We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Desert

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Grand Desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Summer Sale
Ranked #23 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved it here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The 0nly reason I didn't give it the best rating was the shower pressure. It was very low in both units. Also I thought we had no coffee filters for coffee the first morning. When I called down they were quick to bring more. Surprise!! They're in the coffee caraffe.

10 of us got there to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. 7, 21 year olds. Originally had 10 of us in a 2 bedroom because no 3 was available. What was I thinking. Finally 2 days before I rethought this & booked an additional 1 bedroom. It was great. The 7 girls were down the hall. Since these were all broke college girls, I did alot of cooking. The 2 bedroom had full size appliances, but even cooking in the 1 bedroom with the smaller appliances was fine. I picked up groceries before we got to the hotel. When we got there, the 1 bedroom was ready so the bell staff was very helpful taking everyones luggage & groceries to the room. The staff is Very helpful.

The shuttle to Harrahs is great. Every 20 min. It's about 4 blocks to the right to the Hard Rock Hotel. Also there is a CVS across from there that I visited often for additional groceries. Also if you turn left out of the hotel & walk about 4 blocks you get to the convention entrance to MGM. Walk thru the covention center & hotel & you're on the strip.

I would definately come back here. For anyone with a family, this is the place to be.
Also, when we left they called for the Wyndham limo to take us to the airport. It is complimentary. They do recommend you tip the driver what it would cost by taxi. $20 was what they recommended. Very nice ride.

Room Tip: Tower 2 has the lobby. We stayed in tower 3. It was fine. Shuttle stops at all 3 towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    545
    355
    88
    36
    25
See reviews for
315
296
22
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is my second time staying at this facility...I like it because it is not far from the strip and the staff is warm and friendly...the shuttle is available as stated...clean clean clean...a full kitchen with granite and washer and dryer In the room

Room Tip: Loved being on the 15th fl...very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Exactly what we were looking for! ?

Maybe not. After checking in, we remembered that this is basically a VRBO with all the self service you can provide. The desk clerk will get you your keys and your wifi info.
The fun starts when you get directed towards the other desk for all your "freebies". Cash, free shows, discounts, and a free breakfast are offered if you just check off a box here that says you agree to sit through a time-share presentation.
To their credit, they gave up soon after I made it clear that we were not interested in the gifts nor the undoubtedly very interesting presentation.
The room was left completely dismantled by the cleaning staff. We had to spend the first hour putting dishes and utensils away, rebuilding the stovetop, putting cushions in their rightful place on the sofa, etc.
Once set up, it was quite nice.

A brisk walk in an easterly direction will get you to the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino, the grand UNLV campus and farther yet, The Whisky Attic (a must for Whisky lovers).

Go west and you end up on The Strip at the Harley Davidson restaurant (not recommended for the grub) or Planet Hollywood. Check out the Hitzville Revue at PH if you love that Holland/Dozier/Holland sound of Motown.

Walk North if Ellis Island is what you're seeking. We were strongly advised to avoid the food there especially when excellent restaurants are plentiful nearby (see Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock and many others).

Breakfast for two is available for about $15.00 within the complex. You can have stroll through the interior courtyard or go for a swim. It was a bit chilly when we were there so the yard was deserted.

Not sure if we'd stay here again. Not everyone there found it as quiet and peaceful as we did. But then again, maybe they got all the "free" stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I rented the two bedroom two bath room through a private owner. The price was right, the accommodations where awesome. This was for three old girlfriends who had not seen one another in 5 yrs. We went to a nearby grocery and did not leave the property for three days. We even baked cookies in the full kitchen. We plan to do this every year in the same location. It was clean and comfortable and had everything you needed and the service was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

have stayed at the grand dessert many times and have always loved it.staff is always polite and friendly and the rooms are great with a washer and dryer in every room so one doesn't have to pack a great deal of clothes.

Room Tip: rooms facing the steet are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed at the Wyndham Grand Desert twice in as many years, both times for 3 nights booked through a 3rd party booking engine. The first time I stayed, we were in the main building which overlooks the courtyard and two large pools. We had a great time and found the condo spacious and well-appointed. The layout was nice, and included a large, nice bathroom and jacuzzi tub. The second time I was expecting a similar experience, but things were very different. We were put over in another building, which was not adjacent to the main complex. There was very little service over there, with no concierge or anyone around to help with problems. There was a smaller pool adjacent, which actually received more sun in the afternoon, but was not nearly as nice as the pool at the other side. Finally, the worst thing was that the condo this time was not as nice. The layout was weird, with a ton of the space taken up by a hallway and closet, the kitchen was tiny, and the bathroom was old. There was just a regular bathtub, no jacuzzi. It did still have a comfortable king bed and tv in each room, but that is about it. Since we are a family of 4, there was barely enough room in the living room for us to move around. As soon as we checked in and saw the room we called and pratically begged to be switched to another condo. I was even willing to pay more to upgrade if that was possible. We were told there was nothing they would do, that we were stuck with this room for the weekend. Of course, we were past the window for refund with our booking agent as well. The bottom line is be VERY careful that you understand exactly what you are getting when booking this property. I will definitely not consider this same property in the future, when I can get a guaranteed newer nicer condo at another property for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the second Wyndham I've stayed in (my parents are Gold Members) and I love the rooms. I feel like I'm staying in a luxury apartment when we stay. It's great having the full kitchen so you can save some money by not having to eat out for every meal. I only stayed for a couple nights, but my parents were there for a week and housekeeping never came, which was a slight bummer. The hotel is off the strip which I preferred because it is much quieter. There is a shuttle to the strip or a short walk-just beware the sidewalks are narrow with lightposts and newspaper boxes in the way of walking!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.