We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, very clean, beautiful view of the strip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Desert to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 20% Off
Ranked #29 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, very clean, beautiful view of the strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Initially we had a problem with the free shuttle from Paris to the resort. We were told that we coudn't bring suitcases onto the free shuttle and ended up having to take a taxi cab instead. We were not in a good mood when we got there but the staff quickly remedied the situation by paying for the cab and putting us in the "new" building (#3) on the 13th floor with an amazing view of the strip and not to mention a 24 hour pool and hot tub in that building. Although, the hot tub was not in service until the last day of our stay :( they did have 3 other hot tubs but they were located at the other buildings and it would of been a cold walk back to our buidling since it was only in the 30's at night. The rooms were clean, newly decorated and the beds & pillows were amazing! The only thing about our room is that the walls were paper thin and we could here the neighbors in the adjoining room loud and clear. We did take the Red Rock Canyon Tour through Wyndham Activities Center. Jen, our tour guide from Wyndham, was extremely knowledgable and made our trip very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this if you haven't seen the Red Rock Canyon yet. We are owner's at another Vacation Resort and visited here as friends of a Wyndham Owner and were for the most part very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on a top level for a great view of the strip. Bldg. 3 has a 24 hr pool & hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    418
    105
    39
    28
See reviews for
367
345
24
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My best friend and I had a 3 bedroom suite for a weekend birthday getaway (Happy 25th, gorgeous girl!). More friends were supposed to join us, but sadly it ended up being just the two of us and to be honest it was the perfect amount of space. The suite was amazing; clean, bright and stocked with everything you need, although it took us a while to find the hair dryers. Hint: they are under the sink! But anyway, everything was great. The water was hot and it was quiet; we have no complaints. I must admit though, my favorite part of the whole property was the starbucks cart right in the lobby.

The staff was incredibly helpful. Everyone was so friendly! Specifically Dakota. He was by far the most helpful person there. My friend and I missed the shuttle by just a few minutes and Dakota went above and beyond to stop it before it left the property so we wouldn't have to wait another 30 minutes for the next one. Dakota: if you ever see this, thank you so much! You are the best! My friend and I hope to see you on our next visit :) We will definitely be back someday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The 0nly reason I didn't give it the best rating was the shower pressure. It was very low in both units. Also I thought we had no coffee filters for coffee the first morning. When I called down they were quick to bring more. Surprise!! They're in the coffee caraffe.

10 of us got there to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. 7, 21 year olds. Originally had 10 of us in a 2 bedroom because no 3 was available. What was I thinking. Finally 2 days before I rethought this & booked an additional 1 bedroom. It was great. The 7 girls were down the hall. Since these were all broke college girls, I did alot of cooking. The 2 bedroom had full size appliances, but even cooking in the 1 bedroom with the smaller appliances was fine. I picked up groceries before we got to the hotel. When we got there, the 1 bedroom was ready so the bell staff was very helpful taking everyones luggage & groceries to the room. The staff is Very helpful.

The shuttle to Harrahs is great. Every 20 min. It's about 4 blocks to the right to the Hard Rock Hotel. Also there is a CVS across from there that I visited often for additional groceries. Also if you turn left out of the hotel & walk about 4 blocks you get to the convention entrance to MGM. Walk thru the covention center & hotel & you're on the strip.

I would definately come back here. For anyone with a family, this is the place to be.
Also, when we left they called for the Wyndham limo to take us to the airport. It is complimentary. They do recommend you tip the driver what it would cost by taxi. $20 was what they recommended. Very nice ride.

Room Tip: Tower 2 has the lobby. We stayed in tower 3. It was fine. Shuttle stops at all 3 towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is my second time staying at this facility...I like it because it is not far from the strip and the staff is warm and friendly...the shuttle is available as stated...clean clean clean...a full kitchen with granite and washer and dryer In the room

Room Tip: Loved being on the 15th fl...very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Exactly what we were looking for! ?

Maybe not. After checking in, we remembered that this is basically a VRBO with all the self service you can provide. The desk clerk will get you your keys and your wifi info.
The fun starts when you get directed towards the other desk for all your "freebies". Cash, free shows, discounts, and a free breakfast are offered if you just check off a box here that says you agree to sit through a time-share presentation.
To their credit, they gave up soon after I made it clear that we were not interested in the gifts nor the undoubtedly very interesting presentation.
The room was left completely dismantled by the cleaning staff. We had to spend the first hour putting dishes and utensils away, rebuilding the stovetop, putting cushions in their rightful place on the sofa, etc.
Once set up, it was quite nice.

A brisk walk in an easterly direction will get you to the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino, the grand UNLV campus and farther yet, The Whisky Attic (a must for Whisky lovers).

Go west and you end up on The Strip at the Harley Davidson restaurant (not recommended for the grub) or Planet Hollywood. Check out the Hitzville Revue at PH if you love that Holland/Dozier/Holland sound of Motown.

Walk North if Ellis Island is what you're seeking. We were strongly advised to avoid the food there especially when excellent restaurants are plentiful nearby (see Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock and many others).

Breakfast for two is available for about $15.00 within the complex. You can have stroll through the interior courtyard or go for a swim. It was a bit chilly when we were there so the yard was deserted.

Not sure if we'd stay here again. Not everyone there found it as quiet and peaceful as we did. But then again, maybe they got all the "free" stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I rented the two bedroom two bath room through a private owner. The price was right, the accommodations where awesome. This was for three old girlfriends who had not seen one another in 5 yrs. We went to a nearby grocery and did not leave the property for three days. We even baked cookies in the full kitchen. We plan to do this every year in the same location. It was clean and comfortable and had everything you needed and the service was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

have stayed at the grand dessert many times and have always loved it.staff is always polite and friendly and the rooms are great with a washer and dryer in every room so one doesn't have to pack a great deal of clothes.

Room Tip: rooms facing the steet are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.