We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to eat in Vegas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacos el Gordo

Tacos el Gordo
3049 S. Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)
(702) 641-8226 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 3,841 restaurants in Las Vegas
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: The Strip
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“THE place to eat in Vegas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I know some people go to Vegas to eat 300.00 meals, but if you would rather eat great food that is affordable... then this is the place. We went twice, once late night, which after a day and night of drinking was nothing less than euphoric. We went again for breakfast another day when the Peppermill had a long wait. It was soo soo good! I highly recommend the adobada tacos with "everything". The horchata on tap will help you wash those right down.

Do note, they do things a bit differently here. The process of ordering is somewhat cafeteria style. You grab a tray and walk right up to the cook preparing what you want to eat. Place your order with him. You pay after ordering and are provided with a beverage cup at that time. They have a great little condiment bar packed with radish and lime wedges. Be sure to get plenty of both. The radish cut right through the richness of the tacos. Perfection!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    190
    73
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The perfect Antidote to the rest of the Strip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I love this place for its authenticicty and genuine "Bueno honda" of everyone that works here. All the staff are fastidious, helpful and the tacos, mulas are some of the best I have sampled - either in MX or the US. Great value, clean and I suppose a mark of its success is that in 2012 it bought out the neigboring kebab shop and doubled-down. A treat on the trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tacos Supreme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Excellent food. if you are insanely hungry order the fries. Tacos were great. So were the nacho's. For the price, you can't beat this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Once again TripAdvisor comes thru!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the outside looks fool you. This is close to the real deal. The menus offers tacos de cabeza, and lengua as well as the normal tacos. Didn't try the fries but they looked great and everything on the muni is reasonable

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This ain't your average taco joint. They have several in San Diego and when we saw it in Las Vegas, we just had to go in. This place does not disappoint. Their tacos are about as Mexican as it gets. Their salsas... delicious, and don't forget to ask for some grilled onions. Squeeze a little lime on them and enjoy. Compaired to the high priced gruel you'll get at some of the casinos, this place is heaven, and very inexpensive. This is one not to miss.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos el Gordo also viewed

 

Been to Tacos el Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacos el Gordo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.