We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still waiting for charges to be reversed on card.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
Desert Rose Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Sale - 15% Off
Ranked #43 of 271 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Idaho Falls, ID
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still waiting for charges to be reversed on card.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Stayed for one night at the Desert Rose. The room was spacious, although the carpet was filthy. Beyond dirty to filthy. Beds were comfortable and clean. We booked a two bedroom, two bath suite. I did not realize one bathroom had a shower only; no tub. Wi-fi was spotty. Fairly short walk to strip, but very dark and unlit at night. We had prepaid for our room through a travel site and had no problem giving them a credit card on check in for "incidentals" (which we knew we would have none), but four days after checkout I'm still waiting for the deposit to be reversed on my card. The deposit was almost as much as our room charge (within a few dollars). Really? For a prepaid room for one night's reservation? Perhaps they could have mentioned the amount they would be holding up front. Did not realize they had a concierge..... all we ever saw was one woman working the front desk. As a side note, if you are looking for peace and quiet, keep looking. I think a lot of families with small children stay at this resort, and you can hear EVERYTHING through the walls and ceilings. At least, we certainly could. It even kept my teenage son awake!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,811
    958
    215
    79
    65
See reviews for
1,129
1,110
129
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Me and my husband stayed here for 5 nights and I was just floored when we walked into the room for the first time. I had booked this hotel based on other travelers reviews I had read but the room surpassed everything I had expected. Wonderful, CLEAN, two room suite with a full kitchen tastefully decorated, everything in working order. Patio area. granite countertops. Bed was comfy and our room was cleaned daily. Even the day we didn't leave our room until late I was phoned by housekeeping to see if there was anything we needed. Wonderful service. Two blocks behind the strip. Located behind Hooters and Tropicana. Wonderful location.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

The DR was a great place. The rooms were clean and spacious, the breakfast great, the staff very helpful. My only complaint was a crazy loud AC, which was a bit disturbing at night while sleeping...but still, I have a great time and it was close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

If you are looking for a quiet place to enjoy your time in fabulous Vegas look no further. We stayed in a roomy one bedroom with full kitchen (all cooking necessities included). Staff were curteous and friendly. Room was clean, although it could use a couple of paint touch ups. Free continental breakfast. Free weekday social in lobby from 5:00 to 6:00 (included wine, beer and snacks). Short walk to Luxor, Mandalay Bay, Tropicana, MGM and New York New York. Found great deal online at hotel website. Desert Rose is truly that, a rose in the desert.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I would have given the Desert Rose Resort a 5 star rating except for the fact that we had to be re-roomed because of the noisey compressors on the roof. Warning....the 3rd floor is noisy. Every time the AC cycled on, it sounded like a freight train was passing thru our room! Luckily, the staff at the DR is soooo accommodating, that they moved us right away.
Other than that, I have nothing but praise for the DR. Great rooms, great value, great location. Breakfast is wonderful, but CROWDED! I agree with other reviewers...rent a car, we did and were soooo glad we did. Also, if you plan to win, visit the downtown casinos. The odds there are much better. (Video poker)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cricklade, England
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Brilliant place this - with a vast suite (not just a hotel room and bathroom - a large lounge /diner, next to the well equipped kitchen, large bedroom with wash basin off and bathroom), great pool (with free beds and towels at the pool side), breakfast and (from Mon - Fri) free beer and wine served for a couple of hours in the evening. This together with :-
- friendly, efficient, staff
- good location (very close to the MGM Grand)
- great rates
makes this a fantastic bargain - it could not be recommended more highly
Thank you Desert Rose.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Spent a long R&R weekend and was soooooo pleased with the room, staff, appointments in the room, pool. I recommend you rent a car to get around the Strip unless you are athletic and a glutton for punishment. The convenience of stocking your kitchen for easy eats was a great plus. Fridge makes Ice. Wi-FI in room free. It is a class act with a great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.