We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved that zoo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Nevada Zoo

Southern Nevada Zoo
1775 North Rancho Drive, Las Vegas, NV 89106 (The Strip)
(702) 648-5955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #249 of 267 Attractions in Las Vegas
Attraction details
las vegas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“we loved that zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

any zoo is a good thing las vegas people should have helped keep that zoo open i went there as a kid it will be missed Sigfried & Roy should buy the zoo remodel make it work for future generations.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    5
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“CLOSED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The zoo has been closed and the animals have been rehomed. According to the local las vegas news stations all of the zookeepers walked off of the job. The USDA is also involved with the rehoming off the animals.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Michigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Only so so zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The up sides are few sadly. Start at the beginning it is in a not so nice neighborhood in North Las Vegas. Very VERY small parking lot. I was surprised my vehicle was still there when I came out. Had a few animals but mostly birds. Loose birds. Chickens and peacocks running all over the place. The staff were all friendly enough as they were walking around feeding the animals and cleaning the area so that was nice. Felt bad for the lion she was in just a tiny little cage. Surprised she could move around but she looked well fed and had toys. Other animals like the Fossa were running around playing. There were only one other couple with a child there but it was very early in the day and very hot out. 114 degrees. It was a little zoo and it was cheap to get in. NO food though. Rephrase that there were vending machines. Surprised it's still open.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not a bad stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First, one must keep in mind that I'm from Edmonton and we have a relatively small zoo.

The Southern Nevada Zoo is definitely very small. But it is afterall a private zoo, and not a real municipal zoo. It's a matter of expectation. If this place was called "Bob's Random Animal Emporium", I think the reviews would be better. You can't compare this to a tax-payer subsidized zoo. So don't expect it.

As a private attraction, it's not bad. Sure, some animal enclosures do seem a bit small and ghetto, but most were okay. They should probably move the larger animals such as the lion and chimp to a better home. There is quite an assortment of animals. And we went during feeding time for a few. My son had a blast running after the pigeons more than admiring the animals.

Parking is definitely a problem. Not a bad attraction, but not something you should go out of your way to see.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“I did learn something.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was shocked to walk by a caged Raven and it said "Hello" I had no clue that Ravens could say anything. A Keeper said it also says I love you...... A lion who kept growling at me lots of macaws. Some of the water looked dirty. There is a petting zoo area that consists of goats. The Zoo is very very small. If you have small children they will enjoy it - I found it to be rather ho hum.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Nevada Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Southern Nevada Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Nevada Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.