendly and helpful, from our very smooth check-in to answering questions throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the Strip for a great night time view of the lights of the Las Vegas Strip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband & I stayed Friday to Friday the first week of August during our first trip to Las Vegas. We were so pleased when our flight came in nearly 3 hours earlier than their regular check-in time, and they still had a 2 bedroom deluxe suite available in Tower 2 (the main tower) overlooking the pools. I had checked out pictures on Trip Advisor & Oyster so I already had an idea what the room would look like, and it matched it exactly. Specifically we really enjoyed the mattress (as we have in another updated Wyndham property) and having a washer/dryer in the unit. We think they could improve the living room area and have a couch & loveseat instead of a couch & 1 chair, and we thought it was quite odd that the master bathroom does not have a door so anyone showering or taking a bath can be exposed (though there is a door to the ‘water closet’). I’m sure you’ve heard the saying: “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.” Well that is how I should probably keep it when it comes to our disappointment in the owner management staff, and how we wish we didn’t have to face the bombardment of buying additional points every time we vacation. If we want to purchase more points we will – so when we tell you “no” we mean it. Otherwise the resort is fabulous. We took advantage of some of the resorts activities (some do have fees) including beer tasting (free), trip to the Welcome sign, Freemont Street experience (round trip transportation), grocery shopping, and their partnership with Maverick Helicopters for a flight over the strip at night (which was awesome). Not many people seemed to do this like we did, and for the price and convenience we weren’t sure why. We enjoyed the adult pool very much too and went almost every day. It was heated (felt the water from a jet one day), but mostly the solar heat keeps it very comfortable. It's only 3-4 feet in any place so mostly people just wade around and talk to each other. They provide pool 'noodles' for just the adult pool so many people floated around on them. It was fairly busy at times but we never had an issue finding 2 chairs next to each other, and there were enough towels to go for days. You can drink around and in the pool, and though there is a drink cabana outside the prices are high. We brought drinks down from our room to save money. The small convenience store is also expensive as others have mentioned, but it is certainly convenient offering some food, beer, drinks, toiletries, clothes and Las Vegas collectables. The shuttle to the Harrah’s was great, and even though they give you each a ‘pass’ the drivers never checked it. Guess they figure if you’re there you know what you’re doing. We didn’t rent a car so it was so nice not to have to walk to and from the strip every time. The walk is longer than it looks on Harmon Ave, and when you’re doing it in 100 degree weather it can really wear you out. One day we wanted to go to the Mandalay Bay for lunch, and just thought we would get the bell hop to get us a cab. Instead he offered to take us in one of the WGD limos which was much better than a cranky cabbie (which we got on the way back). I don’t think this happens all the time, but we just happened to be in the right place at the right time. Same thing happened when we checked out for our very early morning flight. We were taken to the airport in a town car for the same price as a taxi. We do plan on visiting Las Vegas again, and will probably try out a smaller room just because we didn’t need the extra space of a 2 bedroom like we thought we would. Overall Las Vegas was wonderful and though we didn’t strike it rich on this trip we hope in the future we do! (I'll also try to post pictures of things other reviewers haven't posted)

Room Tip: Tower 2 is supposed to be the most updated and the pool view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first time staying at this resort we use Wyndham resorts all over the world when we travel and this Resort is just as nice as most of them are it was clean and secure and the grounds are nice the only thing I thought they could improve on is more places to eat at the facility and better times for the pool and the eating that they did have I mean you are in Las Vegas and the operatng hours for all of there emenities were the same as all the other resorts when you go to Las Vegas you really tend to do things around the clock so it would have been nice to have later hours. We normally stay on the Strip like at Luxor or Mandalay Bay and staying there is more convienent but if you want to be close to the strip and have quiet then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.